We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Twin beds plus a king!!!! A rare find!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ohana Waikiki Malia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ohana Waikiki Malia to your Saves list
Ohana Waikiki Malia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2211 Kuhio Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Use Promo Code & Save Now
Ranked #53 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Spring/Houston, TX
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Twin beds plus a king!!!! A rare find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Our first view of the hotel, from the hotel garage, wasn't much to get excited about, but it got better.
We had a room with a queen bed in bedroom and 2 twin daybeds in the living room. Perfect for our 2 kids who don't like to share a bed!
There was a nice, small kitchenette.
The bathroom was large enough, but their isn't any counter space and just a small shelf to put your toiletries on. The tub/shower was about half a normal size. The only other thing was the location of the toilet paper holder......really????

Management...please add a large shelf in the bathroom to make this a more user friendly place to stay.

Garage parking is super tight!!! Great location, can walk everywhere easily.

There are lots of dining options around, and an IHOP restaurant outside the hotel lobby.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoraWeatherwax, General Manager at Ohana Waikiki Malia, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Aloha and thank you for submitting your review on tripadvisor. We are happy to read that you were pleased with our bedding arrangements in our one bedroom with kitchenette unit. I agree with you that these units are great for families.
We realize that the bathroom is lacking in shelf/counter space and that the half tub is a bit unusual. This will all be taken into consideration in future renovations.
I apologize for our parking garage as our ramps are tight. We do benefit from being in a great location close to shopping and dining.
We appreciate all your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back one day.
Mahalo,
Nora Weatherwax
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    322
    143
    37
    25
See reviews for
211
181
54
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

When we arrived, we were pleasantly greeted by the front desk staff and even received some great advice on good eats around town and things to do.

The room was clean and comfortable with firm beds--just the way I like them. I did see a small cockroach in the bathroom on the first night, but because we're in a tropical area, you have to expect that you'll come across one or more on your trip here.

Decor and finishes are dated, but everything works just fine.

The hotel also has security at nights to ensure that only hotel guests are in the guest room floors, to ensure security.

Internet in the room is free and available, except that it is only for wired connections. WiFi is only available in the lobby.

Overall, I was satisfied with my stay here and would return here in a future visit. Mahalo for a pleasant stay!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoraWeatherwax, General Manager at Ohana Waikiki Malia, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Aloha and thank you for submitting your review on tripadvisor. We are happy to read that you were pleasantly greeted and given great advice on good eats.
It will be nice to report to our housekeeping department that you found your room clean and comfortable. Thank you for your understanding of our tropical climate here in Hawaii. Safety is a priority here at the OHANA Waikiki Malia hence the night security.
We apologize for not having WiFi in our guest rooms. We are working on getting that installed.
Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back again one day.

Nora Weatherwax
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed on the 12th floor for 4 nights. The hotel was certainly NOT the cleanest - some mold in the bathroom and hairs left from the previous occupants (gross!!). But, its location to the shops and restaurants was great especially for the price (we booked through expedia). We didn't spend much time in the hotel room so it met our needs. If you're looking to go to Waikiki Beach every day of your trip, I'd recommend finding an hotel closer.

Room Tip: There is definitely street noise even on the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoraWeatherwax, General Manager at Ohana Waikiki Malia, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Aloha and thank you for submitting your review on tripadvisor. Please accept our apology for the unacceptable condition in which you found your room. We are going through retraining sessions with our housekeepers regarding this. We do have a great location and we are a good value. We are glad that your needs were met. Thank you for your valuable feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back one day.
Nora Weatherwax
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, VA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

First the good: clean room, reasonably spacious, location is fine as long as you don't mind being a few long blocks from the beach. The main plus is that the price is right. Some big negatives: no Wi-Fi in the rooms, And the front desk that just can't get its act together. I waited over two hours for a room when many people after me were checked in. I was told it would be before 3 PM but had to beg to get a room at 3:15. Turns out there were rooms all along, they just didn't change my assignment. Weak!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoraWeatherwax, General Manager at Ohana Waikiki Malia, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Aloha and thank you for submitting your review on tripadvisor. Please accept our apology for the unnecessary wait you endured while checking into your room. We will be working closely with the front desk staff to ensure that this does not happen again.
We also apologize for not having WiFi in our rooms. We have plans to install this soon.
We are glad that you found our rooms clean and spacious and that you found our location convenient. Thank you for recognizing our value.
We appreciate your feedback.
Mahalo,
Nora Weatherwax
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

we booked thru a travel agent. She didnt really recommend it as it was a few blocks from Waikiki Beach, but I wanted a cheaper priced hotel.
in the end, the hotel was actually well located, well priced and had great facilities.
certainly good value and would stay there again. the only downside is that it doesnt have a pool and bar area to lounge around in, but hey- there are plenty of other hotels you can do that in

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoraWeatherwax, General Manager at Ohana Waikiki Malia, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Aloha and thank you for submitting your review on tripadvisor. We are happy to read that your found our property well located, well priced and with great facilities. We are a good value and would love to have you stay with us again. We do have a pool with a bar and we also have pools at our sister hotels, the OHANA Waikiki East and the OHANA Waikiki West that are available for our guests to use.
Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back one day.
Nora Weatherwax
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Got my room on Priceline for 6 nights. This was a great location for my budget. The hotel needs a little work and the amenities are nothing special. (Embarrassing excuse for a pool, no special restaurants, terrible parking.) However, when you are 5 minutes from the beach, restaurants and bars, you can't go wrong. We were close to everything we needed and to save an extra $200 per night I'd say it is definitely worth it.

Room Tip: Try to stay away from a parking lot view. Our lanai was overlooking the entrance to the parking gar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoraWeatherwax, General Manager at Ohana Waikiki Malia, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Aloha and thank you for submitting your review on tripadvisor. We appreciate your recognition of our value for our location. We realize that we have a small pool but we were very limited in space in which to put one. We do have the IHOP (International House of Pancakes) restaurant in our lobby which works great for guests, especially those with families. Please accept our apology for our garage as it does have narrow ramps. It is great to read that you found your stay with us worth it due to location of the beach, restaurants and bars. Thank you for your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back one day.
Mahalo,
Nora Weatherwax
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We have been travelling to Hawaii for the past 25years and have stayed at the Malia most of the times. We have always found the staff very welcoming, helpfull, friendly and will go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable. A lot of the staff have been there from the first time we stayed with them. Our last trip was a 23day stay and loved every moment of it. It is on the bus route and only a few blocks away from the lovely beach of Waikiki. Our accomodation was a 1 bedroom with a kitchette. A little home away from home. It was clean spacious and the hotel maids were accomodating. We certainly book with them again.

Room Tip: Book a room facing towards the sea. they have fireworks every Friday night and they are a great sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoraWeatherwax, General Manager at Ohana Waikiki Malia, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Aloha and thank you for submitting your review on tripadvisor. Wow 25 years!!! That is so exciting! We are so happy to read how much our staff helped to make you feel like members of our Malia family. I love your description of our one bedroom units with kitchenette as “a little home away from home”. Thank you so much for this fantastic review. We look forward to welcoming you back “home” one day soon.
Mahalo nui loa!
Nora Weatherwax
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ohana Waikiki Malia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ohana Waikiki Malia

Address: 2211 Kuhio Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ohana Waikiki Malia 3*
Number of rooms: 327
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ohana Waikiki Malia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ohana Waikiki Malia Honolulu
Ohana Waikiki Malia Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ohana Waikiki Malia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.