We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Luana Waikiki

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Luana Waikiki to your Saves list
Luana Waikiki
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2045 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special Savings - 20% Off
Ranked #12 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Townsend, DE
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Great value, great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We have now stayed at three different Outrigger hotels and condominiums, and once again, found that the Outrigger Luana Waikiki is just as lovely as the others. Each Outrigger is different, yet all three have the same lovely and calm atmosphere. Everything is nicely decorated and is kept clean and is very inviting. We would definitely go back to all three.

Location: The Outrigger Luana’s location is perfect. It is just a few walking blocks from Waikiki Beach, the Beach Walk with all its lovely shops and restaurants, the US Post Office, and is on the main street, Kalakaua Avenue. There are shops and restaurants right outside the Luana. Local buses run frequently on this street and you can take them everywhere, including to such places as the Bishop Museum and Iolani Palace. Yet, it is not a noisy street. There is a small park across the street, and of course, it is next to the beautiful Fort DeRussy Park.

Staff: As you arrive, you are greeted and assisted by Luana staff, who is always on duty outside. Each time we entered or departed from the building, we were always cheerfully greeted and welcomed back. As you walk up the stairs from the street entrance, there is a lovely restaurant open 7:00 am – 2:00 pm. Then you walk into a charming lobby with just one small, yet cute shop, with a helpful shop keeper. The entire staff did its very best to make the stay a extremely pleasant stay.

Room: We chose a room with a city view and it was perfect. Located on the first floor, the room is nicely decorated, and it had more than ample storage. As we walked into the room, the bathroom was on the right. On the left was a kitchen area with a sink and small refrigerator with a long counter top with cabinets above and several large drawers below. In addition, there was closet with cabinet space below, a lovely TV, a nice-sized desk, coffee table, couch and a king-size bed. Outside the room was a large, closed off concrete area with a view of the night city lights that is just breathtaking. You can, of course, close the curtains. The floors above have balconies.

Facilities: Located on the first floor, we were near the laundry room, which was very clean and had several washers and dryers. The gym provided excellent equipment with floor to wall windows and overlooked the loveliest pool. Before you leave, go to the top floor and you get a wonderful view of Waikiki. Aloha!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,044 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    482
    411
    103
    33
    15
See reviews for
268
389
61
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oberlin, Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Stayed the week before New Years day. Nice, spacious, clean room with kitchen (sink, stovetop, microwave, refrigerator, dishes, utensils, pots and pans). Beds were comfy, and noise from other rooms and hallway was minimal. Too much street noise to have balcony door open at night even on 16th, top floor. Arrived at 9 am (flight in from Sydney; booked with note of early arrival); staff got us into a room by 11 am. Staff is friendly and helpful. Hotel is a hike from the beach and shopping, but the city bus ($1.50 per ride) stops nearby. Paid $175 (including taxes and fees) for 3 persons per night.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed here for ten days in a partial ocean view room faced the park on the 14th floor. The location is very convenient to go wherever you want in Waikiki and a short walk to the beach.The room was basic and a little small, with a kitchenette well stocked. We'd stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose a room with partial ocean view faced the park to see Waikiki, the park and the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here days before my wedding. Amazing bellhop and concierge. Room was clean a little small but absolutely awesome! Even had dock station for iPhone. Would stay here again. Short walk to beach :))

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed here for the Honolulu Marathon. A great location to get to everywhere we needed to be. Friendly and helpful staff and very nice rooms. Loved being so close to Fort Derussy to watch people and birds. Would definitely come back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria British Columbia Canada
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

I booked my kitchenette suite on-line for $119 which is a good price for Waikiki. The kitchen is well-equipped except for a coffee grinder and when I phone housekeeping, they said they didn't have one. The cafe offered to grind my coffee beans for me at no charge. Considering the size of the Outrigger chain, they should have at least one coffee bean grinder on hand. Hawaiian coffee is highly advertised.

The room was very large and comfortable. I was on the 15th floor and despite being so high, the noise from Kalakaua was enough to disrupt my sleep. Since the regular rooms have a fridge and sink, I wouldn't get a kitchenette next time but would put the money towards a room facing the park.

When I went to the pool, all the towels were gone and there was no way I could see to get more. Perhaps there was a phone to housekeeping but I didn't see it. There is a barbecue and some bar tables at one side of the pool area overlooking Fort Derussy Park. You could watch the sunset from there.

The hotel is at the Honolulu end of Waikiki. I walked to the Ala Moana shopping center and there are bus stops very near the hotel. If you walk the other way, it is not far to all the Waikik restaurants and stores. The front desk staff was helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Get one facing the park as high up as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

Spent three nights here in a studio unit with a kitchenette. It was great to be able to make breakfast in our room. We had a 'partial ocean view' on the sunny side of the building. Couldn't spend much time on the lanai because of the bright sunlight. This place is across a large park from the heart of Waikiki so you're not bombarded by the tourists, but you are close enough to go there when you want to. Staff was very helpful and friendly. The concierge was very helpful in planning a tour of Pearl Harbor.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Luana Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luana Waikiki

Address: 2045 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#10 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Luana Waikiki 3.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking serene Fort DeRussy Park, Luana Waikiki is a boutique hotel located just a short stroll to Waikiki Beach, world-class shopping, and international dining at the Waikiki Gateway. Choose from a variety of exceptionally comfortable accommodations with a contemporary Hawaiian style, including studios with kitchenettes and spacious ocean view suites with full kitchens. Take advantage of our yoga in the park at 8am on wed ,sat & sun, cool folding cruise bikes to explore Oahu, and beach chairs & towels. Come see what sets Luana Waikiki apart from other Waikiki hotels! With our hospitality fee for all stays beginning September 1, 2014, Luana Waikiki allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Waikiki Shuttle (Complimentary Waikiki Shuttle Service), Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, Water in Lobby, and a Weekly Manager's Reception. You'll also enjoy the heated swimming pool,BBQ area, fitness room, coffee shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Luana Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Luana Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Luana Waikiki
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger
Luana Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luana Waikiki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.