We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loving Luana” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Luana Waikiki

Save Saved
You added Luana Waikiki to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Luana Waikiki
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2045 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special Savings - 20% Off
Ranked #18 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Loving Luana”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this Hotel for six nights in April 2013. We disembarked our cruise in the morning and were able to check in immediately upon arrival which was a bonus. Our room was large overlooking the park, whilst not having an ocean view, didn't matter because we didn't spend much time in the room preferring to take in the sights of Wakaai.
The staff were friendly and very helpful, especially the guys out the front, the concierge was very informative when it came to booking tours.
The cafe at the front door served a lovely breakfast, with friendly staff.
Free WiFi was a pleasant surprise after being charged on the cruise.
I would have no hesitation staying in this Hotel again,and recommending it to my friends.

Room Tip: If given the choice I would request a higher floor as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

959 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    431
    383
    99
    33
    13
See reviews for
246
359
54
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia.
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 9 nights in late April/early May.
We arrived very early and were able to check in immediately which was a great bonus.
We had a very large studio with kitchenette. The view was of the park, main road and partial ocean view.
The hotel and room is older but very functional and clean.
We had a 2 burner hot plate, sink, fridge, microwave and plenty of dishes and utensils. It was easy to make breakfasts and some other meals. It saves a lot of money in this expensive city.
The room also has a large bed, table with 2 chairs, couch, bedside tables, wardrobe, lots of drawers and plenty of bench space. There is a flat screen TV.
The bathroom has lots of bench space as well as a shower over the bath. Having a bath tub was a real and much appreciated bonus.
There was a bit of noise in the room when the door to the balcony was open but it was minimal. I am sure it would be much noisier in the centre of Waikiki. Bring ear plugs if you are very noise sensitive, although my husband didn't use his.
There is a laundry which I used several times. I used it in the morning and never had to wait for a machine as there are several.
There is also a small gym with most of the basic equipment.
The pool looked inviting and appeared to be well used.
Free wifi is available in the room and it worked extremely well.
All the staff we encountered were friendly and polite.
Finally - the location. This hotel is in a brilliant position. Just out of the mad hustle and bustle of Waikiki but close enough to walk to most things you would need. The centre of Waikiki was a very pleasant 10 minute walk, Ala Moana was about 25 minutes in the other direction. We also walked to the Aquarium and Zoo.
This hotel ticks all the boxes, is great value and we would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask to NOT overlook the garage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We stayed here for 2 night after flying in from the east coast. Check in was easy, and our room was spacious with a kitchenette and a decent sized lanai with a partial view of the ocean in the distance. We were overlooking the park, but were in a room close to the main road, so there was considerable road noise. We were able to sleep through it pretty well, though. Waikiki beach is a short walk. There is a cafe that serves breakfast right outside of the front lobby which opens at 6:30 despite the sign on the door which says they open at 7.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

This is my second stay at The Outrigger Luana in six months and I now consider it to be my hale (home) in Waikiki. First let me state that I consider the "Outrigger" brand to be the best in Hawai'i. Every Outrigger, I have stayed at, has exemplified Hawaiian sense of place and aloha spirit. The Luana is a boutique cond/hotel located about five minutes from what I consider to be the best beach along the Waikiki strip To get to the beach you simply walk through beautiful Fort DuRusy park to beach access between the Outrigger Reef and the Waikiki Shore hotels. The beach itself is wider and less crowded then the iconic section that fronts the Moana andRoyal Hawaiian, There are concession stands that rent every conceivable kind of water equipment; surf and paddle boards, buggie boards, kayaks, and paddle wheelers. The waves break far out so this spot lends itself to swimming.

But what about the hotel itself? The standard rooms are about 300 sq feet, not including their generous balconies. Renovated about 2004, the furniture is beginning to show its age, but the style is Tropical Retro and the weathered appearance just ads to the vibe. Each single has either a small kitchen or kitchenette with microwave. There is flat screen televion and Internet access In every room. The rooms themselves are immaculately clean and the mattresses are very comfortable with douvet style bedding. At the Luana it's all about room location. The best rooms are on the Diamond Head side closest to the park. These rooms afford excellent views of the park and ocean and rival those of the much more expensive Trump Towers.

the pool is small but maintained at a comfortable temperature. it looks out over the green belt and I have never had to wait for a deck lounge. For me, the best part of the Luana experience is the staff. They couldn't be nicer or more helpful. This current stay I was upgraded to a one bedroom suite and I never want to leave. Yes you can spend a lot more money to be right on the beach but you won't be treated any better for any price.
The Luana is adjacent to Beach Walk and luxury row. it is located on the less crowded West end of Waikiki.

Mahalo Luana for making my stays with you so pleasant. it goes without saying that I will be returning again on my next.visit.

Room Tip: The best rooms are on the Diamond Head side, over looking the park and the ocean beyond. 04-05-06-07...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We travelled to Hawaii for a 5 night stay. The Luana is a small hotel & it was a quiet & relaxing stay. Easy walking distance for nearby shops & to catch buses for tours of the island. The Concergie Stacey was excellent & helpful, offering guidance & advice on shows to attend, like the luau & the Big Island by plane. Breakfast was tasty & staff was polite & very helpful. We used the laundry on the 1st floor to catch up on washing. It had a kitchenette & we asked for a kettle for tea making. Close to the beach & other hotels for restaurants. Big room with comfortable beds. We would definitely stay there again. We reserved room before leaving Oz & it was an agreed price & that is what we paid in the end, with one night free. Good value for money.

Room Tip: Room on 2nd floor facing main street is OK, close to laundry. Cool water available in foyer. Easy wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lily T, Manager at Luana Waikiki, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Aloha.....

Mahalo for taking the time to comment on your recent stay. We are happy to hear that you were satisfied with the different amenities that our property provides. We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to the island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

This hotel was right on Luxury Row. Great views of the city and with a kitchenette it was perfect to spend several days in prior to our cruise. Our check-in did not go smoothly at all! It was almost as if they did not want to give us the early-bird special that was booked weeks in advance. I had confirmation numbers and a print out and tried to show it to front desk personnel but they did not even look at it, saying that the reservation was booked under something else. It eventually got straightened out but after traveling for more than 12 hours it was annoying. Valet parking is $25 a day in and out all day. That was OK – a little over priced but at least there was parking.
The restaurant in the hotel was very nice and the food was good and for Hawaii was reasonably priced. The staff there was very nice and so was the valet parking staff.
I could only get internet very early in morning after that it was VERY slow and frustrating. That included my phone and laptop.
The Concierge is EXTREMELY helpful and Stacey really helped us out one day. She made phone calls and arrangements for us and took a lot of stress and pressure off of us. She was the best!
Loved the water with fresh fruit in it in the lobby. So refreshing after walking up and down Kalakaua Ave.
The room was definitely spacious and the beds were comfy. The kitchenette was an added plus and was stocked with dishes and other items we needed. It’s a small frig but that was all we needed. The bathroom was a nice size and updated.
One of the days we were there our room ended up not being cleaned. We had been gone all day and came back around 3pm to relax before going to dinner – room was the way we left it that morning, thank goodness we are very neat. We called down to get some fresh towels which they brought up right away and asked if we wanted our room cleaned right then?! We found out that they clean rooms late or so we were told. I wasn’t sure what to make of that, it didn’t happen again.
Overall I would stay there again if I am ever in Hawaii again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitmore Lake, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed at the Luana Waikiki for five days in a one bedroom condo. The condo was a fine room with a king size bed, a nice side living room and kitchen that looked out over the Pacific Ocean. Make sure you get a room on the higher floors. We had made this request in our reservation. When we arrived, they did place us on a lower floor but readily adjusted to our request. It was obvious that they were customer centered. Those have the best visibility of the ocean. We were delighted with the hotel, its proximity to downtown Waikiki and the beach.

Room Tip: Get a room above the 10th floor to avoid noise from the traffic and request an ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lily T, Front Office Manager at Luana Waikiki, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Aloha Dan F. Thank you for choosing the Outrigger Luana Waikiki. Thank you for sharing your experience with everyone. We are happy to hear that you had a great stay with us. It's our goal to satisfy each of our guests with both services and room accommodations. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Luana Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luana Waikiki

Address: 2045 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#34 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Luana Waikiki 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking serene Fort DeRussy Park, Luana Waikiki is a boutique hotel located just a short stroll to Waikiki Beach, world-class shopping, and international dining at the Waikiki Gateway. Choose from a variety of exceptionally comfortable accommodations with a contemporary Hawaiian style, including studios with kitchenettes and spacious ocean view suites with full kitchens. Take advantage of our yoga in the park at 8am on wed ,sat & sun, cool folding cruise bikes to explore Oahu, and beach chairs & towels. Come see what sets Luana Waikiki apart from other Waikiki hotels! With our hospitality fee for all stays beginning September 1, 2014, Luana Waikiki allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Waikiki Shuttle (Complimentary Waikiki Shuttle Service), Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, Water in Lobby, and a Weekly Manager's Reception. You'll also enjoy the heated swimming pool,BBQ area, fitness room, coffee shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Luana Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Luana Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Luana Waikiki
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger
Luana Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luana Waikiki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.