We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent choice!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Luana Waikiki

Save Saved
You added Luana Waikiki to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Luana Waikiki
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2045 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Suite Special - Save 20%
Ranked #21 of 82 hotels in Honolulu
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“excellent choice!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel was great. It was not right on the beach-but very close-within a few blocks and walking distance- and because of this was a little less expensive and maybe not as "luxurious". They had an awesome mini-kitchen in our room with pretty much everything you would need. The staff was more than helpful and could always answer questions even at 5am. the pool area was nice. the only downfall was that on nice days it could have used a few more chairs but the chairs they did have were very comfortable and they had beach towels available. I was completely impressed with the hotel and I can say we got more than we paid for!

Room Tip: it was worht the extra few dollars to upgrade to a room with a kitchenette
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

908 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    403
    367
    93
    32
    13
See reviews for
221
342
52
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Our family stayed at the Outrigger for 7 nights from the 27th March to the 4th April my wife and I and 2 teenage daughters in 2 rooms on the 6th floor. Checkin / checkout was very quick and easy. We purposely didn't book rooms with kitchens as this was a family holiday and I didn't want my wife doing any cooking at all she deserved a well earned rest from the daily chores, and we all enjoyed eating out in the many different restaurants Waikiki had to offer. We choose this hotel as it was a little distance from the centre of Waikiki without being too far away, the location was perfect. Partial ocean room over looking Fort De Russy Park and the city a great view both day and night. Our only disappointment that there wasn't 2 single beds in the girls room so one had to use the foldout sofa bed. As the hotel has full moving the girls to another room was not possible on arrival however Cassel did manage some days later to offer another room but the girls decided not to move. The hotel was just perfect for us, spotlessly clean rooms, serviced every day, small pool with a great gym, coin operated laundry and a small cafe Protea with friendly staff and an ABC store across the road. The hotel is certainly not the most modern in Waikiki but it certainly has everything you would need for a short or long stay and for our stay it was perfect. Thanks to Cassel and Devon for their friendly professional service. Overall we had a great stay and holiday in Honolulu.

Room Tip: Partial ocean view room is a great choice. As for the traffic noise don't forget you are on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Nice location if you are going to stay in Waikiki beach and restaurants are all a short walk away. It is a bit dated and could have used a bit more cleaning. The staff were great really could not have been more helpful with any request. We were on a lower floor and the street noise was always there no matter what the time. Rooms were large and fairly well equipped.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 7 days and hemmed and hawed about it before hand. Couldn't decide if having extra space and more importantly a full kitchen was worth giving up a beachfront hotel. Well, we were right to keep this hotel! The condo, a one bedroom ocean view was clean, with a great full kitchen and dishwasher, two lanais, and comfy beds. The beach on the other side of Ft DeRussy which the hotel is basically in, is 5 minutes of walking- downtown Waikiki beach is a good 15 minute walk past posh shops and plenty of restaurants and ABC stores. We got in really late on arrival day and hit the ABC store for milk and things for the AM. I loved this hotel, having the space with two kids and fixing breakfast and lunch was so great! We will stay here again. Only caveat, the pool is very small, and only some units have laundry- there's an old laundry room in serious need of updating...

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, OH
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

A good find: the rooms are updated and clean, staff is friendly, location is good. The Outrigger Luana Waikiki is not on the beach, so you do not pay the "on the beach" prices that other hotels in the area command. The hotel is within walking distance to all the beaches/shops/restaurants of Waikiki.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Great location. Many resturants nearby, including PF Changs with reduced price food menu 11A to 5P. Friendly staff. Decent pool. Very good workout room. Main complaint : Noise. On busy road, direct route for every fire truck or emergancy vehicle. It doesn't matter much if you leave sliding glass door open or closed, because the glass door has thin single pane glass. If you want a quiet place to stay, I would try and get a block or two away from Kalakaua Ave.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Great price for the location, cleanliness and service. Rooms were clean al biet a little dated.

Staff were AMAZING. Always friendly and willing to help. We booked all out tours through the concierge and were happy with the companies recommended.

Located on the better side of town, 5-10 minute walk to the beach and main strip. 2 minute walk to the bus stop and a 20 minute walk Ala Moana shopping centre. Generally one of the first to be picked up and first to be droped off on tours.

Rooms can be a little noisy if the balcony door is left open and there are only two computers in the lobby, so there can be a bit of a cue for their use.

Room Tip: Chose a room higher up if you're a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Luana Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luana Waikiki

Address: 2045 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#11 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#21 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Luana Waikiki 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking serene Fort DeRussy Park, Luana Waikiki is a contemporary boutique hotel located just a short stroll to Waikiki Beach, world-class shopping, and international dining at the Waikiki Gateway. Choose from a variety of exceptionally comfortable accommodations with a contemporary Hawaiian style, including hotel rooms, studios with kitchenettes and spacious suites with full kitchens. Come see what sets Luana Waikiki apart from other Waikiki hotels! With our hospitality fee for all stays beginning August 1, 2014, Luana Waikiki allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Waikiki Shuttle (Complimentary Waikiki Shuttle Service), Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, Water in Lobby, and a Weekly Manager's Reception. You'll also enjoy the heated swimming pool, fitness room, coffee shop, rooftop restaurant and more. Take advantage of our yoga in the park at 8am on wed & sun, cool folding cruise bikes to explore Oahu, and beach chairs & towels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Luana Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Luana Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Luana Waikiki
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger
Luana Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luana Waikiki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.