We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“no complaints” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Luana Waikiki

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Luana Waikiki to your Saves list
Luana Waikiki
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2045 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Florida
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“no complaints”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Overall a good experience. The front desk was accommodating and we were able to check in early after a long flight from Australia. We needed our luggage stored due to a late flight on check-out day and the staff made sure we were well taken care of. Our room was clean and adequate. The location was great, within walking distance of beach, shops, eateries. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: rooms on the higher floors have less road noise.
See more room tips
Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,048 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    484
    412
    104
    33
    15
See reviews for
269
390
62
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

After reading the reviews here, we asked for a room on the higher floor. We got a room on the top floor, the 16th floor, facing the right side of the hotel (left side is the gas station) so we got both park & ocean view. We were able to sleep without hearing the cars when the balcony door is closed. The a/c is loud so you will need earplugs. We asked for two double beds with our one bedroom with kitchenette but we only got one double bed & a sofa bed. The sofa bed is ok. The lady at the front desk said that they only one room with two double beds in the entire hotel.

The room is clean & size is ok. The cleaning staff does not sweep or mop the floor in the room daily so it's really dusty. Waikiki is very dusty so that makes it worse. There are ants in the kitchenette so you need to watch where you store your food. The hotel is old & the cleaning staff does an ok job keeping it clean. The carpet in the hotel hallway on the 16th floor is old & smelly.

The staff is friendly & helpful. It's probably the best feature of this hotel.

Originally, we booked with P.G. Plover to go to the Waikele Outlet Mall. However, the shuttle bus (operated by Roberts Hawaii) only has a few pickups locations thoroughout Waikiki. The bell desk attendant told us the hotel uses a third party company to drive customers to the mall for the same price, $15 round trip, but they pick up customers at their hotels. We cancelled pur reservation with P.G. Plover & went with that recommended company, Ali' Trans & Tours. What a mistake!!!! The bus was dirty, smelly & the seats are stained with god know what. There was no seatbells (unlike Discover Hawaii Tours shuttle bus) & no a/c. The driver was crude & drove like a maniac. He barked at customers rudely. I told the lady at the front desk they should not use that company as that brings bad reputation to their hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, CA
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We've stayed here on several visits and have always returned due to the location, value and wonderful, professional, friendly, helpful staff. Although it's changed ownership a few times, e.g. from Castle to Outrigger now, and the prices have gone up a bit, but many of the staff have pretty much remained which is a good sign. Some even remember us from prior years' visits. Rooms are functional and modern with comfortable beds. The pool is rather small but we mostly spent our time on the beach anyways, which was a short 5-minute walk thru Fort DeRussy park. Every place in waikiki is within walking distance from here, even the Ala Moana Shopping Center. This is a perfect stay-cation if you do not need luxury settings, no pomp and such, but want a home away from home in waikiki.

Room Tip: AC can be a bit noisy, so we turned off the one in the bedroom and let the one in the living room ru...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We were give a studio room on the second floor. It's quite spacious, but the bed is small. Not even a queen size, I think. The aircon is a built in wall unit and makes loud noise. Without it, the street noise get loud. My long flight to Honolulu never end and the engine noise lives on, it seems. I understand that Waikiki area is very sought after and prices are generally high,but taking over a condo, not bothering doing much to it and calling itself a boutique hotel is not the way to go. I'd not recommend it.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We had 5 nights at the Luana, three adults. Checked in just before midnight, the staff member was just so professional. The staff we just amazing. They absolutely went out of their way to help with Phone numbers, taxis etc. We had left a wallet in a taxi, they helped us track them down.
The hotel also has an Expedia staff member to assist with tour advise. The lady that helped us was just wonderful and professional. Great advise on Pearl Harbour tours, markets and fishing trips etc.
The room was well air conditioned, not too noisy, great views, walking distance to shops, restaurants and the beach, which is about 10 minutes away.

Room Tip: We had a city view with a kitchenette. Lovely balcony with a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I usually don't feel the need to write reviews on hotels, but I loved staying at the Outrigger and the front desk and concierge service were awesome. I was traveling on my own to attend a friend's wedding and didn't spend much time in my room, so I wanted a hotel that was priced reasonably and also not too far from Waikiki.

The Outrigger is only about a 5-10 minute walk from the beach, and there are also fast food restaurants, nearby ABC Stores, and tons of shopping down the street (Kalakaua Ave). I had a city-view room with a small balcony and although the street noise did bug me the first night, I really didn't even notice it after that. My only complaint about the rooms would have to be the loud air conditioning. The hotel concierge, Matt, was very helpful whenever I had questions about bus routes or setting up a car rental, and made sure I always had everything I needed.

Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel for those traveling solo or looking for a hotel slightly cheaper than the beach fronts. Great service and good location for the price!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Loved this hotel,great location(away from busy Waikiki end) clean,fantastic beds,great kitchen,lovely fruit flavoured water in reception, nice clean pool,short walk across the park to the beautiful beach-Great photos at sunset.We arrived at 1130 pm wrong room configuration was given to us.Spoke to John who was very nice and changed over our room- no problem.We enjoyed our 4 nights stay. Watched Friday night fireworks from our balcony.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Luana Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luana Waikiki

Address: 2045 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#10 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Luana Waikiki 3.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking serene Fort DeRussy Park, Luana Waikiki is a boutique hotel located just a short stroll to Waikiki Beach, world-class shopping, and international dining at the Waikiki Gateway. Choose from a variety of exceptionally comfortable accommodations with a contemporary Hawaiian style, including studios with kitchenettes and spacious ocean view suites with full kitchens. Take advantage of our yoga in the park at 8am on wed ,sat & sun, cool folding cruise bikes to explore Oahu, and beach chairs & towels. Come see what sets Luana Waikiki apart from other Waikiki hotels! With our hospitality fee for all stays beginning September 1, 2014, Luana Waikiki allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Waikiki Shuttle (Complimentary Waikiki Shuttle Service), Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, Water in Lobby, and a Weekly Manager's Reception. You'll also enjoy the heated swimming pool,BBQ area, fitness room, coffee shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Luana Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Luana Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Luana Waikiki
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger
Luana Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luana Waikiki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.