We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a nice stay in room 1601 but...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2045 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 15%!
Ranked #11 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Had a nice stay in room 1601 but...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

First I must say please make the hotel sign outside bigger, i drove pass this hotel had circle, i missed the small sign outside. I had a nice time at this hotel though. The staff was great, every staff member we met were very nice and helpful, they assisted us with what ever we needed. The concierge hook us up with our tours and we were set. We got a room with the city view and views were tremendous. It was on the 16th floor so street noise didnt affect us that much. This hotel is on a major street that leads to the beach so its busy . Our room had a king size bed with a full kitchenette. The room was nice but the problems we had were, there was no kettle, the pots and pans didnt look in great condition (wife was not happy), and there were ants on the counter that jump on our cheesy bread when we left it for a bit. (wife was not happy). We didn't report these things so thats on us. We were having a great time so we didnt let these set backs ruin our vacation. I would stay here again, but i might have to convince my wife to.

Room Tip: Make sure your room is satisfactory before you enter, do a thoroug walk through.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    533
    442
    113
    34
    15
See reviews for
297
429
66
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
De Pere, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We couldn't have asked for anything better that was off Waikiki Beach. It's an easy walk to the beach, stores and restaurants. The rooms were excellent, the staff, friendly and helpful and the price was perfect. I rented three rooms for our family and everyone was happy with my choice.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Great family vacation at the Outrigger Luana . The staff at the hotel were absolutely great. Friendly courteous and helpful made for a great family vacation. Towards the west end of Wakiki we were close to the beach , car rentals , convention centre, grocery store.

Great trip, nice hotel, great staff

Highly recommend it!

Polihronis Family

Room Tip: Ask for a corner suite if available!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kapolei, Hawaii
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Although run by the Outrigger hotel chain, the building was constructed as condos. My unit was set up like a studio apartment. The furnishings and full kitchen were wonderful. I LOVED the honed Travertine floors!

But I disagree with what was reported by other reviewers. This hotel is not conveniently located. It is not walking distance from the main part Waikiki, nor the beach. There are very few restaurants in the area. I found it necessary to take a taxi practically everywhere I wanted to go. This really added to the cost of staying here.

The Ville de Coco Spa was terrific. I had a massage, manicure and pedicure during my stay. They were all first rate, and the prices were what you might expect. The Protea restaurant is not as advertised. It was built as a coffee bar, but had a few tables added and a kitchen. There are four two seater, high top tables and one large table where family seating takes place. They close each day at two in the afternoon. While the food is quite good, the place is noisy, stuffy and cannot really qualify as a cafe, let alone a restaurant.

Although this hotel is not what I expected from the advertising, I believe it would function well for the business traveller or perhaps families planning to stay for an extended period (the kitchen, gym and laundry are a convenience). A car is a must, but be prepared to pay $25/night for parking (pretty standard on the islands). If staying in Honolulu in the future, I will probably stay nearer the action, nearer the beach, where everything I want is within walking distance.

Room Tip: Ask many questions. There are several different types of rooms here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerLuanaWaikik, Front Office Manager at Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Aloha lagunalady27,
Thank you for staying at the Outrigger Luana Waikiki during your recent visit to Hawaii. We are very sorry to hear that you were not completely satisfied with our location.
Mahalo Nui Loa for your valued feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Just spent 10 great days at Outrigger Luana. 16 - 26th August, Located at the Fort Derussy end of the main strip it was approx a 10 minute leisurely walk through the park to the beach and a 10 minute walk down the strip to the start of the shops, about 15-20 minutes slow walk to International Market Place. We were in a room on the 10th floor overlooking Fort Derussy park and with a uninterrupted ocean view. The room was spacious and clean with a small fridge and coffee machine.The pool area was adequate and was never overcrowded. All The staff were all amazing and always willing to help, but a special thanks to the bell boys always ready with great advice and to book us taxi's shuttles etc.
If you are looking for a nice hotel away from the hustle and bustle of the main strip
(but close enough to walk to / from) than i would suggest you take a look at Outrigger Luana.

Room Tip: Get a Partial Ocean View Room you won't be disappointed..
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Ohio, United States
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Three of us shared a comfortable seaview room for 5 nights during a conference. The housekeeping (kitchen) amenities were excellent and saved us lots of money. We shopped for semi-convenience foods (poke!) at a Safeway about 2 miles away (we had a rental car). Staff were friendly and helpful. No bar in hotel, but we bought beer at the handy ABC store and enjoyed the balcony. A nice feature is the park that almost surrounds this hotel, full of birds and a nice walk to the beach.

Room Tip: Ask for seaview, of course!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed one night in transit from Kauai back to Canada. This is a wonderful location as it is walking distance to Waikiki Beach (10 minutes) and Waikiki Beach walk for restaurants and shopping. Both the front desk staff and the concierge have lots of tips and information about the area. Both city buses and trolleys are close by for convenient transportation. Overall this is a wonderful location for a stay in Waikiki and we will be back.

Room Tip: Request an oceanview room on an upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites

Address: 2045 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#10 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking serene Fort DeRussy Park, Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites is a boutique hotel located just a short stroll to Waikiki Beach, world-class shopping, and international dining at the Waikiki Gateway. Choose from a variety of exceptionally comfortable accommodations with Hawaiian style decor, including studios with kitchenettes and spacious ocean view suites with full kitchens. Take advantage of our yoga in the park at 8am on tues, thur, sat & sun, cool folding & cruise bikes to explore Oahu, and beach chairs & towels. Come see what sets the Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites apart from other Waikiki hotels! With our hospitality fee for all stays beginning September 1, 2014, Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Waikiki Shuttle (Complimentary Waikiki Shuttle Service), Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, Water in Lobby, and Manager's Wine & Cheese Reception on Mon, Wed & Friday from 5p-6p . You'll also enjoy the heated swimming pool,BBQ area & fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Otel, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Luana Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Luana Waikiki
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger
Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.