We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very close to the beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2552 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #48 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Chico, California
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Very close to the beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2007

We booked a last-minute trip to Honolulu and ended up staying at this hotel for 5 nights. The hotel is very nice and Waikiki Beach is literally across the street. We had paid for a garden-view room, but when we got there they had automatically upgraded us to an ocean-view room which was very nice. The staff were very polite and accomodating.
We did a package deal with the hotel that included free buffet breakfast every morning. I thought the buffet breakfast was okay (the scrambled eggs were gross) and my husband liked the custom omelette station. There is a pool with a bar near it on the third floor (the Moana Terrace) with a view of the beach below - the view is nice, but the drinks there are pretty crummy and expensive. I only mention it because it's a nice place to sip a drink and watch the sun go down.
Parking at the hotel is expensive (as it is with other hotels in this area). We paid $25 a day for valet parking. It's cheaper if you self-park, but harder to do in their small parking garage. Unless you plan on driving all over the island, pass on getting a rental car. We found that most of the things we wanted to do we could get there by walking or by taking a shuttle bus. A lot of the tour companies picked us up at our hotel, so we really only used our rental car for driving around the island one day and getting to and from the airport.

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,745 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    792
    1,180
    546
    156
    71
See reviews for
664
1,029
110
301
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (665)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2007

Ideally located across the street from the beach, the recently renovated (partially) Waikiki Beach Marriott is a safe bet for a nice hotel. If possible, ask for a “makai” (ocean side) room, as the mauna (mountain) tower has not been fully renovated (as of my last visit). Being a large hotel, check in/out can be tedious and arduous, or it can be a tropical breeze—depending on the busloads of tourist that may be in line. Other than the most expensive hotels, almost everything is Waikiki is a a little bit “tired.” But I find the rooms here to be of moderate quality and finish, if they have been part of the recent remodel. All rooms that I have experienced have thin walls. Enjoy evening cocktails as you watch the sun set from the ocean view pool deck located a few floors above street level, or walk across the street for the nightly torch lighting and hula performances. I give the hotel only 3 stars because I think there are better values out there. I paid $125 for my last single room, which was probably a lower than average rate.

Stayed December 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2007

We stayed at the Marriott Waikiki Feb 14-17, 2007. Because I had read reviews about noise at this hotel, I e mailed them to request a quiet room on a higher floor. They responded quickly and promised to honor my request. We were completely satisfied. The beds were really comfortable. The room was decorated nicely. We had a full view of Diamond Head out our sliding doors and a partial view of the ocean. The air conditioner on the roof of the building across the street that another Trip Advisor contributor complained about was below our balcony. We could hear it, but we felt it served to muffle the sounds of traffic that one can not escape in most Waikiki hotel rooms. We have stayed at many hotels in Waikiki (all the Sheratons, Hilton, Outriggers, Embassy Suites, etc). Waikiki is a busy place; it is somewhat unreasonable to expect a room in the middle of a busy city to be quiet. We found the Marriott to be as good or better than other hotels. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Liked — Beds, location
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sierra foothills CA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2007

Stayed 5 nights through Pleasant holidays which included partial ocean view upgrade and 2 breakfast buffets each morning. We were in the rear tower which made it tough to see the ocean without hanging over the railing but we weren't in the room enough for this to matter. The breakfast has many items and was delicious but I dont usually gorge myself in the morning so wouldn't pay 20 bucks or so for it. Drink service around the pools was nonexistent for us . I went up to the bar and the bartender would only give me one drink at a time so had to deliver wifes then go back and sign again for mine. Do not stay on back side of front tower that is where air conditioner and parking lot is. The temp in our room was perfect day and night I dont even know if the air was on or not, never heard anything. Our departure was at midnight and we cou;ld access our luggage to change but were not informed of a hospitality room. We arrived late also, 11:30pm by the time we got situated, Tiki bar next door saved the day for food and drinks. After a hike to top of Diamond Head we stopped in to LuLu's on the corner. We ordered lunch and 2 beers. Lunch arrived before the waitress could walk 20 feet for the beers. ( the place was almost empty) She then informed us one of the beers we ordered was all out. We finished lunch before she could return with a replacement. Way to hang loose baby!
Our room was very quiet, never knew we had neighbors. Elevator service was fine although sometimes funky. Once while descending just as we got to the first floor the elevator suddenly shot upwards and got to the 25th floor before we could stop it. I believe disneyland has a similiar ride.
The staff and housekeeping were very friendly, I borrowed the maids vacuum cleaner to suck the air out of my space bags!
No need for a car although one should rent one for a day and go to the north shore. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again, good place and location

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2007

I stayed at the Marriott Waikiki back in August 2006. I used my Marriott points for 4 nights, and paid for 2 nights. Although it was a little pricey, it was worth every penny. We had an awesome ocean view room with the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. The location was perfect too..you could walk almost anywhere you wanted to go, or conveniently get a taxi out front. The best part of this hotel was the concirge--Curt. He works at other Marriott properties on the island as well and he took care of everything we needed. I was impressed by the service at this Marriott. I would stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Liked — The beds!
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2007

Stayed here Feb 2007 and overall liked the hotel.

The hotel is just across the street from the beach and perfect location for shopping. The bed was probably the most comfortable hotel bed I have slept in.

The breakfast buffet was very good with a wide selection.

The hotel is older and does show some wear and tear and its decor is outdated. The pool is about the size of a small backyard pool.

I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2007
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2007

I recently returned from a stay, mid January at the Marriott
Waikiki which was a major disappointment. Although the
restaurants and shops on the first floor were good, the
rooms for the price were substandard. Our room had
furniture that was old and very beat up, the bathroom was old,
housekeeping showed up every day after 2 pm, there was no blow dryer in our room and the help wasn't going out of their
way to offer "aloha spirit" in any way. The Hilton Hawaiian Village
which I have stayed at in the past is a far superior hotel at a
better price.

Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa

Address: 2552 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#17 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#31 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#39 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#40 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 1310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WAIKIKI BEACH MARRIOTT RESORT & SPA fronts the best stretch of Waikiki Beach. Conveniently located in the heart of Waikiki, the hotel offers 1,310 refurbished guest rooms and suites with private lanai providing spectacular views of world-famous Diamond Head and Waikiki Beach. Other amenities include Kuhio Beach Grill, featuring the best in Pacific Rim cuisine; Sansei Seafood Restaurant & Sushi Bar and d.k Steak House; Arancino di Mare Italian Restaurant; newly redesigned Moana Terrace, offering live Hawaiian entertainment nightly; Seattle’s Best Coffee; Paul Brown’s Spa Olakino * Salon; a surf school; two freshwater, heated swimming pools; 10-person whirlpool; new 3,000 sq. ft. 24-hour fitness center; business center with 24-hour Internet access; high-speed and wireless Internet access throughout the resort’s guest rooms and public spaces; shops and boutiques; and Hawaiian cultural activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Marriott, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waikiki Beach Marriott Hotel Honolulu
Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort And Spa
Marriott Waikiki Beach
Marriott Honolulu
Honolulu Marriott
Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.