We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice resort near beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2552 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #47 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice resort near beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

I was nervous about this stay after reading a few bad reviews and was pleasantly surprised. They upgraded us to a partial ocean view and the room was very nice. The beds and bedding were comfortable and the décor was nice though a bit dated. If you want a modern brand new hotel this is not for you, but if you are looking for a clean comfortable family resort that is a bit cheaper this is a great hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    715
    1,051
    468
    130
    59
See reviews for
586
905
101
260
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (551)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tracy, California
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We have stayed at this resort on several occasions when we visit the Waikiki area. We have never had a bad stay and the staff has always treated us well.

Although the room was nice we didn't come to the island to stay in our hotel room. Our balcony offered us a view of the side street and a partial view of the beach which was OK considering the location.

The room was clean and the service was great. We never had to ask twice for an extra towel or shampoo. They had a pool which we took advantage of and was a change from being in the saltwater!

My only complaint was the resort fee... REALLY! They should pay us for the business point of view. They also charged for parking your rental that you rented from the building, which was absurd!! (hence the four stars)

We ate breakfast around the corner where the prices were reasonable. Can't say we will return in the near future but the extra fee's would discourage a lot of people from staying.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui, Hawaii
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

This was our first stay at this Marriott. It used to be the hawaiian regent with the popular club "the Point After". In the 1970's.

The check in service was excellent and she explained the $30 resort fee and coupons. The pool deck bar and restaurant has a casual, small menu. You have a great view of Waikiki beach. We used our resort fee coupons to get two maintains. The entertainment was setting up.
The sansei restaurant had a huge line up for their early bird promotion.
The room was quite lathe. The bathroom was fine. Our half moon shaped outdoor lanai was lather then most hotels.. Hotel parking would have been $37.
Did not like that a marriott timeshare booth was by our elevator. They had you trapped when you were waiting for the elevator.

Room Tip: There are over 1000 rooms. We loved our room. 631, great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vandalia, OH
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

Great stay from the friendly front desk who gave us a welcoming gift to the great room with views of diamond head and Waikiki Beach we had a great stay. Pools and gym are first rate. Nice that they have a little store for snacks and other things as well as plenty of restaurant selection.

Highly recommend this Marriott for combination of value and amenities. Close to beach and high end shopping

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

The hotel staff was very friendly, we decided to stay an extra day and they upgraded us to a ocean view room! The hotel has two pools, and the beach is right across. If you renting a car, dont pay for the hotel parking. Parking is free after 6pm right outside the hotel. We left our car there every night, and saved up on paying for parking.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

Ok so I just want to start by saying that this hotel wasn't terrible. It was close to the beach and the trolley stop across the road made travelling around Honolulu easier.

There are two things to be weary of when choosing to stay here.

Firstly the staff often appeared to be disinterested and unhelpful. This is especially true of the check-in staff who were like robots rather than greeting us as would be expected.

Secondly the resort fee was un-welcomed and when the staff explained that it was mandatory they were blunt. I don't think it is fair to make people pay for services they don't use. $30 a day can add up on a long stay especially when we were unaware of the fee when booking.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve Y, Resort Manager at Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Aloha,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at the Waikiki Beach Marriott. I am sorry that you did not fully enjoy your time at the hotel and decided to check out early. The associates at the hotel take a tremendous amount of pride in the product and service we provide to all of our customers and it is disappointing to learn that we did not meet your expectations. I will share your feedback with the appropriate departments in the hotel so that they can improve. I hope that when your travels bring you back to paradise, you give us another opportunity to provide you with a true aloha experience.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melville, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for 4 nights. Fabulous staff, everyone with a nice greeting and eager to help. Pretty lobby, lovely orchids, place/ to sit and relax, nice pool and pool restaurant. Not overly crowded, rooms lovely. Highly recommend.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa

Address: 2552 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#17 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#31 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#35 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#38 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 1310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WAIKIKI BEACH MARRIOTT RESORT & SPA fronts the best stretch of Waikiki Beach. Conveniently located in the heart of Waikiki, the hotel offers 1,310 refurbished guest rooms and suites with private lanai providing spectacular views of world-famous Diamond Head and Waikiki Beach. Other amenities include Kuhio Beach Grill, featuring the best in Pacific Rim cuisine; Sansei Seafood Restaurant & Sushi Bar and d.k Steak House; Arancino di Mare Italian Restaurant; newly redesigned Moana Terrace, offering live Hawaiian entertainment nightly; Seattle’s Best Coffee; Paul Brown’s Spa Olakino * Salon; a surf school; two freshwater, heated swimming pools; 10-person whirlpool; new 3,000 sq. ft. 24-hour fitness center; business center with 24-hour Internet access; high-speed and wireless Internet access throughout the resort’s guest rooms and public spaces; shops and boutiques; and Hawaiian cultural activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort And Spa
Waikiki Beach Marriott Hotel Honolulu
Marriott Waikiki Beach
Marriott Honolulu
Honolulu Marriott
Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.