We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2552 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #48 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Kershaw, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very nice!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed here for 3 days while on Hawaii vacation. Was well located to beaches. Service was good. The extra $30 a day was a waste as far as I am concerned, didn't use wifi, didn't need newspaper, didn't use DVD. Rooms were clean. Really enjoyed stay at this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    725
    1,088
    485
    140
    63
See reviews for
601
941
105
268
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (585)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Napa, California, Usa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Business for my husband, relaxing for me. The address says Kalakaua Avenue, but most of the hotel sits back a couple of blocks from beach. It's a typical resort for Hawaii, $30 breakfasts, $30 parking, $$ resort fee....
Because of my husband's Platinum status we were upgraded to a room facing Diamond Head, it was nice. If it wasn't for getting Marriott Points for our stay, we would probably stay at a hotel at the other end of Waikiki. There just seems to be so many people who "loiter" around this area of the beach???
Staff was friendly and helpful, I have no complaints about the hotel, just nothing special to point out.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

Two towers make up this hotel. The one closer to the beach has better views of course. The hotel is dated by the room floors but nicely modernized.

Two "ABC" stores open late for convenience.

Most tours use this hotel as a main drop off/pick up stop so that is convenient.

The breakfast buffet is pricey and basically the same daily: fruit, omelette station, breads, pancakes, meats and an Asian breakfast if congee, kimchee, noodles with pickled accompaniment.

There are many shops in the hotel for tourist items. The Tori Richards shirts are the same price as in the Tori Richards store.

Secret Note: Guest who receive the free drink coupons and go to the pool bar for their "Mai Tai" get a different version. It has more fruit punch than the real Ai Tai served at the same bar. The live music at the pool bar is good.

Better Mai Tais at the Tiki Bar and Restaurant next door.

Pool towels available at the pool area on an honor sign out basis.

Great gift is the koa bracelet engraved with your name in Hawaiian in many colors. Order when you arrive as it will take a day or two to engrave.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

A reasonable hotel. Service generally good. Facilities fair. Pool and poolside service good.
Counter service slow and a little disorganised ..but helpful.Rooms clean. They charge an extra $30 per day (compulsory) for amenities ?? such as wifi , newspaper , dvd hire. Location is good , close to beach and the millionaires shopping row.Not a cheap hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Marcos, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

We actually checked out early and moved to another resort because we were so disappointed in this property. This is an older hotel that has high occupancy rates and seems more concerned with filling their rooms than pleasing their guests.

Despite being a gold member and requesting the front tower, we were put in the older back tower with a view of a parking lot and some waves. The whole feel of the hotel is one of ordinary and quiet, rather than a large chain with a bustling lobby and happy customers. There are over 1300 rooms but only two small pools. The pool bar had multiple bartenders and servers, yet service was slow and lacked the "aloha spirit" one would expect from an oversold property in waikiki. The room we were in was a traditional marriott room - standard bedspread, small bathroom, and a chair in the corner - and the only sign of being in Hawaii was the palm tree pics hanging on the wall.

I did ask to speak to a front desk manager and when we spoke, I was reminded by him several times that the hotel was over capacity, seemingly implying that despite my disappointment, guests were filling every room so my opinion didn't count for much. There was no offer to make amends and so we proceeded with our early checkout.

If you are looking for lesser priced room in a chain hotel, that is across the street from the beach, and offers a lack of aloha spirit, then I'd recommend the Waikiki marriott!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve Y, Resort Manager at Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Aloha,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at the Waikiki Beach Marriott. I am sorry that you did not fully enjoy your time at the hotel and decided to check out early. The associates at the hotel take a tremendous amount of pride in the product and service we provide to all of our customers and it is disappointing to learn that we did not meet your expectations. I will share your feedback with the appropriate departments in the hotel so that they can improve. I hope that when your travels bring you back to paradise, you give us another opportunity to provide you with a true aloha experience.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

After a few days in Maui and Honolulu I finally got used to the idea that everything in Hawaii is, well, old... With that in mind, I think the Waikiki Beach Marriott was pretty good. Outdated facilities, yes, but the rooms still felt nice, clean and open. Service was superb! As platinum members, we got free breakfast, drinks and all the regular perks (that we didn't get at a Marriott in Maui). The beautiful Waikiki beach is right across the street.

Service was excellent. May, at the front desk, was super friendly when we checked in. We witnessed an incident with a drunk (and very loud and obnoxious) guest but it was taken care of promptly by security.

We didn't eat at the restaurant, other than breakfast, which was not pretty good and definitely NOT worth $25 (we got it for free - otherwise I wouldn't have eaten there). I would definitely go out and grab a much better and cheaper breakfast nearby.

I would go back to this hotel in my future trips to Waikiki!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

A late posting by me but just had to mention how good this place was in Waikiki when I was there a few seasons back just about go book this one again .rooms good views awesome pool tops service and just that little bit away from the middle to have some peace if needed

Stayed June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa

Address: 2552 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#17 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#31 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#39 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#40 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 1310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WAIKIKI BEACH MARRIOTT RESORT & SPA fronts the best stretch of Waikiki Beach. Conveniently located in the heart of Waikiki, the hotel offers 1,310 refurbished guest rooms and suites with private lanai providing spectacular views of world-famous Diamond Head and Waikiki Beach. Other amenities include Kuhio Beach Grill, featuring the best in Pacific Rim cuisine; Sansei Seafood Restaurant & Sushi Bar and d.k Steak House; Arancino di Mare Italian Restaurant; newly redesigned Moana Terrace, offering live Hawaiian entertainment nightly; Seattle’s Best Coffee; Paul Brown’s Spa Olakino * Salon; a surf school; two freshwater, heated swimming pools; 10-person whirlpool; new 3,000 sq. ft. 24-hour fitness center; business center with 24-hour Internet access; high-speed and wireless Internet access throughout the resort’s guest rooms and public spaces; shops and boutiques; and Hawaiian cultural activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Marriott, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waikiki Beach Marriott Hotel Honolulu
Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort And Spa
Marriott Waikiki Beach
Marriott Honolulu
Honolulu Marriott
Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.