We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ideal location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ohana Waikiki Malia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ohana Waikiki Malia to your Saves list
Ohana Waikiki Malia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2211 Kuhio Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Use Promo Code & Save Now
Ranked #54 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“ideal location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We have been travelling to Hawaii for the past 25years and have stayed at the Malia most of the times. We have always found the staff very welcoming, helpfull, friendly and will go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable. A lot of the staff have been there from the first time we stayed with them. Our last trip was a 23day stay and loved every moment of it. It is on the bus route and only a few blocks away from the lovely beach of Waikiki. Our accomodation was a 1 bedroom with a kitchette. A little home away from home. It was clean spacious and the hotel maids were accomodating. We certainly book with them again.

Room Tip: Book a room facing towards the sea. they have fireworks every Friday night and they are a great sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoraWeatherwax, General Manager at Ohana Waikiki Malia, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Aloha and thank you for submitting your review on tripadvisor. Wow 25 years!!! That is so exciting! We are so happy to read how much our staff helped to make you feel like members of our Malia family. I love your description of our one bedroom units with kitchenette as “a little home away from home”. Thank you so much for this fantastic review. We look forward to welcoming you back “home” one day soon.
Mahalo nui loa!
Nora Weatherwax
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    319
    142
    37
    25
See reviews for
210
179
54
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nambucca Heads, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We booked through Virgin Australia's Velocity Rewards. Extremely pleased with the room being in the refurbished section and away from the elevators. Good size room for our requirements. Didn't use the pool (very small) or the carpark which appeared to be most suitable for small cars. The desk staff are all very helpful and welcoming. Housemaids are all friendly,willing to please and appreciative of gratuities. We found the location suited us as we loved to walk and discover the Malls and Markets scattered around the neighborhood. A bonus was being able to access the Red Bus Route at any time by just showing our room key card for the Hotel. Waikiki Beach is but a short stroll away too. The refridgerators are dated and in need of replacement however, When we called down to the desk regarding the fridge not cooling properly a maintenance person was at the door within ten minutes and very quickly had the unit working much better. Would definately stay here again when visiting Hawaii.

Room Tip: Request a room in the Malia Tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoraWeatherwax, General Manager at Ohana Waikiki Malia, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Aloha and thank you for submitting your review on tripadvisor. We appreciate all your positive comments regarding our rooms and our employees. It is our goal that our guests are treated with the Aloha Spirit by our employees. Thank you for validating that. We are proud of our location as it is so very convenient to shopping and dining. Our free trolley passes (your room keys) are also a great way to travel around Waikiki and the Ala Moana Shopping Center. We have a great maintenance staff here at our hotel and they are quick to respond to all of our guests needs. Thank you again for acknowledging our awesome employees.
We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back one day soon.
Mahalo,
Nora Weatherwax
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We were in Hawaii for 6 days and stayed here the entire time. We loved it! The room was clean and had more than enough space for the 4 adults in our party. Our beds were very comfortable and, though the rooms are a little dated, we had an extremely comfortable stay. When we got there, our Internet connection was not working, so we called the desk and someone was there almost immediately and had the problem fixed in less than 5 minutes. Housekeeping was great and even did our dishes for us each day, which we were not necessarily expecting. We loved the location of the hotel...not right on the beach, but close to pretty much everything! The only things that were a little bit annoying during our stay were the lack of wifi, the slow elevators, and the parking garage. No wifi and slow elevators were only minor inconveniences, but the parking garage is, without a doubt, the worst parking garage I have ever seen. Before our vacation, we read reviews that talked about the awful parking garage and we were prepared for the worst, and then it ended up being even worse that we were expecting. It was such a tight squeeze to fit in any of the spots, back out, turn, pretty much anything you would have to do in a parking garage was difficult and miserable. So, if you're planning on renting a car, be aware that it won't be a pleasant experience. Other than that, I would whole-heartedly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Get a room that is on a higher floor, otherwise you can hear some noise from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, MS
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We had a one night layover in Honolulu and had previously had a bad experience with the hotels located near the airport which are over-priced and not that nice. We took a chance with a low-ball bid on Priceline for Wiki Central and were not disappointed. This is an older hotel and the furnishing somewhat dated, but the staff is extraordinarily helpful and cheerful and the location perfect for our needs. The maid saw me struggling with the bags as we left our hotel room, and immediately dropped what she was doing to help me with them. Denny's is across the street and the Food Pantry down the street has a food court with good, cheap eats, something hard to find in Hawaii.

Room Tip: Since we purchased our room through Priceline we didn't exactly get a room with a nice view. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Vey clean, king size bed, all updated. Stayed in the remodeled tower part of hotel. Housekeeping very nice. Front desk staff wonderful and very helpful, My camera died before a wedding, and I asked where I could go to buy a new charger, and they brought out a couple of boxes of chargers that people had left over time and had one that fit my camera (had a very unique charge port). Lifesaving! The hotel is on a busy street, stay up as high as you can for less noise. We only found the noise on Fri-Sat nights to be louder than normal (drunks on the sidewalk) but it wasn't unbearable. The bad thing: no microwave. Really could have used this. We did get a fridge, which should be standard in all hotel rooms today anyways. Food is high in Hawaii no matter which way you buy it, but having a microwave would have helped too. We couldn't see paying an extra $20 a night (minimum) for a kitchenette, so it comes down to spending 100 or more for a few kitchen supplies or eating cold food. Room faced the street at corner of building, so we even got a mountain view, which was pretty. Face it, you're in Hawaii, it's beautiful almost everywhere! Three blocks to the beach, seems a little long because it is not 3 direct blocks to the south, you have to know where to go for the public access points. We did not use the pool while we were there, we went to the ocean.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tulsa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We just returned from this week. Very nice stay but older hotel. clean except for a few strange hairs when we entered the bathroom but after that room always well cleaned. Old building with old features. The Internet in room would not use wifi which makes it hard to use iPad on vacation. Staff were very good and helped in everyway asked. On a whole our family enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

I was here for business and it was a pleasant 20 minute walk to the Hawaii Convention Centre. Handy ABC store across the road. The sports bar on the ground floor was a bit of a dive and quite loud, but in my room on the 8th floor, the noise didn't bother me. It was great to have a balcony. My room faced the street, not the ocean, but it was still a reasonable outlook. Super housekeeping staff - really friendly and kept the room in a good state. Front desk was a bit random - sometimes fabulous, sometimes a bit unfriendly. Internet access limited to lobby which I always complain about - I think in 2013, free wifi in hotel rooms should be standard. Also no wifi (even at cost) in room, only cable access which doesn't work if you don't have the right adaptor with you. Location - close to beach, shops; hotel organised tours which I didn't use but plenty of guests did and seemed happy.

Room Tip: higher is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ohana Waikiki Malia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ohana Waikiki Malia

Address: 2211 Kuhio Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ohana Waikiki Malia 3*
Number of rooms: 327
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Ohana Waikiki Malia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ohana Waikiki Malia Honolulu
Ohana Waikiki Malia Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ohana Waikiki Malia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.