We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location for the Price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ohana Waikiki Malia

Save Saved
You added Ohana Waikiki Malia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ohana Waikiki Malia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2211 Kuhio Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 82 hotels in Honolulu
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Location for the Price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Got my room on Priceline for 6 nights. This was a great location for my budget. The hotel needs a little work and the amenities are nothing special. (Embarrassing excuse for a pool, no special restaurants, terrible parking.) However, when you are 5 minutes from the beach, restaurants and bars, you can't go wrong. We were close to everything we needed and to save an extra $200 per night I'd say it is definitely worth it.

Room Tip: Try to stay away from a parking lot view. Our lanai was overlooking the entrance to the parking gar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoraWeatherwax, General Manager at Ohana Waikiki Malia, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Aloha and thank you for submitting your review on tripadvisor. We appreciate your recognition of our value for our location. We realize that we have a small pool but we were very limited in space in which to put one. We do have the IHOP (International House of Pancakes) restaurant in our lobby which works great for guests, especially those with families. Please accept our apology for our garage as it does have narrow ramps. It is great to read that you found your stay with us worth it due to location of the beach, restaurants and bars. Thank you for your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back one day.
Mahalo,
Nora Weatherwax
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    132
    288
    126
    37
    21
See reviews for
183
163
47
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We have been travelling to Hawaii for the past 25years and have stayed at the Malia most of the times. We have always found the staff very welcoming, helpfull, friendly and will go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable. A lot of the staff have been there from the first time we stayed with them. Our last trip was a 23day stay and loved every moment of it. It is on the bus route and only a few blocks away from the lovely beach of Waikiki. Our accomodation was a 1 bedroom with a kitchette. A little home away from home. It was clean spacious and the hotel maids were accomodating. We certainly book with them again.

Room Tip: Book a room facing towards the sea. they have fireworks every Friday night and they are a great sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoraWeatherwax, General Manager at Ohana Waikiki Malia, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Aloha and thank you for submitting your review on tripadvisor. Wow 25 years!!! That is so exciting! We are so happy to read how much our staff helped to make you feel like members of our Malia family. I love your description of our one bedroom units with kitchenette as “a little home away from home”. Thank you so much for this fantastic review. We look forward to welcoming you back “home” one day soon.
Mahalo nui loa!
Nora Weatherwax
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nambucca Heads, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We booked through Virgin Australia's Velocity Rewards. Extremely pleased with the room being in the refurbished section and away from the elevators. Good size room for our requirements. Didn't use the pool (very small) or the carpark which appeared to be most suitable for small cars. The desk staff are all very helpful and welcoming. Housemaids are all friendly,willing to please and appreciative of gratuities. We found the location suited us as we loved to walk and discover the Malls and Markets scattered around the neighborhood. A bonus was being able to access the Red Bus Route at any time by just showing our room key card for the Hotel. Waikiki Beach is but a short stroll away too. The refridgerators are dated and in need of replacement however, When we called down to the desk regarding the fridge not cooling properly a maintenance person was at the door within ten minutes and very quickly had the unit working much better. Would definately stay here again when visiting Hawaii.

Room Tip: Request a room in the Malia Tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoraWeatherwax, General Manager at Ohana Waikiki Malia, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Aloha and thank you for submitting your review on tripadvisor. We appreciate all your positive comments regarding our rooms and our employees. It is our goal that our guests are treated with the Aloha Spirit by our employees. Thank you for validating that. We are proud of our location as it is so very convenient to shopping and dining. Our free trolley passes (your room keys) are also a great way to travel around Waikiki and the Ala Moana Shopping Center. We have a great maintenance staff here at our hotel and they are quick to respond to all of our guests needs. Thank you again for acknowledging our awesome employees.
We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back one day soon.
Mahalo,
Nora Weatherwax
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We were in Hawaii for 6 days and stayed here the entire time. We loved it! The room was clean and had more than enough space for the 4 adults in our party. Our beds were very comfortable and, though the rooms are a little dated, we had an extremely comfortable stay. When we got there, our Internet connection was not working, so we called the desk and someone was there almost immediately and had the problem fixed in less than 5 minutes. Housekeeping was great and even did our dishes for us each day, which we were not necessarily expecting. We loved the location of the hotel...not right on the beach, but close to pretty much everything! The only things that were a little bit annoying during our stay were the lack of wifi, the slow elevators, and the parking garage. No wifi and slow elevators were only minor inconveniences, but the parking garage is, without a doubt, the worst parking garage I have ever seen. Before our vacation, we read reviews that talked about the awful parking garage and we were prepared for the worst, and then it ended up being even worse that we were expecting. It was such a tight squeeze to fit in any of the spots, back out, turn, pretty much anything you would have to do in a parking garage was difficult and miserable. So, if you're planning on renting a car, be aware that it won't be a pleasant experience. Other than that, I would whole-heartedly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Get a room that is on a higher floor, otherwise you can hear some noise from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, MS
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We had a one night layover in Honolulu and had previously had a bad experience with the hotels located near the airport which are over-priced and not that nice. We took a chance with a low-ball bid on Priceline for Wiki Central and were not disappointed. This is an older hotel and the furnishing somewhat dated, but the staff is extraordinarily helpful and cheerful and the location perfect for our needs. The maid saw me struggling with the bags as we left our hotel room, and immediately dropped what she was doing to help me with them. Denny's is across the street and the Food Pantry down the street has a food court with good, cheap eats, something hard to find in Hawaii.

Room Tip: Since we purchased our room through Priceline we didn't exactly get a room with a nice view. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Vey clean, king size bed, all updated. Stayed in the remodeled tower part of hotel. Housekeeping very nice. Front desk staff wonderful and very helpful, My camera died before a wedding, and I asked where I could go to buy a new charger, and they brought out a couple of boxes of chargers that people had left over time and had one that fit my camera (had a very unique charge port). Lifesaving! The hotel is on a busy street, stay up as high as you can for less noise. We only found the noise on Fri-Sat nights to be louder than normal (drunks on the sidewalk) but it wasn't unbearable. The bad thing: no microwave. Really could have used this. We did get a fridge, which should be standard in all hotel rooms today anyways. Food is high in Hawaii no matter which way you buy it, but having a microwave would have helped too. We couldn't see paying an extra $20 a night (minimum) for a kitchenette, so it comes down to spending 100 or more for a few kitchen supplies or eating cold food. Room faced the street at corner of building, so we even got a mountain view, which was pretty. Face it, you're in Hawaii, it's beautiful almost everywhere! Three blocks to the beach, seems a little long because it is not 3 direct blocks to the south, you have to know where to go for the public access points. We did not use the pool while we were there, we went to the ocean.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tulsa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We just returned from this week. Very nice stay but older hotel. clean except for a few strange hairs when we entered the bathroom but after that room always well cleaned. Old building with old features. The Internet in room would not use wifi which makes it hard to use iPad on vacation. Staff were very good and helped in everyway asked. On a whole our family enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ohana Waikiki Malia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ohana Waikiki Malia

Address: 2211 Kuhio Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ohana Waikiki Malia 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Otel, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Ohana Waikiki Malia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ohana Waikiki Malia Honolulu
Ohana Waikiki Malia Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ohana Waikiki Malia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.