We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, clean hotel with friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Luana Waikiki

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Luana Waikiki to your Saves list
Luana Waikiki
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2045 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special Savings - 20% Off
Ranked #12 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice, clean hotel with friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

This is a very nice hotel with a balcony, pool, kitchenette (toaster, coffee, fridge, dishes). Very clean and safe. The staff are helpful.
The concierge helped us book a few things, which was helpful, but we also spent more than we would have if we had booked on our own (car rental, Pearl Harbor tour).
Few big blocks from the beach, but a pretty central location.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

1,044 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    482
    411
    103
    33
    15
See reviews for
268
389
61
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

The Outrigger Luana is a pretty good place to stay. I can't complain about the cleanliness, or the amenities provided by the place. We stayed in a studio style condo, and we had everything we needed. We didn't cook at all, but there were pots, pans, silverware etc if you are so inclined. The place was cleaned daily, towels replaced and all the works so it made the stay comfortable. We were on the 4th floor and we had a tiny view of the beach, I would imagine the people up higher than us had a great view!! By the way they did have a nice little patio with a couple chairs and a table so you could sit outside and enjoy the awesome Hawaii weather. Overall it was definitely 4 out of 5 stars. I would stay there again, although I think I would prefer a place a little closer to the beach. The walk to get to Waikiki beach is about 15 minutes I would say, but it is very close to all of the shopping right along the main drag if that is more your thing. The only thing I really didn't like very much was that they charge $25 a day for valet parking. I guess if you are going to Hawaii this kind of overpriced non sense is to be expected, but still not too happy about that.

Room Tip: Stay on the side facing the beach if possible, preferably higher up than I was on the 4th floor. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We have stayed here a few times and take advantage of the specials that they have from time to time. The suites are always very nice and roomy with a king size bed in the room and a sofa bed in the living room. The full kitchen is nice and fully stocked with pots and pans and everything you need for cooking in. Some of the pans in our unit were in need of replacement, everything we cooked stuck to them. There was no ice maker in the unit so we had to bring ice from the first floor and put in the freezer, it would be nice to have one in the unit. The bathroom is located inside the bedroom so you have to enter through the bedroom to utilize it, would be nice if you could enter from the hallway not to disturb the sleeping. The view was nice over looking the park, it is real quite compared to the waikiki hotels right in the heart of waikiki. We had one problem which was when we were ready to go to sleep, we turned down the sheets and to our surprise there was drippings of dried blood or something red/brown on the sheets. I immediately called the front desk and they came up and brought us a new set, and apologized for the problem, this really grossed me out and did not know how the maid did not notice it. The location and price is good and I would stay there again, but I would check the bed sheets first when I arrive.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We stayed here with friends so we had booked two rooms and an apartment. All of us were very pleased with the standard of accommodation we received and felt it was great value (especially the discount for over 50's!). We had friends staying in the Waikiki Sheraton at the same time, it cost three times as much, and while their room had sensational views over Waikiki beach to Diamond Head, their room was smaller than ours and had less facilities. The pool at the Luana is nothing special but the nearby Waikiki beach was beautiful, so that was not important to us. The staff at the Luana were just gorgeous, really helpful, happy and friendly. The small café did wonderful breakfasts at great prices, and the staff were very obliging when we were in a rush to be ready for our taxi. The Luana has a handy ABC shop and some restaurants across a small park in front of the hotel, and it is a five minute walk from the Hard Rock Café and Beach Walk, where we found some great bars. A couple more minutes walk takes you to the centre of Waikiki.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerLuanaWaikik, Front Office Manager at Luana Waikiki, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Aloha k m,
We are delighted to read about your wonderful group vacation experience here at the Outrigger Luana Waikiki. We will share your kind words about our staff with them. Thank you your many positive comments.
Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

My travel agent recommended the Luana for us as we wanted to see the beach & ocean but not all the crowds-perfect!!!! It was so peaceful-staff was so professional & polite. Overlooks Dussey Park just a nice place to stay-had a room with kitchenette which was very handy-and enjoyed the Potea Cafe each morning as well. Can't go wrong here for sure!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerLuanaWaikik, Front Office Manager at Luana Waikiki, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Aloha Balloonfan771,
Mahalo for all of your positive comments. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us & hope to see you again for another peaceful vacation.
Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boiling Springs, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Centrally located to most everything in the busy town of Waikiki. Affordable and just a short walk to the beach, restaurants, and coffee shops. Ocean view room was a great value compared to others in the area. Would recommend!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerLuanaWaikik, Front Office Manager at Luana Waikiki, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Aloha Derek2023,
We are happy to hear that you were pleased with our central location. Thank you for your great review. We hope to see you again. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whakatane, New Zealand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

This hotel/apartment is in a great location for Waikiki, however the rooms are getting on a little, but are clean and tidy. The bed was great very very comfortable. Views were ok over the park.

We found the only real drawback was the noise. Even high up we could hear the road noise and people pulling their luggage over the tiles in the street, I suppose its because we live in the country and not used to the traffic. The road outside was very busy so be warned. I suggest ear plugs would help if it bothers you.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerLuanaWaikik, Front Office Manager at Luana Waikiki, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Aloha pommiekiwi,
Mahalo for choosing the Outrigger Luana Waikiki for your recent holiday. We appreciate you taking time to share your experience with everyone. Mahalo Nui Loa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Luana Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luana Waikiki

Address: 2045 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#10 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Luana Waikiki 3.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking serene Fort DeRussy Park, Luana Waikiki is a boutique hotel located just a short stroll to Waikiki Beach, world-class shopping, and international dining at the Waikiki Gateway. Choose from a variety of exceptionally comfortable accommodations with a contemporary Hawaiian style, including studios with kitchenettes and spacious ocean view suites with full kitchens. Take advantage of our yoga in the park at 8am on wed ,sat & sun, cool folding cruise bikes to explore Oahu, and beach chairs & towels. Come see what sets Luana Waikiki apart from other Waikiki hotels! With our hospitality fee for all stays beginning September 1, 2014, Luana Waikiki allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Waikiki Shuttle (Complimentary Waikiki Shuttle Service), Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, Water in Lobby, and a Weekly Manager's Reception. You'll also enjoy the heated swimming pool,BBQ area, fitness room, coffee shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Luana Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Luana Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Luana Waikiki
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger
Luana Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luana Waikiki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.