We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The location is super.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2552 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #48 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Calgary
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“The location is super.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

We stay at the Marriott Waikiki 3 days. We have a big nice room with balcony on the 19th floor overlooking the ocean. Service at every places in hotel was really good. Pool area is clean,we enjoy bar at the pool area with life music, comfortable siting, fair place and great ocean view. The location is very good, the beach is across the street, you can walk to everywhere in downtown . We rent a car and drove up to North Shore, exploring different beaches on our way. We like this place and recommend our friend to stay here.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,745 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    792
    1,180
    546
    156
    71
See reviews for
664
1,029
110
301
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (665)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Oswego, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Some may say it is outdated. If you look around the area, Waikiki Beach Marriott hotel is decent compare to other hotels in terms of cost (free Mai Tai). Honestly, the room is really typically Marriott, clean. There is a Blu-Ray player in the room.

Staff was really helpful and friendly. We stayed at 33rd floor and overlooking Diamond Head and the Pacific Ocean.

Room is very comfortable and bed is really comfortable. Bathroom is clean and if you have young kid (20 months), you will appreciate the tub and flexible shower hose. There is a surchage of 25 dollar per day that includes internet access (not a fast one, really slow during the night and in the morning).

Kuhio Grill is good for breakfast (we did not go there for dinner). I bought a package which breakfast was included. Cook to order omelet and breakfast buffet (bread pudding, protugese sausage/sausage/ham, potato/hash brown, and good selection of pastries). Our son loves a small box of cereal (snacking when going on tours). Arancino Italian restaurant was good (but $$$$). If you really need to go to Asian Convenient Store (Lawson), it is located on the adjacent hotel (Hyatt) for late night snack.

Access to bus (behind the hotel (Kuhio Street) was really easy and convenient. There are a lot of bus (no. 2, 8, and 13). We were able to hop on the bus to go to Ala Molana Mall and went to Ono Hawaiian Food. There are TONS of food on Kuhio Street (there are a lot affordable options and great tasting asian food).

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

This is a great hotel - very helpful friendly staff; beautiful lobby and pool; convenient on-site shops; awesome views (our "city" view was of Diamond Head and partial ocean). The basic room is pretty small, which was a negative, but we got a great rate so really have no complaints. Keep in mind that this IS in a very busy city, so yes, there is traffic noise and the homeless population is a problem... The location of this hotel is very convenient for Waikiki - right across the street from the beach, but on the end of the main tourist street so it felt a little "less busy" than the middle of Waikiki. Overall, a nice Marriott in a very good location!

Room Tip: Full Diamond Head View!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

This is a very nice property. It's clean and the property has been updated. I had a nice room on the 20th floor overlooking the ocean. Service was great. The buffet international breakfast is the best I've ever had! There is something for everyone, regardless from which part of the world your travel. I preferred the omelets and sausages. The kimchi was also good. There is so much to do on the property and in Waikiki. If you plan ahead, check out the specials that the hotel may have from time to time. I got a good rate of $149/night for a King room. I highly recommend this hotel. Avoid driving if you can. Traffic in Waikiki can become snarled easily. Valet parking can take a while if something is going on at the hotel or nearby.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

We had a great stay at the Marriott Waikiki. We stayed in the K-tower and had a deluxe ocean view. The room was clean with a fabulous view. Housekeeping forgot to clean our room the first day but as soon as we called for them to clean, they came up right away. The location is superb. We could walk to everything downtown. The beach was easily accessible. This is a "city" experience so don't expect a quiet relaxing resort experience. The pool restaurant had good live music and a quieter ambiance than other restaurants in the vicinity. We mostly ate there. The kids loved the pool so it was convenient. The Tiki Bar across the street had good food and nice outdoor seating. The Kuhio Beach buffet and menu selections were good. They have kids' buffet pricing. Most mornings we grabbed coffee and pastries at Starbucks down the street. Overall, we viewed this stay as the "city stay" with the primary purpose of daily island excursions. In 4 days, we hiked Diamond Head Crater, visited the Honolulu Zoo, visited Pearl Harbor (make tour reservations in advance if possible), drove up to North Shore to watch the surfers and eat at Kono's in Haleiw, and we visited the Valley of the Temples. Rent a car or rely on taxis rather than the bus system. We tried the bus system and it was not reliable. We are heading to Kauai to do the "island stay".

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas, texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is old and outdated. Bathrooms are extremely small and inefficient. Beach trips require lots of get ready space and there is none in these rooms. Carpets are old stained and the rooms have a heavy smell. Typical Marriott fashion there is no upgrade or late ck out or any amenities for elite frequent Marriott members. My husband has the highest lifetime elite status and all we get are apologies for the promised benefits that are not available !

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

We spent three nights at the Marriott Waikiki Beach over Christmas. The staff was wonderful and accommodating. The room was really nice size and had an ocean view. There is no "beach" per se, although, to get to the beach, you only have to go across the street. We enjoyed the breakfast buffet each morning, and, the food at the poolside bar on the third floor was very good. There is a Seattle's Best coffee bar in the lobby. The only part we didn't like was the resort fee. We didn't really make use of the things it includes, and, would like the choice to opt out of it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa

Address: 2552 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#17 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#31 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#39 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#40 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 1310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WAIKIKI BEACH MARRIOTT RESORT & SPA fronts the best stretch of Waikiki Beach. Conveniently located in the heart of Waikiki, the hotel offers 1,310 refurbished guest rooms and suites with private lanai providing spectacular views of world-famous Diamond Head and Waikiki Beach. Other amenities include Kuhio Beach Grill, featuring the best in Pacific Rim cuisine; Sansei Seafood Restaurant & Sushi Bar and d.k Steak House; Arancino di Mare Italian Restaurant; newly redesigned Moana Terrace, offering live Hawaiian entertainment nightly; Seattle’s Best Coffee; Paul Brown’s Spa Olakino * Salon; a surf school; two freshwater, heated swimming pools; 10-person whirlpool; new 3,000 sq. ft. 24-hour fitness center; business center with 24-hour Internet access; high-speed and wireless Internet access throughout the resort’s guest rooms and public spaces; shops and boutiques; and Hawaiian cultural activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Marriott, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waikiki Beach Marriott Hotel Honolulu
Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort And Spa
Marriott Waikiki Beach
Marriott Honolulu
Honolulu Marriott
Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.