We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best breakfast!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Luana Waikiki

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Luana Waikiki to your Saves list
Luana Waikiki
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2045 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special Savings - 20% Off
Ranked #17 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Best breakfast!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We stayed here with friends so we had booked two rooms and an apartment. All of us were very pleased with the standard of accommodation we received and felt it was great value (especially the discount for over 50's!). We had friends staying in the Waikiki Sheraton at the same time, it cost three times as much, and while their room had sensational views over Waikiki beach to Diamond Head, their room was smaller than ours and had less facilities. The pool at the Luana is nothing special but the nearby Waikiki beach was beautiful, so that was not important to us. The staff at the Luana were just gorgeous, really helpful, happy and friendly. The small café did wonderful breakfasts at great prices, and the staff were very obliging when we were in a rush to be ready for our taxi. The Luana has a handy ABC shop and some restaurants across a small park in front of the hotel, and it is a five minute walk from the Hard Rock Café and Beach Walk, where we found some great bars. A couple more minutes walk takes you to the centre of Waikiki.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerLuanaWaikik, Front Office Manager at Luana Waikiki, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Aloha k m,
We are delighted to read about your wonderful group vacation experience here at the Outrigger Luana Waikiki. We will share your kind words about our staff with them. Thank you your many positive comments.
Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

964 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    435
    383
    99
    33
    14
See reviews for
248
360
54
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

My travel agent recommended the Luana for us as we wanted to see the beach & ocean but not all the crowds-perfect!!!! It was so peaceful-staff was so professional & polite. Overlooks Dussey Park just a nice place to stay-had a room with kitchenette which was very handy-and enjoyed the Potea Cafe each morning as well. Can't go wrong here for sure!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerLuanaWaikik, Front Office Manager at Luana Waikiki, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Aloha Balloonfan771,
Mahalo for all of your positive comments. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us & hope to see you again for another peaceful vacation.
Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boiling Springs, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Centrally located to most everything in the busy town of Waikiki. Affordable and just a short walk to the beach, restaurants, and coffee shops. Ocean view room was a great value compared to others in the area. Would recommend!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerLuanaWaikik, Front Office Manager at Luana Waikiki, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Aloha Derek2023,
We are happy to hear that you were pleased with our central location. Thank you for your great review. We hope to see you again. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whakatane, New Zealand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

This hotel/apartment is in a great location for Waikiki, however the rooms are getting on a little, but are clean and tidy. The bed was great very very comfortable. Views were ok over the park.

We found the only real drawback was the noise. Even high up we could hear the road noise and people pulling their luggage over the tiles in the street, I suppose its because we live in the country and not used to the traffic. The road outside was very busy so be warned. I suggest ear plugs would help if it bothers you.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerLuanaWaikik, Front Office Manager at Luana Waikiki, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Aloha pommiekiwi,
Mahalo for choosing the Outrigger Luana Waikiki for your recent holiday. We appreciate you taking time to share your experience with everyone. Mahalo Nui Loa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

I stay at this hotel on quite a regular basis. I'm set up here through my job. As is most of the hotels I stay at for work it is never anything to write home about. The rooms are ok. Views are also just ok. Never been to the spa here, but I hear great things. There is a little café here that is open for breakfast and lunch that is fantastic. If it were open for dinner I'd eat all 3 meals there.
The staff here are always
friendly, but never seem to be exceptional in any way. For the first time in Hawaii I had an extra day to do as I pleased. I decided to rent a car. I pulled up and was greeted by Will. He was an extreme gentleman. Later that evening I went out and was helped by Randy. He gave me great recommendations on where to have dinner and was quite knowledgable on golf courses on the island. To think all I had to do was rent a car to be treated like a VIP. Basically the review is specifically to say the valets here are standouts.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 9 days in May. Upon checking in we were told we had been upgraded from the Partial Ocean View Kitchenette I had booked to a 1 bedroom suite! The suite is fantastic! A full kitchen, separate lounge, separate bedroom and 2 balconies. One overlooks the pool and the other Fort De Russy Park and the ocean. The beds are sooo comfy.

The staff at reception are helpful and friendly and your room is serviced daily. You get fresh towels and clean sheets!

They have a fantastic water cooler with fruit in the lobby and if you need a beach towel just ask at reception. We had a great view of the Friday night fireworks from our balcony on the 5th floor.
The only thing I would have liked that I didn't have is an airer in the room for swimmers.

The hotel is located away from the heart of Waikiki so is quieter but still only a short 10 min walk to the centre of town. There is a bus stop across the road. Buses will take you anywhere on the island.

Would definitely recommend this hotel if you are visiting Waikiki!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, VA
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We booked a partial ocean and was happy with our room on the 6th floor. It offered a view of the ocean and looked over Ft. DeRussy Park.

The room was a nice size with a balcony that was a little narrow, but we enjoyed sitting out there on a couple of occasions. The was a kitchen space with a refrigerator and dishes, but no microwave.

We were able to watch the Friday night fireworks from the 16th floor and that was very nice not to have to go down to the beach.

The people at the reception desk were very friendly. We were offered the opportunity to ask for a higher floor the next morning, but decided to stay where we were.

The hotel was conveniently located without being on the main drag.

We were able to rent a car from Dollar Car Rental across the street for a fantastic price on-line. We drove out to the Dole Plantation and the Punchbowl on our time schedule instead of being on a tour. Bring your GPS with you! The price for valet parking at the hotel is $25 per day.

A nice plus was having cold water with fruit slices at the entrance- especially for those of us not used to the heat.



































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































\

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Luana Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luana Waikiki

Address: 2045 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#11 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#33 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Luana Waikiki 3.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking serene Fort DeRussy Park, Luana Waikiki is a boutique hotel located just a short stroll to Waikiki Beach, world-class shopping, and international dining at the Waikiki Gateway. Choose from a variety of exceptionally comfortable accommodations with a contemporary Hawaiian style, including studios with kitchenettes and spacious ocean view suites with full kitchens. Take advantage of our yoga in the park at 8am on wed ,sat & sun, cool folding cruise bikes to explore Oahu, and beach chairs & towels. Come see what sets Luana Waikiki apart from other Waikiki hotels! With our hospitality fee for all stays beginning September 1, 2014, Luana Waikiki allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Waikiki Shuttle (Complimentary Waikiki Shuttle Service), Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, Water in Lobby, and a Weekly Manager's Reception. You'll also enjoy the heated swimming pool,BBQ area, fitness room, coffee shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Luana Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Luana Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Luana Waikiki
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger
Luana Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luana Waikiki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.