We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice staff, good location, nice view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Luana Waikiki

Save Saved
You added Luana Waikiki to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Luana Waikiki
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2045 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special Savings - 20% Off
Ranked #19 of 82 hotels in Honolulu
A suburb of Detroit
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice staff, good location, nice view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This was just your basic hotel room, with a kitchenette- which is actually somewhat difficult to find in Honolulu without spending a fortune. It was clean, and the kitchenette does save some money on food, though it's hard to store/cook a real meal with just a 2 burner stovetop and a mini-fridge. Still, I thought the value was good for the location and the level of hotel.

Staff was extremely friendly, and checking in and out were a breeze. They put a very small hold on my card for incidentals, much less than I was expecting (it was either $20 or $25). Beds were very comfortable. Partial Ocean View room gave a very nice view of the ocean and the park. And the cafe downstairs had good coffee and breakfast, at prices that are about average for the area. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a room with a kitchen or kitchenette. Eating out in Honolulu is insanely expensive. Also, the pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

925 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    410
    375
    95
    32
    13
See reviews for
230
351
53
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I have stayed here three times over the last couple of years and absolutely love it. Close to both Waikiki and Ala Moana, and a lovely short walk through Fort Derussy Park to beach. The staff are friendly and helpful. Can't imagine I would stay in any other hotel in Waikiki.

Room Tip: It's worth the little extra for the partial ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge Ontario
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

My wife and I spent a week during Thanksgiving week. There is a tone or mood that every hotel creates not just by its ambiance but also by its interaction with guests. This place has got it right! You feel welcomed and appreciated. Staff are gracious, friendly and helpful. It's a small hotel and we enjoyed the quieter atmosphere. We had a corner suite, ocean view, with full kitchen on an upper floor. It was great. Two balconies, well equipped kitchen, living area, good sized bedroom, bath and a large closet with safe. Clean, comfortable, simple and dignified. Loved the location. You overlook Fort de Russy park. A very short walk to the beach and all the shops in Waikiki. Easy access to public transport. We walked to the Ala Moana Shopping Center in under 20 min. The concierge staff were very helpful in helping us sort out our tours and planning our week. The pool was a refreshing option after a busy day touring. There is a bar b q area where you can grill a steak etc , all well organized. Very happy holiday here.

Room Tip: The ocean side rooms are quieter and try and get an upper story for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

After extensive research on Trip Advisor, I chose this hotel for my husband and me, and couldn't be happier. As we had a 12 day stay, and also having had a night in a Honolulu airport hotel and 7 nights on Maui, we needed an economical place to stay, and this fitted the bill admirably.
We chose a studio apartment so we could self cater and to cut costs, a city view room. We received a seniors' rate (50+), so were extremely happy with the cost. The view was not so good (the garage), but luckily we were on Floor 10, so had more of an outlook. The lanai was quite small, so we didn't use it. We had enough space in the room and more than enough equipment to self cater. We did discover that the extractor fan needed to be used even when making toast, and although small, we managed to fit in what we needed in the fridge.
The pool area and the pool itself were both small, but chairs were always available and the water was warm. For shade, which my husband needs, you could either sit in one of the cabanas or drag a chair into a shady spot. My husband used the bike in the gym and was happy with that.
I was a bit concerned about the position of the hotel, imagining it being miles from anywhere, but found this not to be the case. We walked to and from Ala Moana Mall, which took about 25 minutes, but is flat so not taxing (except when lugging home groceries and shopping). As for Waikiki itself, it's close to everything, and it's not far to the beach either. We only caught a bus once, to and from the Ward Centre, and the bus stop is close to the hotel.
The front desk staff were always polite and helpful, and we organised 2 trips through Matt, the concierge, both of which were good. Our rooms were always cleaned well, but we did do our own dishes and disposed of a lot of our rubbish ourselves. I was surprised that towels were changed daily which, although nice, is not so common in hotels nowadays. As an environmental issue, I think they should actually change this and use the system that other hotels have to indicate when you'd like a towel change. Toiletries were of good quality and replenished when necessary.
We had breakfast in our room most mornings, a few lunches and most dinners. We do like our food, but would rather save our money for shopping, which, along with some R&R, was the purpose of tnis trip. We actually got most of our groceries at Foodland, at Ala Moana, a much cheaper option with much greater variety than the ABC stores.
I would recommend this hotel for anyone who is looking for a comfortable, economic option of Waikiki accommodation.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

we stayed for one night on a stopover. Got a great rate with aaa on a "studio with no kitchen" which actually had counters, dishes and a goodsized fridge.

The rom was recently updated and very nice with a great bed. Our partialnocean view was completely unobstructed over the park.

The beach is a bit far but a nice walk through the park.

If you have a late flight, there isnt a hospitality suite but you can use the bathrooms at the pool to shower. They arent great but they get the job done (unfortunately without much hot water!)

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Booked a 1-bedroom, 1 bath through owner. After extensive research to get best accommodation, best price, and best location, I found that the Outrigger Luana was a good value. There were 2 adults and 2 teens staying at this hotel/condo unit and while the King bed worked out fine for adults, the pull-out sleeper sofa was a little "rough" for the teens. The unit's bath and kitchen appeared to have been updated nicely with granite and I particularly liked the tile floors throughout. We had a nice view of Ft. DeRussy Park from our lanai and was able to view the fireworks the Friday night we were there. The front service people and valet folks were friendly and helpful and we stopped several mornings for coffee and pastry at the small downstairs restaurant. The downside was that it was a bit of a 'haul' from the center of Waikiki for us senior adults but still worth the value. I'd certainly stay there again but would probably book a larger unit if there were 4 people.

Room Tip: Higher floors are usually better no matter where you stay in Waikiki.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

This hotel was fantastic for the price! The staff were amazing, the room was good (we stayed in a POF kitchenette).

The only thing slightly negative thing I could say was the balcony door was very hard to open. But that's really the only issue we had!

Highly recommended if you don't mind being just a little bit from the main action.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Luana Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luana Waikiki

Address: 2045 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#11 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#43 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Luana Waikiki 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking serene Fort DeRussy Park, Luana Waikiki is a contemporary boutique hotel located just a short stroll to Waikiki Beach, world-class shopping, and international dining at the Waikiki Gateway. Choose from a variety of exceptionally comfortable accommodations with a contemporary Hawaiian style, including hotel rooms, studios with kitchenettes and spacious suites with full kitchens. Come see what sets Luana Waikiki apart from other Waikiki hotels! With our hospitality fee for all stays beginning August 1, 2014, Luana Waikiki allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Waikiki Shuttle (Complimentary Waikiki Shuttle Service), Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, Water in Lobby, and a Weekly Manager's Reception. You'll also enjoy the heated swimming pool, fitness room, coffee shop, rooftop restaurant and more. Take advantage of our yoga in the park at 8am on wed & sun, cool folding cruise bikes to explore Oahu, and beach chairs & towels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Luana Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Luana Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Luana Waikiki
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger
Luana Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luana Waikiki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.