We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place to stay and Friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Luana Waikiki

Save Saved
You added Luana Waikiki to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Luana Waikiki
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2045 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special Savings - 20% Off
Ranked #20 of 82 hotels in Honolulu
Huntington Park, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice Place to stay and Friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This was our 1st time going to Hawaii, I book this hotel by the reviews and they were right, all staff are great, helpful, friendly. Concierge is helpful to give you directions and hands you a local map. Hotel is surrounded by a park and walking distance approx. 5 to 10 mins to the beach thats back of hotel. Waikiki Beach is approx 15 mins walking distance or take Bus 22 . Our room was on the 9th floor our room #917 facing the city street, great view to all directions, We had a Kitchenette fully equipped to cook, toaster, microwave oven, 2 burners, sm fridge. Queen size bed and sleeper sofa. Room was very clean. Hallway of the hotel is hot. There is a pool, gym, bar-b-que grill, Valet parking is $25. We didn't rent a car, we used the 4 day bus pass Next time we will rent a car to go to the longer drives. Every time we walk back to the hotel the valet person would always say welcome back, that was nice. across the street you can buy some groceries from ABC or General Store, its expensive. or go to Coffee Bean. Next door you have a Gas Station that has a car rental, across the street is Dollar Rent a Car. Around the corner on Saratoga st are all bus lines you can take to Ala Mona Mall or to Ala Mona Beach that is across the street from the Mall. Also if you need towels to go to the beach, go to the Front Desk they will give the towels there and on the 1st floor you can dropped them off. Walking distance to the International Market Center, Hotel has a small gift shop, and a restaurant that is open for breakfast and lunch. I would return back with my family again.

Room Tip: when you check in ask if your kitchenette has a burner, microwave, toaster, I heard some dont have s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

942 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    419
    379
    98
    33
    13
See reviews for
239
353
54
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Missoula, Montana
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed at the Outrigger Luana last week. The property was great. The rooms had a lot of space and each room had a balcony with a good view. The pool and barbecue area were excellent.

The desk clerks were more than helpful. They even remembered our names. They knew the area well, and all of their suggestions were helpful.

The price of the hotel is reasonable and it does not charge a resort fee.

It has a good location, but it is about a fifteen minute walk to the beach.

Room Tip: Kitchenettes are a little more but worth the price. Make sure you ask for your AAA discount.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

The room was comfortable, clean, convenient to restaurants and shopping. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The bed was very comfortable and the pillow was the best. The room and the pool area were very clean and nicely maintained. I would stay here again in a minute. It was worth every penny, you will not leave this hotel unhappy.

Room Tip: We have the partial ocean view, the room was a nice size and you had an amazing view. We were on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miramar Beach, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I promised to complete this review at check out from the Outrigger last week. Stayed for 10 days and want to share it was a wonderful experience from check-in to check-out. Every staff member we encountered was nothing but an absolute professional! The room itself was wonderful and well maintained. The hotel is close to just about anything you might want to do including the beach, parks and a great shopping district! If I get the chance to return I will always opt for this great hotel and staff!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerLuanaWaikik, Front Office Manager at Luana Waikiki, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Aloha Owen E

Thank you for your time to comment on your recent stay. We are happy to hear that our staff were attentive to your needs. Your comments will be shared with our entire team. We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to the island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

This hotel is in a great location. It is a 15 minute walk to Ala Moana Center and close to many bus stops. Waikiki Beach is 15 minutes away too. It is a smaller property so getting in and out is simple. The pool is nice and quiet and relaxing. The rooms are very basic and have an unpleasant scent. The rooms and hallways have a musty smell which is always present. Turning the air conditioner on is like having a jet engine in your room. My room had a sink, fridge, plates and utensils but no cooking appliances. I had a great rate so I accepted the shortcomings of this hotel. I would not have been very happy if I had paid the rack rate. The rooms are cleaned well and the front desk reception are very pleasant.

Room Tip: ask for a room facing the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

this place was awesome very clean nice pool & gym!!! awesome staff and very helpful too !!!! Angelo up in front was always a great help with info on surroundings and area attractions sights to see & places to eat....we are heading back in mid july and have already booked our week at this location again and plan on makin it our spot to go to when stayin in honolulu!!!!

Room Tip: gym & pool W bbq amenities were very clean and nice!!! location was waitin minutes of beach but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerLuanaWaikik, Front Office Manager at Luana Waikiki, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Aloha Arturo Tido E,

Mahalo for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear that our staff were attentive to your needs. Your comments will be shared with our entire team. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to the island in July!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

The Outrigger Luana is awesome... clean, comfortable, quiet, spacious, and by far the most helpful, courteous, happy staff of anywhere we have ever stayed!!! Will recommend to all family and friends. We look forward to staying here again!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Luana Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luana Waikiki

Address: 2045 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#11 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#20 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#40 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Luana Waikiki 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking serene Fort DeRussy Park, Luana Waikiki is a contemporary boutique hotel located just a short stroll to Waikiki Beach, world-class shopping, and international dining at the Waikiki Gateway. Choose from a variety of exceptionally comfortable accommodations with a contemporary Hawaiian style, including hotel rooms, studios with kitchenettes and spacious suites with full kitchens. Come see what sets Luana Waikiki apart from other Waikiki hotels! With our hospitality fee for all stays beginning August 1, 2014, Luana Waikiki allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Waikiki Shuttle (Complimentary Waikiki Shuttle Service), Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, Water in Lobby, and a Weekly Manager's Reception. You'll also enjoy the heated swimming pool, fitness room, coffee shop, rooftop restaurant and more. Take advantage of our yoga in the park at 8am on wed & sun, cool folding cruise bikes to explore Oahu, and beach chairs & towels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Hotels.com, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Luana Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Luana Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Luana Waikiki
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger
Luana Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luana Waikiki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;