We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Luana Waikiki

Save Saved
You added Luana Waikiki to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Luana Waikiki
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2045 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Suite Special - Save 20%
Ranked #22 of 82 hotels in Honolulu
San Diego, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I usually don't feel the need to write reviews on hotels, but I loved staying at the Outrigger and the front desk and concierge service were awesome. I was traveling on my own to attend a friend's wedding and didn't spend much time in my room, so I wanted a hotel that was priced reasonably and also not too far from Waikiki.

The Outrigger is only about a 5-10 minute walk from the beach, and there are also fast food restaurants, nearby ABC Stores, and tons of shopping down the street (Kalakaua Ave). I had a city-view room with a small balcony and although the street noise did bug me the first night, I really didn't even notice it after that. My only complaint about the rooms would have to be the loud air conditioning. The hotel concierge, Matt, was very helpful whenever I had questions about bus routes or setting up a car rental, and made sure I always had everything I needed.

Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel for those traveling solo or looking for a hotel slightly cheaper than the beach fronts. Great service and good location for the price!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

897 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    394
    365
    93
    32
    13
See reviews for
216
341
51
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Loved this hotel,great location(away from busy Waikiki end) clean,fantastic beds,great kitchen,lovely fruit flavoured water in reception, nice clean pool,short walk across the park to the beautiful beach-Great photos at sunset.We arrived at 1130 pm wrong room configuration was given to us.Spoke to John who was very nice and changed over our room- no problem.We enjoyed our 4 nights stay. Watched Friday night fireworks from our balcony.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanaka, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Overall a good experience,hotel is well situated ,handy to restaurants and public transport.Room was quite satisfactory and well set up with a good comfortable bed, kitchen ,bathroom etc and was serviced daily.One gripe was that the concierge service left a little to be desired ,although we spelled out what we wanted for trips and experiences we seemed to get what was easy to sell and at the top end of cost and very few other options were given. I found that the bellhop was a much better bet as he seemed to know more of the local scene particularly with regard to best shopping and transport options.WiFi was o k but did cut out from time to time . Pool was great and a visit to the Army Museum in front towards the beach was well worth while , Would suggest that you try to get a room towards the gardens and beach

Room Tip: Try to get gardens /beach view room, traffic is quieter there and is sunnier
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Loved this wee hotel right through from the great location, helpful obliging staff, well appointed kitchen and the oh so comfortable beds.....like sleeping on clouds !!!! The only slight downer I think would be the cafe but then there are so many amazing places to eat nearby that their opening hours are really not a problem. Would stay here again in a heartbeat !!!!!

Room Tip: Mountain view room was excellent....
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloundra, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I am picky on where I stay and love a great, clean hotel room. Well this is it! The Outrigger Luana is a lovely place to stay, from the service, to the clean rooms, to small things like the amazing fruit flavoured ice cold water in reception which is the best after a day of walking around!

The small cafe underneath had great food, the pool is lovely and nothing is but a short walk away.

Definately great value for money in Honolulu :)

Room Tip: I had a partial ocean view with a kitchenette - kitchenette was great for storing food etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

While selecting Hawaii for a stopover on a round the world trip from Perth, Western Australia, we selected this hotel from Tripadvisor user reviews, and must say that this hotel did not disappoint us.

We stayed for four nights from the 18th August 2013 (we were going to stay three days, but the hotel had a deal of buy three and get four nights).

We were in a room on the 15th floor (Room 10, with kitchenette and ocean/ park views), and as you can see from our photos, the view is to die for. It may not be on the actual beach front, but may as well be. We would have preferred a slightly wider/ deeper balcony. If you have issues with heights, then this small balcony is not going to help you with feeling grounded at all. But you do not need to sit on the balcony to get this great view of the sea and Diamond Head (Which rises above the other hotels).

The bus routes outside the Luana gave us easy access to everything we wanted to do (From going to Diamond Head, to Ala Moana Shopping Centre).

We used the kitchen in our room for making many of our meals, and managed to get pretty much everything that we wanted from the local shops. Just like being at home in Australia regarding food.

The staff at the hotel were all very professional and appeared to be naturally happy (Not your usual pasted on false smile that we are used to in many hotels).

The Luana is very neat and clean. Our room was cleaned thoroughly each day. And if we got back to our room before midday for lunch, we were fortunate each day to find that our room had already been finished, so we would not be disturbed.

We did not try the cafe on the ground floor, as each time we passed by it was fairly full.

There is a pool which was fairly small, but as we are a couple of minute’s walk from the beautiful beach, you may never use this yourself. We used it once, and prefer the sea ourselves (Even if a German tourist had just had their arm bitten off by a shark the day before).

Food shopping wise:
There is a small convenience store on the opposite side of the road (Called ABC store), in fact, the ABC stores are everywhere you go here. They carry everything from bread, milk and cheese, to tourist T shirts and fridge magnets.

We found the supermarket shopping to be much cheaper and better selection at the Foodland supermarket at the nearby Ala Moana shopping centre (Catch the bus or walk there, if you are OK with walking, it is not that far, and you get to see more of the place into the bargain. We did find that although the bus system is cheap to use, it was hard to get a seat each time, as it is used by a lot of people, and when you are stuck in long traffic jams there and back, it doesn't save you much more time than getting some exercise with the walk anyway).

Next time we travel from Aus to the USA we will be stopping off at Hawaii again, and would not look any further than this hotel ourselves.
Clean, Convenient location and great staff 10/10 for us.

Mark & Andrea
Perth
Western Australia

Room Tip: 15th floor has views to die for (Top floor is the 16th), and you can hardly hear the busy road durin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waikoloa, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

I recently stayed at this OutRigger Hotel. It was a pleasant surprise. It was at the quiet end of Kalakaua Blvd near Kuhio. At least this is about as quiet as Kalakaua gets. The hotel has a small but very nice lobby. There is a small restaurant that is open early and closing just after lunch. The food was good and reasonably priced. The room had a lanai and a kitchenette. There was a small refrigerator, sink, and dishes. I wish it had a mircowave but didn't. The room was rather nice with decent furniture, nice beds, and tile floors. I have no complaints and had nice views of the Ft. DeRussy and a peak a boo view of the ocean. The pool was nice and not too crowded. There is free WiFi throughout the hotel and using the PCs in the lobby allow you to print your boarding passes for free. I would recommend this place. Some of the other Outriggers like the Ohana West and East are further down Kuhio in the thick of things but noiser. The staff was very nice. I would call this place a top of the line second tier hotel. The first tier hotels are nearer the ocean.

Room Tip: I stayed on the northside and could see Ft. DeRussy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Luana Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luana Waikiki

Address: 2045 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#11 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Luana Waikiki 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Waikiki's Gateway Overlooking serene Fort DeRussy Park, Luana Waikiki is a contemporary boutique hotel located just a short stroll to Waikiki Beach, world-class shopping and international dining. Choose from a variety of exceptionally comfortable accommodations with a contemporary Hawaiian style, including hotel rooms, spacious studios with kitchenettes and suites with full kitchens. You'll enjoy the convenience of free WiFi throughout the entire hotel, plus on-site amenities including a day spa, fitness center and an outdoor heated pool with BBQ grills. TAKE ADVANTAGE OF OUR COMPLIMENTARY AMENITIES. *COFFEE & TEA SERVICE DAILY FROM 6:30A-10:30A *YOGA IN THE PARK AT 8AM ON WED & SUN *COOL FOLDING CRUISE BIKES TO EXPLORE OAHU *BEACH CHAIRS & TOWELS ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Luana Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Luana Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Luana Waikiki
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger
Luana Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luana Waikiki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.