We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well appointed hotel in a great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Luana Waikiki

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Luana Waikiki to your Saves list
Luana Waikiki
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2045 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Well appointed hotel in a great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

Spent three nights here in a studio unit with a kitchenette. It was great to be able to make breakfast in our room. We had a 'partial ocean view' on the sunny side of the building. Couldn't spend much time on the lanai because of the bright sunlight. This place is across a large park from the heart of Waikiki so you're not bombarded by the tourists, but you are close enough to go there when you want to. Staff was very helpful and friendly. The concierge was very helpful in planning a tour of Pearl Harbor.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,048 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    484
    412
    104
    33
    15
See reviews for
269
390
62
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
covington
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

My mom and I booked our weeklong trip 8 months in advance. We got there and they told us that they were overbooked and were gonna send us to a different hotel with an upgrade. They paid for the cab and sent us to the ghetto, there was a homeless man sleeping at the door of the new hotel. I was not happy, alongside our room was not even ready. Two hours later we made it back to the Luana, they upgraded us from a studio to a one bedroom partial ocean for the trouble. That was nice.
The room was very nice and the beds super comfy, I slept on the pull out sofa bed and surprisingly it was comfy as well. They also have free wifi in the rooms and a free inroom safe that ended up being used more than I thought. The rooms are very spacious and provided a lot of room.
Complaints: I am under 5ft tall and the shower head hit me in the chest, it was so short and not adjustable. They give you one coffee bag per day which is enough for one cup of coffee and they charge you for extra. Also, our sliding glass door to the lanai was extremely hard to open and didnt lock.
All in all, I would probably stay here again, it is very conveniently located, you are in the middle of waikiki so you can walk easily to the mall, beach, fort derussy, pink trolley, etc. Also, they have the most delicious water in the lobby all day long with fresh fruits inside and they have a snack around 2pm.
P.S. they set up travel for us (by our request) to the outlet mall, dont ever go there it is a waste of time and money, there is only a handful of stores.

Room Tip: The rooms looking over the park are super quiet and provide a beautiful view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We stated here in our first trip to Hawaii with a view of running the Honolulu Marathon. The hotel rooms are bested aimed at travellers seeking independence as you get a kitchenette rather than a fully serviced hotel. This was perfect for us. The hotel is situated in Waikiki and near Ala Moana, with full restaurants and shops nearby. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A suburb of Detroit
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This was just your basic hotel room, with a kitchenette- which is actually somewhat difficult to find in Honolulu without spending a fortune. It was clean, and the kitchenette does save some money on food, though it's hard to store/cook a real meal with just a 2 burner stovetop and a mini-fridge. Still, I thought the value was good for the location and the level of hotel.

Staff was extremely friendly, and checking in and out were a breeze. They put a very small hold on my card for incidentals, much less than I was expecting (it was either $20 or $25). Beds were very comfortable. Partial Ocean View room gave a very nice view of the ocean and the park. And the cafe downstairs had good coffee and breakfast, at prices that are about average for the area. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a room with a kitchen or kitchenette. Eating out in Honolulu is insanely expensive. Also, the pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I have stayed here three times over the last couple of years and absolutely love it. Close to both Waikiki and Ala Moana, and a lovely short walk through Fort Derussy Park to beach. The staff are friendly and helpful. Can't imagine I would stay in any other hotel in Waikiki.

Room Tip: It's worth the little extra for the partial ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge Ontario
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

My wife and I spent a week during Thanksgiving week. There is a tone or mood that every hotel creates not just by its ambiance but also by its interaction with guests. This place has got it right! You feel welcomed and appreciated. Staff are gracious, friendly and helpful. It's a small hotel and we enjoyed the quieter atmosphere. We had a corner suite, ocean view, with full kitchen on an upper floor. It was great. Two balconies, well equipped kitchen, living area, good sized bedroom, bath and a large closet with safe. Clean, comfortable, simple and dignified. Loved the location. You overlook Fort de Russy park. A very short walk to the beach and all the shops in Waikiki. Easy access to public transport. We walked to the Ala Moana Shopping Center in under 20 min. The concierge staff were very helpful in helping us sort out our tours and planning our week. The pool was a refreshing option after a busy day touring. There is a bar b q area where you can grill a steak etc , all well organized. Very happy holiday here.

Room Tip: The ocean side rooms are quieter and try and get an upper story for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

After extensive research on Trip Advisor, I chose this hotel for my husband and me, and couldn't be happier. As we had a 12 day stay, and also having had a night in a Honolulu airport hotel and 7 nights on Maui, we needed an economical place to stay, and this fitted the bill admirably.
We chose a studio apartment so we could self cater and to cut costs, a city view room. We received a seniors' rate (50+), so were extremely happy with the cost. The view was not so good (the garage), but luckily we were on Floor 10, so had more of an outlook. The lanai was quite small, so we didn't use it. We had enough space in the room and more than enough equipment to self cater. We did discover that the extractor fan needed to be used even when making toast, and although small, we managed to fit in what we needed in the fridge.
The pool area and the pool itself were both small, but chairs were always available and the water was warm. For shade, which my husband needs, you could either sit in one of the cabanas or drag a chair into a shady spot. My husband used the bike in the gym and was happy with that.
I was a bit concerned about the position of the hotel, imagining it being miles from anywhere, but found this not to be the case. We walked to and from Ala Moana Mall, which took about 25 minutes, but is flat so not taxing (except when lugging home groceries and shopping). As for Waikiki itself, it's close to everything, and it's not far to the beach either. We only caught a bus once, to and from the Ward Centre, and the bus stop is close to the hotel.
The front desk staff were always polite and helpful, and we organised 2 trips through Matt, the concierge, both of which were good. Our rooms were always cleaned well, but we did do our own dishes and disposed of a lot of our rubbish ourselves. I was surprised that towels were changed daily which, although nice, is not so common in hotels nowadays. As an environmental issue, I think they should actually change this and use the system that other hotels have to indicate when you'd like a towel change. Toiletries were of good quality and replenished when necessary.
We had breakfast in our room most mornings, a few lunches and most dinners. We do like our food, but would rather save our money for shopping, which, along with some R&R, was the purpose of tnis trip. We actually got most of our groceries at Foodland, at Ala Moana, a much cheaper option with much greater variety than the ABC stores.
I would recommend this hotel for anyone who is looking for a comfortable, economic option of Waikiki accommodation.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Luana Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luana Waikiki

Address: 2045 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#10 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Luana Waikiki 3.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking serene Fort DeRussy Park, Luana Waikiki is a boutique hotel located just a short stroll to Waikiki Beach, world-class shopping, and international dining at the Waikiki Gateway. Choose from a variety of exceptionally comfortable accommodations with a contemporary Hawaiian style, including studios with kitchenettes and spacious ocean view suites with full kitchens. Take advantage of our yoga in the park at 8am on wed ,sat & sun, cool folding cruise bikes to explore Oahu, and beach chairs & towels. Come see what sets Luana Waikiki apart from other Waikiki hotels! With our hospitality fee for all stays beginning September 1, 2014, Luana Waikiki allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Waikiki Shuttle (Complimentary Waikiki Shuttle Service), Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, Water in Lobby, and a Weekly Manager's Reception. You'll also enjoy the heated swimming pool,BBQ area, fitness room, coffee shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Luana Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Luana Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Luana Waikiki
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger
Luana Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luana Waikiki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.