We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place & value!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ohana Waikiki Malia

Save Saved
You added Ohana Waikiki Malia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ohana Waikiki Malia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2211 Kuhio Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Use Promo Code & Save Now
Ranked #54 of 82 hotels in Honolulu
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place & value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We booked this hotel based on the suggestion of a travel agent and knew nothing about it except it was 3 blocks from the beach. We chose it mainly because of price. Boy, were we ever pleased! The room was plenty big for the 2 of us. We had a beautiful oceanview. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom and amenitied were good. The hotel staff couldn't be nicer. They helped with anything we asked for. There is also a tour desk in the lobby with very helpful staff even if you are asking questions not related to their tours. And there is an IHOP in the building which was very convenient for breakfast. I also used the hot tub and pool (the pool is small). Their is also a bar their which we did not visit. I would definately stay there again if we visit Honolulu.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoraWeatherwax, General Manager at Ohana Waikiki Malia, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for submitting your review to tripadvisor. We are delighted to read that you book our hotel on a suggestion and were pleased at what you received. Our rooms average 310 square feet which makes for a nice comfy size. Our hotel staff is constantly looking for ways to please and service our guests. It is good to be able to let them know that their efforts were appreciated.

I am glad you were able to use our pool and hot tub. This is something that was just added to our hotel about a year or so ago. Be sure to check out our bar when you do return as it is energizing and fun!

We are please to have the International House of Pancakes, IHOP, in our hotel as a full service restaurant, which indeed, does make breakfast quite conveinent.

Mahalo again for your review and for your support of our hotel.

Nora Weatherwax
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    132
    288
    126
    37
    21
See reviews for
183
163
47
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel at great location. Rooms are cleaned to perfection. Front desk really helpful! Stayed at city view room at 17 floor. It was pretty noisy with opened window. Overall it was great. It was better than expected .

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoraWeatherwax, General Manager at Ohana Waikiki Malia, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Aloha!

Thank you for your fantastic review of our hotel. I will be sure to let our housekeepers know of how your felt regarding the cleaniness of your room. Our front desk staff is constantly looking for ways to be of service to our guests. Thank you for acknowledging them. We are so happy that your expectations were met!

Mahalo, (thank you) for your support,

Nora Weatherwax
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

I wasn't too comfortable in this hotel as the pillows were flat, the sheets were ok, and the bed itself didn't have a nice clean feeling. The staff were great. I didn't try the food in the resort. I liked how it was close enough to the strip, and there was this canal that i could go for a run around in the mornings. It was my first time in hawaii and it was great. The pool was great too although you are not allowed to bring drinks to it and there is a bar right beside it which is kinda weird.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoraWeatherwax, General Manager at Ohana Waikiki Malia, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for submitting your review on tripadvisor. I apologize for the experience you had with the flat pillows and are in the process of having our housekeeping department change out any flat pillows that are found.

We appreciate your comment regarding our great staff and our conveinent location. We are also very happy that you were able to have a great first time trip to Hawaii.

It's nice to read that you found our pool to be great. Our bar that is right next to our pool is also our pool bar which is why we do not allow drinks to be bought to the pool area.

Mahalo (thank you) for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your support.

Nora Weatherwax
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte, Minas Gerais, Brazil
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Among many expensive hotels in Honolulu, this hotel offers an excellent service at a nice location - four blocks from Waikiki beach. There is a small pool, complimentary wireless. The rooms could be bigger.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoraWeatherwax, General Manager at Ohana Waikiki Malia, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Aloha! Thank you for submitting your review to tripadvisor. It is very rewarding to read that we were able to offer excellent service. It is our goal to meet each and every guest's expectations. This cannot be done without the fantastic team that we have working at the OHANA Waikiki Malia. From the time that your are greeted by our bellmen, to the friendly, cheerful check in, to your interaction with our housekeepers and maintenance personal - all of this is done with the spirit of Aloha.

Mahalo (thank you) for your posting your satisfaction and support.
Nora Weatherwax
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I stayed here in early January 2013 for 6 nights. The room was always clean, the housekeeping staff were great. Although the rooms have not been renovated in a very long time, and are very dated, all was maintained well, and was clean, neat, tidy and in working order.

There was an issue when I checked in with my room door key, (a new security card system). The front desk staff and the maintenance staff tried to quickly resolve the issue for me.

What I liked best about this hotel, that it was located near but not on top of the main Waikiki strip, it had a bar, pool, spa, pizza outlet and iHOP all in the same block for easy convenience.

The only thing that I would have liked, would be access to wifi in my room. Although it was free in the lobby, bar, and iHOP, it would have been useful in my room.

I also had requested a high floor, as this hotel is located on busy Kuhio Avenue, which has a lot of street traffic and noise.

I will definately be back. Thanks for a great stay.

Room Tip: Request a high floor, street noise can be annoying
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoraWeatherwax, General Manager at Ohana Waikiki Malia, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Aloha!
Thank you for submitting your review to tripadvisor. We especially appreciate your comments regarding the cleanliness of your room as our housekeeping staff is always striving to maintain our hotel standards. Hearing that the room was maintained well is also a reflection on our maintenance department – something that I will be sure to share with all.

I would like to take a moment to explain our hotel. The OHANA Waikiki Malia consists of two buildings. One is the Malia Tower and the other is the Luana Wing.
The Malia Tower rooms consist of two categories, City View and Standard. Both of the categories have either two double beds or one king bed. The Malia Tower underwent a 6 million dollar room renovation in December of 2009. This renovation included our elevator landings and lobby.

The Luana Wing consists of our one bedroom rooms. The rooms have either a queen bed in the bedroom or two twin beds. The living room has either two punee beds (twin beds) or a queen size sofa bed. Every one bedroom has a kitchenette area that has either a two burner stove or a microwave. The Luana Wing just underwent a refurbishment in November of 2012. We installed new room and corridor carpeting, new bed coverings and two new dressers in each room. We did not change out the rest of the furniture as they are still in good condition but can look as you mention, dated.

It is good to hear that you found our location and amenities convenient. The International House of Pancakes (IHOP) has been in our hotel since 2006. We were thrilled to have added the pool, spa, bar and pizza outlet in September of 2011.

I can understand your request for in room Wi-Fi, something we are working on. We do have complimentary hard wired internet in our rooms. All of our city view rooms are located on the higher floors which can be less noisy.

Mahalo (thank you), for your positive review and support. We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Nora Weatherwax
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Ridge, Canada
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

The front line staff are the tonesetters for any establishment. We were always greeted with friendly smiles and sense of welcome. The staff was always ready to assist with directions and offered transportation ideas. We stayed for 14 days and housekeeping terrific. I would definitely go back to this hotel and would recommend. The only disappointment was the view from our room was bad and the tub was small if you needed one. Aloha

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoraWeatherwax, General Manager at Ohana Waikiki Malia, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Aloha and thank you for submitting your positive review on tripadvisor. We especially appreciate your comments regarding our front line staff and housekeeping staff. It is our goal to always express a sense of welcome to everyone that stays with us.
Our standard rooms do not have much of a view but our city view rooms have a wonderful view of the Waikiki walkways and mountains.

Mahalo (thank you) again for your review.

Nora Weatherwax
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We have been faithfully staying at the Malia for many years, as the kamaaina rate has been very affordable. We were not able to get that rate two times this year, and had to bite the bullet to pay a much higher rate. ON TOP OF THAT, my wife and I paid for the room, but when my daughter joined us, making the guest count now three people, WE HAD TO PAY AN EXTRA $30.00 per night for our daughter. This makes it a very expensive way to wash an extra towel, or change a sheet at the end of the stay, and is hard for us to justify that additional expense. Maybe we will be able to stay at a 5-star hotel with a kamaaina rate for the same price in the future. THINK ABOUT IT!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ohana Waikiki Malia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ohana Waikiki Malia

Address: 2211 Kuhio Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#54 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ohana Waikiki Malia 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Ohana Waikiki Malia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ohana Waikiki Malia Honolulu
Ohana Waikiki Malia Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ohana Waikiki Malia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.