We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome ocean views of surfers and sunsets” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2552 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #48 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Awesome ocean views of surfers and sunsets”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

This was our first time visit to this property after visiting Oahu many times. The hotel is across from the Waikiki beach and next door to the Tiki Grill restaurant. We had a deluxe ocean view room with balcony. The front desk people were always very friendy, especially Jatin Dharia and Nicole who I specifically dealt with. The hotel has a lounge for travellers on night flights, allowing guests to enjoy the beach for the day and shower up before leaving for airport. This lounge is free to use for hotel guests.

The room we stayed had 2 double beds and we took a roll away bed too - $20 per night extra but I got it comped as Elite Member. The room has flat screen TV, DVD player, a large safe, hair dryer, coffee maker and lots of sockets for charging those electronic gizmos. The beds were from soft to firm but most of the pillows we got were soft for my liking.

Room Tip: Get an ocean view room so that you can enjoy the Pacific Ocean and the sunsets. Surfers were out ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,745 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    792
    1,180
    546
    156
    71
See reviews for
664
1,029
110
301
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (665)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coffs Harbour, Australia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

I could not possibly recommend this hotel to anyone I like. The reception staff and 'customer care' staff are incompetent. Carefully check your credit card statements after you stay with Marriott. I found an additional $180 fee for a 'no show', despite the fact that we stayed there as per our reservation. The 'customer care' staff are either incompetent, uncaring or simply lazy. JUST DON'T GO THERE!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve Y, Resort Manager at Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments and feedback regarding your recent visit to the Waikiki Beach Marriott. Our goal is to provide all of our guests with the highest level of service, quality product and value for the price paid. I do apologize if we did not completely meet your expectations. Thank you again as your feedback is important to improve guest experiences. We hope to see you again in the future.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MD
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

Just came back from a family vacation and stayed at this hotel for 6 days. It's been 10 years and there has definitely been a lot of changes to Waikiki. Overall, I was pleased with my stay and enjoyed the walkability of being in Waikiki. Our family stayed in the K tower, room 1231, with an oceanfront view. The rooms were bigger than I had anticipated and accommodated us just fine. There was a balcony that overlooked the ocean and it was a beautiful to see the sunrise and sunset each day. Like other reviews, also recommend staying in the K tower. The P tower was just a little bit further from the other amenities. The parking was STEEP at $35 day, so we decided to park behind at the Banyan Waikiki and paid $15/day. The walk was fine and literally across the street. There was only one day that we needed to park in the hotel because the Banyan was filled. Marriott ended up charging me for 2 days, which I had to get them to fix. The daily resort fees is a bit much, especially if you don't participate in any of the daily resort activities (making ribbon and fresh leis). We took advantage of the breakfast buffet in the hotel (only because it was free for one person and our kids -under 5). The buffet offered a variety of hot items, fruit, and pastries. The pool area was fine in the K area. Just tough to find seating area near the pool at times so that we can be close to the kids swimming. The nightly live music was a great way to unwind. There is a pool in the P area, which was much smaller and quieter. Some other places that we ate at: EM BBQ (Korean), Leonards (malasadas), Rainbow drive in (Loco Moco), Aloha Sushi off Monsarat (spicy ahi tuna bowl). We made the mistake of going to McD's and it cost us over $30!!! This was more than any of the other places that we went.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

Location of this hotel is fantastic- the hotel itself is average. The lobby is always teeming with people so you wait a while to check in and when you get to the counter the concierges are friendly and give you a lot of *stuff*. I feel like the Marriot could cut their wait times if they sent out the information they tell you when you check in and find a better way to distribute internet access and free drinks. The hotel rooms are smaller than I anticipated but all you need and have a fridge which we found great with how hot it gets. The partial ocean view room we were in was very partial but you could sit out on your tiny balcony and see the sea. I didn’t think it was greatly relaxing to do this with the traffic and surrounding buildings but you could do it. The décor was old and dated and the bathroom small but at least the toilet was separated. The two pools were so small, it makes no sense, and there wasn’t enough shade to relax by the pool. The shaded areas were cordoned off and cost between $40- $70 per day to lie in- craziness. I hardly saw anyone in them and figured they must’ve scrolled across the road to Waikiki Beach where the shade was free. The other nuisance of this hotel was that there only seemed to be 2 lifts working at any one time so they took ages. My husband waiting for one for 25 minutes once and we were only on the 11th floor. We got a deal on booking.com for this hotel so we didn’t pay full rate and I wouldn’t recommend staying here if you had to. Depends what you want out of a hotel but for luxury I would go somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve Y, Resort Manager at Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Aloha,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at the Waikiki Beach Marriott. I am sorry that you did not fully enjoy your time at the hotel. The associates at the hotel take a tremendous amount of pride in the product and service we provide to all of our customers and it is disappointing to learn that we did not meet your expectations. I will share your feedback with the appropriate departments in the hotel so that they can improve. I hope that when your travels bring you back to paradise, you give us another opportunity to provide you with a true aloha experience.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Myself and a friend had 8 days at the Marriott in mid July and really enjoyed it.
The location was brilliant (beach across the street), shops/cafes/restaurants were close by and all other establishments never more than a walk away.

We were surprised at check in to find that the deal included a free drink at one of the poolside bars and also 60 minutes of international phone calls.

The room was well appointed, serviced daily and very quiet and comfortable.

I spent a lot of time by the pool whilst my friend utilized the concierge people to do a number of day tours..All carried out very professionally.

Will be back.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014 via mobile

This was our first time in Hawaii and we had a blast. The hotel was right across the street from the beach and shopping was right down the street. Would definitely stay here again. First class service and friendly staff the entire visit. Also splurge for the beach and diamond head views. Truly breathtaking!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014 via mobile

Great location! Lots of amenities. Family felt well cared for. Just walk out of lobby and enjoy Waikiki Beach, shopping , restaurants, and many attractions. Room size was adequate, but smaller than other Marriotts we've been to. Still a great hotel option!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa

Address: 2552 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#17 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#31 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#39 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#40 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 1310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WAIKIKI BEACH MARRIOTT RESORT & SPA fronts the best stretch of Waikiki Beach. Conveniently located in the heart of Waikiki, the hotel offers 1,310 refurbished guest rooms and suites with private lanai providing spectacular views of world-famous Diamond Head and Waikiki Beach. Other amenities include Kuhio Beach Grill, featuring the best in Pacific Rim cuisine; Sansei Seafood Restaurant & Sushi Bar and d.k Steak House; Arancino di Mare Italian Restaurant; newly redesigned Moana Terrace, offering live Hawaiian entertainment nightly; Seattle’s Best Coffee; Paul Brown’s Spa Olakino * Salon; a surf school; two freshwater, heated swimming pools; 10-person whirlpool; new 3,000 sq. ft. 24-hour fitness center; business center with 24-hour Internet access; high-speed and wireless Internet access throughout the resort’s guest rooms and public spaces; shops and boutiques; and Hawaiian cultural activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Marriott, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waikiki Beach Marriott Hotel Honolulu
Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort And Spa
Marriott Waikiki Beach
Marriott Honolulu
Honolulu Marriott
Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.