We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Luana Waikiki

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Luana Waikiki to your Saves list
Luana Waikiki
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2045 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special Savings - 20% Off
Ranked #17 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Oakland, CA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great location and value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We had a great time, the staff was amazing and responsive. The value was unbeatable for Waikiki and the location was tops. Would consider staying again.

We were in room 420 and there aren't a lot of natural light, but there is a small lanai (balcony). :)

Treadmills were awful and need service. Our door no. was missing so we had moderate confusion finding our room. Microwave in room would be great since there is a fridge and kitchenette. I believe some units have them, some don't.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on a side that doesn't face the gas station. Good breakfast place downstairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

995 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    453
    394
    100
    33
    15
See reviews for
256
368
58
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

we didn't know that rooms with a kitchenette only have queen sized beds...which in reality seemed like a little bit larger than a double. When we asked about it, the front desk suggested that someone sleep on the pull out sofa. Umm...no. We figured it was only for one night, so we could make do with what we had.

The bed wasn't the most comfortable, but most importantly, the room was clean. It seemed like it had been remodeled, but it still had a bit of "old Waikiki" charm. I realize that some people might not like that...it's definitely not a luxurious hotel, but it's a practical room.

Our view overlooked the park across the street..nice, but it was quite noisy since Kalakaua is a busy street.

Since we didn't spend a lot of time in Waikiki, we probably should have stayed outside of Waikiki and thus save a few bucks in parking...but it is a convenient location. Only bad thing is their entrance. It's a bit hard to drive into/out of if there's a lot of people on the sidewalk plus the street traffic.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room, don't get one facing the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed at the Outrigger Luana Waikiki in Central Honolulu in August 2011. Right from the reservation stage the staff were great. They were all very helpful giving information and getting things done.
The hotel location is perfect, very central for visiting all the attractions and places of interest but not too close to the noise and crowds. The beach is 5 mins walk through a good park, the shopping and restaurants are less than 5 mins walk and the bus stop right outside the hotel to go to other places.
The rooms were very spacious and clean with a good kitchenette with a fridge. It would have been better if they had a microwave and a kettle for us British who like our cup of tea. Also, they did not have the ordinary English Breakfast Tea bags which we like although the staff were good enough to try and get us a couple of them when we asked. We bought things from a supermarket nearby and had breakfast in the room which was convenient but would have liked to have a microwave and kettle.
The hotel had a small cafe on the premises which was ok for light snacks and drinks. But it was easy to walk to the main area to eat.
The swimming pool was small but nice and there was also a small gym. The main plus was the staff all of them so helpful when we needed anything. We stayed there for 7 nights and enjoyed it and would not hesitate to recommend the hotel to everyone and go there again as the room rates were very good value. We were looking at a lot of hotels when we were planning our trip all the way from the UK and found the hotels in Honolulu quite expensive compared to other areas in the USA. But the Outrigger Luana was very reasonable and good value for money for the quality and convenience.

Room Tip: If you have kids, plan breakfast in the rooms and buy some stuff from the supermarket. Don't bot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Nice, clean, convenient and practical hotel for an Oahu vacation. The staff at this hotel is great. Everybody from check-in desk to valet parking attendants were awesome. Always friendly and helpful and always had a smile on. We had breakfast at their Protea Cafe and it was very good. Great service there too.
The rooms were comfortable and our 5th floor room facing the park was very quiet. Never heard any loud noises from outside or inside the bulding.
This hotel property is on Fort DeRussy Park. It's about a ten minute walk to Waikiki Beach and about four blocks from International Market Place.
Overall, I would definitely stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

good location, excellent room, nice people, no car required, would stay again and recomend
buses to everywhere within walking distance make sure you visit the everything eggs just round the corner best french pancakes (thin ones)ever!

Room Tip: park overlook was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We have been to Waikiki on many an occasion. Our recent stay at the Luana in October was exceptional, highlighted by a most accomodating front desk staff, concierge, bellman service and very attentive house-keeping. The location is excellent, close to the beach and all that the Waikiki experience offers. Our room on the 16th. floor facing Fort Derussey Park, Diamond Head and the beach afforded us a view that was nothing short of spectacular! The studio suite was handsomely appointed with a full-service kitchenette. We had the opportunity to view the one-bedroom suites for our next stay. They are equipped with full-sized kitchen appliances, ideal for longer visits or those who want to cook in. We would highly recommend this property for your consideration.

Room Tip: If you want morning sun, ask for a room facing Diamond Head; for afternoon and evening sun, ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The staff could NOT have been nicer. They were so helpful and so cheerful--just wonderful to be around.
The room was fairly good sized with a kitchenette. All tile floors which is good if you're dealing with sand, heat and humidity.

Room Tip: our room had a stinky odor. We complained and were promptly moved. I think it was likely due to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Luana Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luana Waikiki

Address: 2045 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#10 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#32 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Luana Waikiki 3.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking serene Fort DeRussy Park, Luana Waikiki is a boutique hotel located just a short stroll to Waikiki Beach, world-class shopping, and international dining at the Waikiki Gateway. Choose from a variety of exceptionally comfortable accommodations with a contemporary Hawaiian style, including studios with kitchenettes and spacious ocean view suites with full kitchens. Take advantage of our yoga in the park at 8am on wed ,sat & sun, cool folding cruise bikes to explore Oahu, and beach chairs & towels. Come see what sets Luana Waikiki apart from other Waikiki hotels! With our hospitality fee for all stays beginning September 1, 2014, Luana Waikiki allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Waikiki Shuttle (Complimentary Waikiki Shuttle Service), Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, Water in Lobby, and a Weekly Manager's Reception. You'll also enjoy the heated swimming pool,BBQ area, fitness room, coffee shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Luana Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Luana Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Luana Waikiki
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger
Luana Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luana Waikiki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.