We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff-Reasonable Price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2045 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 15%
Ranked #11 of 83 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Dumfries, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Staff-Reasonable Price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We spent three nights at the Outrigger Luana after a 7 day cruise. We upgraded to an ocean view and were given a condo, with a king bedroom, living, and kitchen area. Wonderful space for the price. We were on a corner so we had an ocean view from the living area and a city view from the bedroom. Both opened out to the balcony with 4 chairs and 2 side tables. The staff could not have been nicer. We opted to rent a car, and use the valet parking, and we never waited more than a few minutes to drop off or pick up. It's not a bad walk to the beach through Fort Debussy Park, but if you want to be right "on the beach" this hotel is not for you. For the space, you cannot beat the price! The on site restaurant closed at 2:00 so you have to explore Waikiki for dinner options. We definitely enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    584
    478
    121
    36
    17
See reviews for
342
455
73
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (364)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at this lovely hotel. Clean and comfortable. Easy location within reach and friendly staff.

We booked our activities through the concierge and he gave us tour discounts and a free breakfast buffet provided we attend a sales presentation for two hours. We figured we check it out. What a mistake that was!

Whatever you do, don't attend the sales presentation. The sales rep will tell you about investing with Wyndham. We knew it was a scam and told the sales rep that we were not interested and inform her that we don't want to waste anyone's time with this sort of deal and left within 90 mins. Having never heard of the company nor not having the opportunity to research what the investment is about we confidently said 'no' and left it at that.

DO NOT BE PRESSURED TO ATTEND THE SALES PITCH. IT'S NOT WORTH YOUR TIME!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Outrigger is in a great location!! It is apparent it was once a luxury hotel but it is a little bit outdated now. It is very clean and the staff is super amazing! Everyone is friendly and We felt very welcomed. We had a problem with our airline so arrived late without our luggage. The hotel clerk John immediately started making recommendations for nearby toiletries and late night food. They next day we left exploring and gave them notice about the arrival of our luggage. It was so nice to return to find the front desk had already took our bags to our room.

The location was great.... Right near everything you can want or need. Great food, drinks, shopping, and souvenirs within walking distance. I was pleasantly surprised to find that we were in the heart of luxury shopping and dining. Loved the beautiful parks on both sides. made for great morning walks. Those are great perks for a "budget" hotel.

My favorite thing about the hotel was a great balcony. I woke very morning to a beautiful sunrise over the mountain tops. Then a great walk in the park and along the beach walk (along Fort Durresy). It was great start to my day.

Room Tip: As for a balcony facing the beachside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoffman Estates, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Awesome place : perfect location next to derussy park: beautiful walk to the beach through florals in park: small local church in park - outdoor tai chi in park locals very welcoming- hotel safe , clean , and served all needs....it is not a high end hotel but it feels like one - great restraint on site for breakfast and lunch - upgraded our rooms with a huge patio roof lanai it was amazing! Walked to bus stops, tour pick up across street , no need for a car, walk to dinner, will be back!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We had a corner suite on the hotel so we had 2 balconies with 2 great views, the beautiful mountains and a park view with a sneak peek of the ocean. We were close enough to the ocean and shopping to be able to walk. We really enjoyed sitting around the pool and dipping in the pool. We met a lot of nice people whom go to this hotel every winter. All were from Canada. The hotel staff were very helpful, including housekeeping.
Next time I would travel in March. February is Hawaii's rainy month. We would return.

Room Tip: Actually did not use room service or spa. Love the suites because you have the bedroom separate from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is a great hotel. It's at the start of the strip and next to a park so it's a little quieter which we liked at night. It's about a 15-20 minute walk to the heart of the strip. And the beach is a 5 mins walk south of the hotel through the park. The staff were all nice and friendly and we liked the fruity water in the lobby every day. This part of the beach wasn't as crowded as the main part of the beach with all the big hotels and resorts. We liked having a kitchen which helped to save on time looking for something to eat and on food cost which is expensive in Hawaii. Our room had a two burner stove, coffee maker, toaster, microwave oven which also doubled as a convection oven, mini fridge along with the pots, pans, cooking utensils, plates, cutlery etc. The bus stop was right across the street along with an ABC store and a general store. A little further walk about 5-10 mins is the Food Pantry grocery store which is where we bought our meat and stuff to cook our meals. At the front of the Food Pantry store is some food vendors for take away. Right across the street from the hotel is also the Thrifty car rental and next door is a gas station. So, everything is close by and the advantage of being at the start of the strip is that you avoid all the traffic when you head out to see the rest of the island. We would stay here again. Our room was clean and spacious and had a balcony.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We loved our stay there. The room was very cheery and very large. Also included was a kitchenette - no cooking appliances (no store, no microwave) but a mini fridge and sink we're very helpful. However on the last day we found mini ants on the kitchen counter. They may be difficult to keep away as we were on the second floor. Mostly everything is without walk distance and is pretty conveniently located to the beach. Staff was very helpful. However the parking garage is pretty expensive, although it might be the norm in Waikiki. Internet wifi access was good.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
0.4 mi away
Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort
0.7 mi away
Vive Hotel Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#7 of 83 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 768 reviews
1.0 mi away
Park Shore Waikiki
Park Shore Waikiki
#14 of 83 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#2 of 83 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 2,497 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Waikiki Beach
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#22 of 83 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 stars 2,886 reviews
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Waikiki Beach Walk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites

Address: 2045 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#10 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#11 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking serene Fort DeRussy Park, Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites is a boutique hotel located just a short stroll to Waikiki Beach, world-class shopping, and international dining at the Waikiki Gateway. Choose from a variety of exceptionally comfortable accommodations with Hawaiian style decor, including studios with kitchenettes and spacious ocean view suites with full kitchens. Take advantage of our yoga classes on tues, thur, sat & sun, cool folding & cruise bikes to explore Oahu, and beach chairs & towels. Come see what sets the Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites apart from other Waikiki hotels! With our $15/nt plus tax hospitality fee, Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Waikiki Shuttle (Complimentary Waikiki Shuttle Service), Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, Water in Lobby, and Manager's Wine & Cheese Reception on Mon, Wed & Friday from 5p-6p . You'll also enjoy the heated swimming pool,BBQ area & fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Luana Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Luana Waikiki
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger
Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.