We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, friendly staff. Don't do the Wyndham sales presentation!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Luana Waikiki

Save Saved
You added Luana Waikiki to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Luana Waikiki
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2045 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Suite Special - Save 20%
Ranked #20 of 82 hotels in Honolulu
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great location, friendly staff. Don't do the Wyndham sales presentation!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at this lovely hotel. Clean and comfortable. Easy location within reach and friendly staff.

We booked our activities through the concierge and he gave us tour discounts and a free breakfast buffet provided we attend a sales presentation for two hours. We figured we check it out. What a mistake that was!

Whatever you do, don't attend the sales presentation. The sales rep will tell you about investing with Wyndham. We knew it was a scam and told the sales rep that we were not interested and inform her that we don't want to waste anyone's time with this sort of deal and left within 90 mins. Having never heard of the company nor not having the opportunity to research what the investment is about we confidently said 'no' and left it at that.

DO NOT BE PRESSURED TO ATTEND THE SALES PITCH. IT'S NOT WORTH YOUR TIME!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

909 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    403
    367
    94
    32
    13
See reviews for
221
343
52
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Outrigger is in a great location!! It is apparent it was once a luxury hotel but it is a little bit outdated now. It is very clean and the staff is super amazing! Everyone is friendly and We felt very welcomed. We had a problem with our airline so arrived late without our luggage. The hotel clerk John immediately started making recommendations for nearby toiletries and late night food. They next day we left exploring and gave them notice about the arrival of our luggage. It was so nice to return to find the front desk had already took our bags to our room.

The location was great.... Right near everything you can want or need. Great food, drinks, shopping, and souvenirs within walking distance. I was pleasantly surprised to find that we were in the heart of luxury shopping and dining. Loved the beautiful parks on both sides. made for great morning walks. Those are great perks for a "budget" hotel.

My favorite thing about the hotel was a great balcony. I woke very morning to a beautiful sunrise over the mountain tops. Then a great walk in the park and along the beach walk (along Fort Durresy). It was great start to my day.

Room Tip: As for a balcony facing the beachside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoffman Estates, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Awesome place : perfect location next to derussy park: beautiful walk to the beach through florals in park: small local church in park - outdoor tai chi in park locals very welcoming- hotel safe , clean , and served all needs....it is not a high end hotel but it feels like one - great restraint on site for breakfast and lunch - upgraded our rooms with a huge patio roof lanai it was amazing! Walked to bus stops, tour pick up across street , no need for a car, walk to dinner, will be back!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We had a corner suite on the hotel so we had 2 balconies with 2 great views, the beautiful mountains and a park view with a sneak peek of the ocean. We were close enough to the ocean and shopping to be able to walk. We really enjoyed sitting around the pool and dipping in the pool. We met a lot of nice people whom go to this hotel every winter. All were from Canada. The hotel staff were very helpful, including housekeeping.
Next time I would travel in March. February is Hawaii's rainy month. We would return.

Room Tip: Actually did not use room service or spa. Love the suites because you have the bedroom separate from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is a great hotel. It's at the start of the strip and next to a park so it's a little quieter which we liked at night. It's about a 15-20 minute walk to the heart of the strip. And the beach is a 5 mins walk south of the hotel through the park. The staff were all nice and friendly and we liked the fruity water in the lobby every day. This part of the beach wasn't as crowded as the main part of the beach with all the big hotels and resorts. We liked having a kitchen which helped to save on time looking for something to eat and on food cost which is expensive in Hawaii. Our room had a two burner stove, coffee maker, toaster, microwave oven which also doubled as a convection oven, mini fridge along with the pots, pans, cooking utensils, plates, cutlery etc. The bus stop was right across the street along with an ABC store and a general store. A little further walk about 5-10 mins is the Food Pantry grocery store which is where we bought our meat and stuff to cook our meals. At the front of the Food Pantry store is some food vendors for take away. Right across the street from the hotel is also the Thrifty car rental and next door is a gas station. So, everything is close by and the advantage of being at the start of the strip is that you avoid all the traffic when you head out to see the rest of the island. We would stay here again. Our room was clean and spacious and had a balcony.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We loved our stay there. The room was very cheery and very large. Also included was a kitchenette - no cooking appliances (no store, no microwave) but a mini fridge and sink we're very helpful. However on the last day we found mini ants on the kitchen counter. They may be difficult to keep away as we were on the second floor. Mostly everything is without walk distance and is pretty conveniently located to the beach. Staff was very helpful. However the parking garage is pretty expensive, although it might be the norm in Waikiki. Internet wifi access was good.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Junction City,KS
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

This place is very nice and by Hawaii standards relatively inexpensive. The rooms are clean and the area is away from all the hassle of Waikiki. The surrounding area is nice and there are resturants nearby. We were looking for a place for breakfast and discovered the little cafe at the lobby of the hotel. The name of the place is Protea and the food is great. It's small but if you have to wait it is well worth it.
If and when we go back to Honolulu we will stay here for sure.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Luana Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luana Waikiki

Address: 2045 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#11 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#48 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Luana Waikiki 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking serene Fort DeRussy Park, Luana Waikiki is a contemporary boutique hotel located just a short stroll to Waikiki Beach, world-class shopping, and international dining at the Waikiki Gateway. Choose from a variety of exceptionally comfortable accommodations with a contemporary Hawaiian style, including hotel rooms, studios with kitchenettes and spacious suites with full kitchens. Come see what sets Luana Waikiki apart from other Waikiki hotels! With our hospitality fee for all stays beginning August 1, 2014, Luana Waikiki allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Waikiki Shuttle (Complimentary Waikiki Shuttle Service), Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, Water in Lobby, and a Weekly Manager's Reception. You'll also enjoy the heated swimming pool, fitness room, coffee shop, rooftop restaurant and more. Take advantage of our yoga in the park at 8am on wed & sun, cool folding cruise bikes to explore Oahu, and beach chairs & towels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Luana Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Luana Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Luana Waikiki
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger
Luana Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luana Waikiki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.