We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow, like having your own personal tour guide” 5 of 5 stars
Review of GyPSy Guide Oahu

GyPSy Guide Oahu
2300 Kalakaua Ave., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Downtown Honolulu)
866 477 4171
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #88 of 295 Activities in Honolulu
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: If you plan to rent a car to explore Oahu you can turn your car into a tour guide for scenic self-drive sightseeing. There are 230 commentary points that activate automatically as you drive, playing interesting and entertaining commentary about the best things to see and do as they come into view. The content is prepared by professional tour guides. GyPSy Guide is a small device that you rent and plug into the car stereo or you can now download the app version of the tours on iPhone/iPad. The island is divided into 2 great tours, Beaches and Volcanoes which focuses on the South East corner including Diamond Head, Hanauma Bay, Kailua and more. The Island Circle route tours all the way around the island and a full day is recommended. It visits the North Shore surfing beaches, Chinamans Hat, ByodoIn and much more. The tour routes start right in Waikiki
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Wow, like having your own personal tour guide”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

We have been traveling around Oahu and the gypsy guide has made this one of our most memorable trips. The guide is accurate, reliable and entertaining. What a great buy.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    4
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great self guided tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

I purchased the full island tour app based on reviews, and we were not disappointed. The guide was very informative and his directions were so accurate! It was like having a guided tour without ever getting on a tour bus. Highly recommend this app.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“It IS all that!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Love. love, love this app. I recommend buying the full island. Not that much more and totally worth it! Commentary is very good and directions are spot-on. ("he" even lets you know to watch your speed thru certain towns) Originally we were just heading to the North Shore but were having so much fun we just kept going.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good Information but be aware...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

We purchased the Circle Island Tour App. This is not a Circle tour but a figure 8 tour and if you try to do a circle tour the app does not work. By doing the figure 8 there is no way to complete this tour in one day if you stop for anything and you travel Pali Highway twice.

The information and directions are good and worth the cost of the app if you understand the limitations. We also downloaded the free Pear Harbor app but it was not much help since we were coming from the Disney resort area instead of Waikiki.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Such a treat ...will use in every city available”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014 via mobile

Download on your iPad or other devise before you go and it USS no data plan minutes. Great commentary with fun and informative tour. It knew where we were and would guide us to wonderful places to go visit. Best small investment. Never worried about getting lost and visited places we won't have known about. Great app.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed GyPSy Guide Oahu also viewed

 

Been to GyPSy Guide Oahu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage GyPSy Guide Oahu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.