We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Stay , quiet location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Luana Waikiki

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Luana Waikiki to your Saves list
Luana Waikiki
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2045 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special Savings - 20% Off
Ranked #11 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Stay , quiet location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

Very clean room and comfortable beds. I had a partial ocean view room , with a lovely view of the city lights at night. The pool area was nice too , not overcrowded with plenty of chairs. Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. I would highly recommend the Outrigger Luana for comfort,good location and reasonable price. Nice location next to the park and easy walk to shopping and Ala Moana centre.

Room Tip: Partial Ocean View
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,047 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    483
    412
    104
    33
    15
See reviews for
268
390
62
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

Traveled to Honolulu with my mother-in-law to celebrate her birthday. Wanted to stay in Waikiki a few days before spending the remaining with family at their houses. Did not want to be smack in the middle of Waikiki but on either far end. Great location. Directly behind Fort De Russey park area & Hale Koa Hotel. Chose a kitchenette with partial ocean view- lucky to get 12th floor with wonderful view and great amenities.

Room Tip: Pay the little extra for partial ocean view which also puts you higher, Kitchenettes well equipped a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McFarland, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

For the price you pay, you can't find a better place in Waikiki. Staff was real friendly. Didn't care for being reqired to have valet parking for $25/day, but such is life in that area of town. A tricky place to find, we got there late at night the first day and had to circle three times before finding the tiny driveway just past the Aloha station to get into this place. But after we were in the staff was accomodating, the room was clean, and sound-proofing was pretty good. Beds were quite nice also with soft sheets, which isn't always the case as we found out staying in other places on our trip.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

Service: The bell-hop and concierge were lovely and great - the concierge, Karla, helped us organise all our tours, booked our restaurants and gave us advice on where to go, etc. Excellent service! The other front desk staff were friendly and OK as well - just not a great.

Room: The room we got was on level 3 so it got pretty noisy in the mornings with the traffic outside. We couldn't really sleep and got up around 6 am - 7 am most mornings - which isn't too bad as we got to the beach early before the crowd. The room had an airconditioner but it was rather loud. The room was clean and the cleaners are lovely. The bathroom is a bit dated and had no ventilation. There was a little kitchenette area with cutlery avaiable. No cooking utentsils or stove or microwave so you can't really cook in there.

Location: The location is quite good - it's at the start of the strip next to a park so it's a bit quieter which is great. The nearby beach is a little rockier than the central beaches but it's a nice walk and not far at all to get there. Beach towels are provided. There's an ABC store close by incase you need anything. There's also a small pool on the first floor but we didn't use it - use the beach!

Room Tip: Ask for a room higher up if it's available to avoid the traffic noise in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Saskatchewan, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

My wife & I came to Honolulu for our honeymoon. I read the reviews on Tripadvisor and spoke with our travel agent, and she also recommended the Ourtrigger Luana Waikiki as it many of the features that we were looking for, such as a kitchen to prepare some quick meals, close enough to the hustle and bustle of Waikiki, but far enough away that we wouldn't be kept up all night long due to noise, and the price was more than affordable.

Upon arrival, we were greeted by the friendly bell hop/valet. We weren't sure if we were going to be able to check in early, as we had arrived about 4 hours prior to check-in time, but were very pleased when we immediately were given our room keys. Our 8th floor, studio partial-ocean view condo was very nice and clean. The view overlooking Fort DeRussy Beach Park towards the Pacific Ocean was absolutely beautiful. Our only small complaint of our room was that the air conditioning unit was a little loud, but I wouldn't have traded it for the world as it kept the room cool, even in the 38°C heat (corrected for humidity).

We visited the concierge, Angela, who was extremely knowledgeable and helpful in giving us advice for places to eat and booking us on some amazing tours. We were even able to book a few tours through her for our following week on Maui, as she was originally from the island, so she had a vast amount of knowledge on what to do and see there.

The restaurant, Protea Cafe, located just outside the lobby entrance, was excellent for a quick breakfast. They are only open for breakfast and lunch (7am to 2pm). There is not a lot of seating, but it was nice to be able to sit and chat with likewise travellers at the over-sized common table, or at one of the handful of other tables. The food was very tasty and I would highly recommend the Amazon Acai Bowl.

The Outrigger Luana Waikiki, in our mind, is in a great location, and of exception quality for the price-point. We will definitely stay here again on future trips and would highly recommend it to our family and friends.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

We arrived about 5 hours before the check in time of 3pm, but luckily we were able to get into our room a couple of hours early due to the previous occupants having already checked out.
The room itself is of a very decent size and with all amenities/facilities you'd expect. I did notice the bathroom floor was not as clean as it could have been, most notably quite a few black hairs on the floor. No room service is offered and sometimes the hallway noise was a little loud. One bed had an awful scratchy woolen blanket, the other a fluffy soft one. However, these minor room complaints did not affect our overall satisfaction with our stay seeing as this hotel is so affordable, yet just minutes by foot from the beach and central Waikiki. In fact, the hotel is situated on the quieter end of Waikiki where you still get access to all that Waikiki has to offer but might sleep a bit more soundly at night than some other hotels' guests.
Hotel staff was friendly enough and the valet parking convenient. Overall, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

I stayed at the Outrigger Luana Waikiki during a travel agent familiarIzation trip for Aubree's Travel. I try hard to write my reviews from a neutral standpoint, that can help readers and my clients to get a fair, balanced overview of the property they are researching.

If you are familiar with Waikiki, skip the next paragraph.

It is always very important that people fully realize that the Waikiki area is a big city on a beach. If your looking for empty beaches and quiet areas to enjoy the tropics, this is not the area for you. Waikiki is a busy city, with tall buildings, fronted by a lively, fun and often crowded beach. Offering high end shopping, excellent dining and entertainment. It is the gateway of sorts to a beautiful island, that boasts such tourist draws as Pearl Harbor, the Polynesian Cultural Center and the North Shore (every surfers dream) to name just a few of the gems you will find here on Oahu. Hollywood loves it, and it has been the backdrop for many loved shows and movies over the generations.

For those looking for an affordable option NEAR Waikiki Beach, I think the Outrigger Luaua Wakiki is an exceptional option. For the price range (budget/moderate) it excels.

You are greeted by the very friendly valet staff, (parking was $25/night) who were very quick and efficient. If using a shuttle or public transportation the greeting is equally as good from what I observed. The lobby is large, yet warm and inviting. Check in was a breeze. The gentleman at the front desk was extremely pleasant an informative. He remembered me later in my stay and inquired about something we had chatted about days prior. It is this sort of employee that makes a big difference and Outrigger in general does a great job at having exceptional customer service and staff.

My room was on the 8th floor, just a moments ride on the swift lobby elevator. Perfectly clean. Comfortable bed, small kitchen area with fridge and coffee maker. My room did not have a microwave. I wanted a few more pillows and they were quickly delivered after one brief request. I would say the room size was average and adequate. Wifi worked very well and was free. The private lanai (balcony) comfortably sat two. It had a nice view of the pool, city, and a peek of the ocean. If wanting to be right by the beach, I do not feel that this propery is the right choice. I will attach a picture to give you an idea how far it is from the beach. You can walk there, but it isn't just across the street. They have a gift shop and a restaurant on site and plenty of both in walking distance.

Overall, if you are on a fairly tight budget and looking for a clean property in the Wakiki area, and don't mind being away from the beach, I would highly recommend this property. Be sure to speak with your Outrigger Specialst travel agent about which property will work best for your situation, and to receive one of the many special discounts they will know about. Have a wonderful time experiencing the warm Aloha of this beautiful island!

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor to have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Luana Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luana Waikiki

Address: 2045 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#10 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#13 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Luana Waikiki 3.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking serene Fort DeRussy Park, Luana Waikiki is a boutique hotel located just a short stroll to Waikiki Beach, world-class shopping, and international dining at the Waikiki Gateway. Choose from a variety of exceptionally comfortable accommodations with a contemporary Hawaiian style, including studios with kitchenettes and spacious ocean view suites with full kitchens. Take advantage of our yoga in the park at 8am on wed ,sat & sun, cool folding cruise bikes to explore Oahu, and beach chairs & towels. Come see what sets Luana Waikiki apart from other Waikiki hotels! With our hospitality fee for all stays beginning September 1, 2014, Luana Waikiki allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Waikiki Shuttle (Complimentary Waikiki Shuttle Service), Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, Water in Lobby, and a Weekly Manager's Reception. You'll also enjoy the heated swimming pool,BBQ area, fitness room, coffee shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Luana Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Luana Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Luana Waikiki
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger
Luana Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luana Waikiki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.