We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in Waikiki, centrally located” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Luana Waikiki

Save Saved
You added Luana Waikiki to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Luana Waikiki
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2045 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Suite Special - Save 20%
Ranked #22 of 82 hotels in Honolulu
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Great hotel in Waikiki, centrally located”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We chose this hotel because of it's location and the fact that you can get a military rate if you call them. The Hale Koa (a armed forced recreation center) is right across the park/street from this hotel and if you have your military ID you can use all of their amenities as well as the Outriggers. This was a major plus for our military family. Our hotel room had a kitchenette and was a partial ocean view room with a balcony. The balcony view was awesome, especially at night! The hotel is very near shopping, the beach and other touristy Waikiki stuff. We also parked our rental car here and were charged $15.00 a day for valet (military rate) the civilian rate is $25.00 a day, unlimited access in and out of the garage. For Waikiki, this is a pretty good rate. The valet parking attendants were also very nice and offered any information or directions that we wanted. The gym is pretty adequate and offers your normal work out machines and equipment. The pool area is nice and has gazebos if you would like to take a break from the sun. The little cafe was also reasonably priced, its located in the front of the hotel and you can take food to go! I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerLuanaWaikik, Front Office Manager at Luana Waikiki, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Aloha JML0810,

Thank you for choosing the Outrigger Luana Waikiki for your recent family vacation. We appreciate you taking the time to comment on our property. We are happy to hear that you were pleased with the different amenites that we have to offer. We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to the island!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

900 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    396
    366
    93
    32
    13
See reviews for
218
341
51
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

This is a very nice hotel with a balcony, pool, kitchenette (toaster, coffee, fridge, dishes). Very clean and safe. The staff are helpful.
The concierge helped us book a few things, which was helpful, but we also spent more than we would have if we had booked on our own (car rental, Pearl Harbor tour).
Few big blocks from the beach, but a pretty central location.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Los Angeles
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

The Outrigger Luana is a pretty good place to stay. I can't complain about the cleanliness, or the amenities provided by the place. We stayed in a studio style condo, and we had everything we needed. We didn't cook at all, but there were pots, pans, silverware etc if you are so inclined. The place was cleaned daily, towels replaced and all the works so it made the stay comfortable. We were on the 4th floor and we had a tiny view of the beach, I would imagine the people up higher than us had a great view!! By the way they did have a nice little patio with a couple chairs and a table so you could sit outside and enjoy the awesome Hawaii weather. Overall it was definitely 4 out of 5 stars. I would stay there again, although I think I would prefer a place a little closer to the beach. The walk to get to Waikiki beach is about 15 minutes I would say, but it is very close to all of the shopping right along the main drag if that is more your thing. The only thing I really didn't like very much was that they charge $25 a day for valet parking. I guess if you are going to Hawaii this kind of overpriced non sense is to be expected, but still not too happy about that.

Room Tip: Stay on the side facing the beach if possible, preferably higher up than I was on the 4th floor. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We have stayed here a few times and take advantage of the specials that they have from time to time. The suites are always very nice and roomy with a king size bed in the room and a sofa bed in the living room. The full kitchen is nice and fully stocked with pots and pans and everything you need for cooking in. Some of the pans in our unit were in need of replacement, everything we cooked stuck to them. There was no ice maker in the unit so we had to bring ice from the first floor and put in the freezer, it would be nice to have one in the unit. The bathroom is located inside the bedroom so you have to enter through the bedroom to utilize it, would be nice if you could enter from the hallway not to disturb the sleeping. The view was nice over looking the park, it is real quite compared to the waikiki hotels right in the heart of waikiki. We had one problem which was when we were ready to go to sleep, we turned down the sheets and to our surprise there was drippings of dried blood or something red/brown on the sheets. I immediately called the front desk and they came up and brought us a new set, and apologized for the problem, this really grossed me out and did not know how the maid did not notice it. The location and price is good and I would stay there again, but I would check the bed sheets first when I arrive.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We stayed here with friends so we had booked two rooms and an apartment. All of us were very pleased with the standard of accommodation we received and felt it was great value (especially the discount for over 50's!). We had friends staying in the Waikiki Sheraton at the same time, it cost three times as much, and while their room had sensational views over Waikiki beach to Diamond Head, their room was smaller than ours and had less facilities. The pool at the Luana is nothing special but the nearby Waikiki beach was beautiful, so that was not important to us. The staff at the Luana were just gorgeous, really helpful, happy and friendly. The small café did wonderful breakfasts at great prices, and the staff were very obliging when we were in a rush to be ready for our taxi. The Luana has a handy ABC shop and some restaurants across a small park in front of the hotel, and it is a five minute walk from the Hard Rock Café and Beach Walk, where we found some great bars. A couple more minutes walk takes you to the centre of Waikiki.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerLuanaWaikik, Front Office Manager at Luana Waikiki, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Aloha k m,
We are delighted to read about your wonderful group vacation experience here at the Outrigger Luana Waikiki. We will share your kind words about our staff with them. Thank you your many positive comments.
Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

My travel agent recommended the Luana for us as we wanted to see the beach & ocean but not all the crowds-perfect!!!! It was so peaceful-staff was so professional & polite. Overlooks Dussey Park just a nice place to stay-had a room with kitchenette which was very handy-and enjoyed the Potea Cafe each morning as well. Can't go wrong here for sure!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerLuanaWaikik, Front Office Manager at Luana Waikiki, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Aloha Balloonfan771,
Mahalo for all of your positive comments. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us & hope to see you again for another peaceful vacation.
Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boiling Springs, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Centrally located to most everything in the busy town of Waikiki. Affordable and just a short walk to the beach, restaurants, and coffee shops. Ocean view room was a great value compared to others in the area. Would recommend!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerLuanaWaikik, Front Office Manager at Luana Waikiki, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Aloha Derek2023,
We are happy to hear that you were pleased with our central location. Thank you for your great review. We hope to see you again. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Luana Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luana Waikiki

Address: 2045 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#11 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#22 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Luana Waikiki 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Waikiki's Gateway Overlooking serene Fort DeRussy Park, Luana Waikiki is a contemporary boutique hotel located just a short stroll to Waikiki Beach, world-class shopping and international dining. Choose from a variety of exceptionally comfortable accommodations with a contemporary Hawaiian style, including hotel rooms, spacious studios with kitchenettes and suites with full kitchens. You'll enjoy the convenience of free WiFi throughout the entire hotel, plus on-site amenities including a day spa, fitness center and an outdoor heated pool with BBQ grills. TAKE ADVANTAGE OF OUR COMPLIMENTARY AMENITIES. *COFFEE & TEA SERVICE DAILY FROM 6:30A-10:30A *YOGA IN THE PARK AT 8AM ON WED & SUN *COOL FOLDING CRUISE BIKES TO EXPLORE OAHU *BEACH CHAIRS & TOWELS ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Luana Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Luana Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Luana Waikiki
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger
Luana Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luana Waikiki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.