We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2552 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #48 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
130 hotel reviews
Reviews in 129 cities Reviews in 129 cities
448 helpful votes 448 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2005

This was the perfect hotel choice for our Waikiki vacation. It's nothing fancy, but a really good hotel. Rate was so reasonable! Very clean. Lots of services. Helpful staff. Great location. Some might want to be right on ocean, but it's right across the street. Only minor problem was elevators were slow...but it's a problem they know about and are working on. We stay here again, with no second thoughts! (if you're at Marriott on Tuesdays, I think, be sure to catch the Hawaiian music on the patio...it was wonderful!)

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    722
    1,086
    485
    137
    63
See reviews for
598
940
104
267
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (581)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2005

Beautiful lobby. Very small, dirty rooms. Uncomfortable beds. Refrigerator did not work well. Key cards for rooms and parking garage (at $14 parking per day) worked sporadically. Over 30 stories and 700 rooms, but most days only 3 elevators worked, computers "down" on check out so no bill to approve and they overcharged after we left. Have disputed the charges. Can not recommend this hotel and will never stay there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, New York
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2005

What a hotel across the street from the beach right in the heart of Waikii. We were upgraded to a Jr. Suite on the 30th floor. What a view. The room was huge. I appreciated the coffee maker. We were here 8/14-8/16. this is a very busy hotel. Dont use the shutle from the airport to get here, it takes too long. They have self parking and Valet parking. The location of this hotel is the best. Seatles Best Coffee is in the lobby. WolfGang Puck's express is across the street. I recommend this hotel to anyone who is staying in Honol.

Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2005

We stayed here for three nights before our NCL Cruise. The room was spotless and had a great view from the 22nd floor. We never waited more than two minutes for the elev. and we were in the P Tower. The beds were the most comfortable hotels beds we ever slept in. Yes, the bathroom is small but there is a separate sink and vanity area. Perfectly functional. Free Lei making class three times a week in lobby. Great breakfast buffet, with wonderful Japanese selections, although I thought it was a little expensive for breakfast, $19.99 I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2005

Personally, the fact that this hotel is ranked 7th in Hawaii on this website says it all. Hawaii, or Oahu to be precise, simply lacks good hotels. I forgot the name of the tower, but I stayed on the 21st floor in the tower close to the beach. While the room was quite spacious, it was completely tasteless. Someone has to get the whole "tropical" theme decor right!! The elevator was a nightmare. Even with 5 or 6 elevator banks, there was a constant line of people waiting to run into the the next available elevator. I can see how Marriot wants to maximize their own profit by creating as many rooms as possible, but c'mon... waiting on line to catch an elevator is not what I look for in a relaxing getaway. House service was also disappointing. They would clean the rooms, but I noticed for 2 days straight that they weren't vacuuming the carpets. Someone had clipped their nails on the floor... and the nails were there from the time I checked in until the the time I was outta there. The bathroom was the worst. Couldn't be more tasteless than that. The tub looked "unclean". The worst part about the bathroom was the water pressure of the shower. It was nonexistent. No water pressure whatsoever. While the location is convenient, the hotel is a complete waste of money. The staff were extremely unprofessional, too. Especially the Japanese-speaking concierge lady.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rising Sun, Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2005

Marriott Waikiki Beach Resort went above and beyond!
Date: Aug 5th to Aug 11th

Room
This was a last minute trip for us. I wanted to take my 12 year old son to Hawaii before school started. We invited 2 friends to go with us, another 11 year old and his mother. I read the reviews on tripadvisor and decided to try the Marriott. We were treated very nice by the front desk who put us in an ocean view room in the K tower. (the tower closest to the beach) The room was beautiful. We had our own refrigerator, ironing board, coffee and coffee maker, hair dryer, safe and a large balcony. The beds
were the best I had ever slept in. After sleeping with a kicking boy for a couple of nights, I called the front desk and asked for a roll away bed. They brought up a bed within 5 minutes. This hotel was sold out and very busy while we were there, but we were treated like we were the only ones there!

Pool
The pool that we used was beside the Moana Terrace Restaurant. We could order food and drinks and eat and enjoy them pool side. The pool attendant was very friendly and let us barrow a fun noodle to take to the beach with us. The beach towels were always clean and nice and big for us to use either at the pool or to take to the beach with us. We rented a cabana for the last day that we were there. It is right beside the pool and is an excellent place to hang out after the noon check out.

Restaurant
We ate at two of the hotel's restaurants while we were there. The Kuhio Beach Grill was a great place to eat breakfast. The fresh fruit was wonderful and the buffett had everything you'd ever want.
We also ate at the Moana Terrace several times. The boys liked the pizza and the chicken strips the best. The tropical drinks were great there too.
There was music here every night which was very relaxing.

Beach
The beach was right across the street from the hotel. We bought two straw mats at the ABC store in the hotel and used them every time that we went to the beach. The boys loved this beach.

Services and Staff
One of the boys received a free chair message out by the pool. He loved it! Another nice thing that this hotel offers is turn down service. After our evening meal we returned to chocolates on our pillows with little flowers and fresh towels in the bathroom. We also took advantage of the guest laundry room. It was very clean and had several washers and dryers.
The Marriott offers a hospitality room for guests to take a shower and freshen up before their flight home. This was very nice because we had an evening flight and was still able to enjoy the day and leave feeling refreshed. I have stayed in many hotels and had never been offered this service before. I would go back to this hotel in a heart beat!
Every employee at this hotel was friendly and there to please us!

Aloha and enjoy your stay at the Marriott!
Four Hoosiers

Was this review helpful? Yes 29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2005

Booked hotel on marriott web site and went for the Romance Package as we were celebrating our Silver Wedding Anniversary.

On arrival greeted by friendly and helpful bell staff and exceptionally pleasant and helpful male receptionist (Jatin) - he was really helpful and advised that if we changed our room to a double queen status we could have a room in the K tower nearest the beach. (I had originally booked a room with a King bed but apparently there are very few of these and their locations seem to be towards the rear of the K tower and P tower).

We were allocated a front corner room on the 23rd floor of the K tower - what views we had; it was tremendous. Picture window towards the ocean/beach and lanai looking up Kalakaua Avenue and Wakiki Beach.
Room was bright and clean; small bathroom but adequate. Housekeeping staff very friendly and diligent.

Lifts didn't cause us any problems - always arrived in reasonable time. When you are on the 23rd floor any wait is preferable to climbing the stairs!!

Breakfast included in package - buffet style in Kuhio Grill and exceptionally good; plenty of choice and eggs/omelettes cooked on request.

Also ate in the Steakhouse and again couldn't find any faults - food very good and staff very efficient.

Large amount of shops on ground floor of hotel with the customary ABC store (very reasonable prices)

Hotel located at the quieter end of the "strip" but within easy walking distance of shopping malls and international market.

Had to cross the road to the beach but this didn't cause any problems.
We went to the Polynesian Cultural Centre and would recommend this trip. Also went to Pearl Harbor and yes we had to endure a lengthy line and wait before going to the arizona. Everyone says to go in the morning but by lunchtime the lines had disappeared and waiting times reduced - I would recommend you time your arrival around 1.00pm so as not to waste your morning.

The beach was clean and plenty of space. The hawaians are very friendly and we thoroughly enjoyed our 5 night stay at the Marriott. We would definitely stay there again if we return to Oahu.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa

Address: 2552 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#17 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#31 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#40 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#40 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 1310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WAIKIKI BEACH MARRIOTT RESORT & SPA fronts the best stretch of Waikiki Beach. Conveniently located in the heart of Waikiki, the hotel offers 1,310 refurbished guest rooms and suites with private lanai providing spectacular views of world-famous Diamond Head and Waikiki Beach. Other amenities include Kuhio Beach Grill, featuring the best in Pacific Rim cuisine; Sansei Seafood Restaurant & Sushi Bar and d.k Steak House; Arancino di Mare Italian Restaurant; newly redesigned Moana Terrace, offering live Hawaiian entertainment nightly; Seattle’s Best Coffee; Paul Brown’s Spa Olakino * Salon; a surf school; two freshwater, heated swimming pools; 10-person whirlpool; new 3,000 sq. ft. 24-hour fitness center; business center with 24-hour Internet access; high-speed and wireless Internet access throughout the resort’s guest rooms and public spaces; shops and boutiques; and Hawaiian cultural activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waikiki Beach Marriott Hotel Honolulu
Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort And Spa
Marriott Waikiki Beach
Marriott Honolulu
Honolulu Marriott
Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.