We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location, good service, hotel could use a little TLC” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2552 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #44 of 82 hotels in Honolulu
Centreville, Virginia
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Nice location, good service, hotel could use a little TLC”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Rather than write a long review, I will give a few key points.

Pros:
- Two pools (neither is really big)
- Nice gym
- Across the street the from the beach for easy access
- Great views
- Spacious lobby
- Rooms have balconies (some like the one I stayed in had two)
- Two ABC Stores for sundries (ABC Stores sell everything from souvenirs to alcohol)
- Bar on the pool deck with a view
- Buffet brunch for Gold and Platinum members
- I didn't talk to any of the staff, but friend I was with said they had great service
- Rooms are nice size

Cons
- Rooms a little tired, could use a refresh
- The hotel might be a little too far south for some people

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,258 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    671
    983
    428
    123
    53
See reviews for
536
848
93
235
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (499)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I recently stayed here for a business trip and in hindsight, have somewhat mixed feelings about my stay:

Check-in/staff: It took us 45 minutes to check-in, and it is not clear why it took so long (there were only a few people in line ahead of us). The staff member at the desk was very helpful when we finally were able to check in (and even looked into getting a room upgrade for us, which was nice) but standing in line this long to check-in to a hotel (after a very long flight) was pretty miserable. Throughout the week, we continually noticed long check-in lines at the front desk, so it appears this might be a recurring pattern/problem. Nonetheless, every staff member we interacted with was courteous and helpful, including the bell hops and concierge.

Gym/pool: The hotel has an excellent gym facility that includes an entire weight machine circuit, free weights up to 50 lbs, barbells, an ab station, and plenty of cardio equipment. This was one of the nicest aspects of the hotel. The two hotel pools and hot tub were also nice, although they were relatively small and thus would fill up quickly in the afternoons.

Restaurants: We visited the outdoor bar/grill several times, which was conveniently located next to one of the pools. The food was decent, the service was excellent, and the view of Waikiki beach was spectacular. We also ate at the other restaurant that housed the breakfast buffet - the service was always stellar and the food was acceptable/decent, but I will say we noticed long lines in the mornings starting around 8am or so.

Location: Obviously this hotel is in an excellent location, with Waikiki beach and plenty of shopping within walking distance.

Room: The rooms were decent, albeit a bit worn, and with small bathrooms. We did notice that none of the HD channels on the television worked. This was not a big deal because we spent very little time in our room, but that might be an issue for others.

Spa: I know the spa is independent owned/operated, so I did not take the following into account in my rating of the hotel. I submitted an online reservation request for a massage at the spa several weeks prior to my trip. I never received a confirmation of that reservation, but thought nothing of it until I arrived and saw that the spa was closed (perhaps for renovations?). It seems very unprofessional that the spa did not have an automatic email response system set up (at the very least) informing potential customers that they would be closed and therefore unable to accept reservations.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms in Kealohilani tower will have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

I will not go into the room size, the parking cost, or the resort fee. Plenty of others have already done that in their reviews. I would like to put this into my perspective, from having traveled to Hawaii for vacation for the last 6-years as a family of 4 with to school aged kids. We have hit the major 4 islands, with this summer traveling for a week to Kauai, a week to Maui and 3 days to Waikiki and our stay here at the Marriott. Our previous stays in Waikiki include the Hilton Hawaiian Village, the Royal Hawaiian and now the Marriott Waikiki. First, this hotel is NOT on the beach. It is across the street from a very public beach with lots of homeless people out at all hours. This is not ideal. The hotel rates are in line with other hotels in Waikiki yet they really do not have the same beach experience as others, so I personally would stay at the Surf Rider, the regular Sheraton, or the Pink Palace again (I did not give them good reviews before but it might be time for a second chance). So again, nothing special about this hotel and its location is probably the worst of all the "beachfront" hotels in Waikiki in my opinion. You can find better for a similar price.

That said, where this hotel shines is in the service. I'm not sure what they are giving the staff, but in all areas they were extremely pleasant and friendly. Actually, they beat out every single hotel we have stayed at in Hawaii, from the Royal Hawaiian to the Waldorf Astoria Grand Wailea in Maui...both which are known for their service. They should takes notes from these folks at the Marriott. Really.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
destin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stay here every year. Lots to do inside the hotel, great atmosphere, nice rooms, great pools and shops. Expensive parking, but everywhere is expensive. Crab leg buffet is good too. The ocean view rooms in the Kealohilani tower are the best and have the best views.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

We have been staying at this hotel annually for the last 6 yrs, and it keeps getting better. First impressions 6yrs ago was not good (felt small, dated, indifferent/jaded front desk, business hotel not resort-y; was probably expecting too much "aloha"). We have now sampled many of the hotels in Hawaii, and this is definitely the best value in Oahu (and better amenities and service than the JW Ihilani).
The rooms are not huge, but I've since learned that I need to set aside "resort" expectations vs city space constraints. Definitely not smaller than any other Waikiki hotel. Great location - at edge of Waikiki so not surrounded by hubbub, with other side by park, zoo, aquarium. Also across street from both beach w waves (body surfers) and a calm breakwater area with sandy bottoms. (Because of location, can also get spectacular views of Diamond Head so don't despair if u dont a ocean view). Location good for finding street parking for those wanting to avoid garage fees.
Moana Terrace is great for sunset casual dining with light music. Uncrowded and great value especially for elite members who get 25% off. Servers at Kuhio Grill breakfast buffet all super friendly. (One hostess even heated up our grocery meal one day. I regret not getting her name.)
BEST PART really is the service. Special thanks to STEPHEN CHIN who helped our party of three rooms check in with upgrades even tho our reservations were a mess (ins and outs, multiple confirmation numbers, etc). Yes, pools are smaller but excellent service there too and affordable cabana rentals ($25 a day). My favorite part of service was HOUSEKEEPING - multiple visits a day that kept clean, dry towels in the room. I also never had to feel like I needed to rush out in the morning to get my room cleaned. Loved that (my kids really sleep in and don't like to leave in mornings.). Also daily cleanings of balcony (never black soled feet or sand tracked back in.)
I'm not a fan of resort fees in general - feel they should either be optional or built into room price. We are also Marriott Platinum members, so kinda agree with previous poster about how these services are usually included. That said, I do appreciate that Waikiki Beach Marriott has increased their resort activities from previous years, and even acknowledge that it is not Marriott corporate policy to necessarily offer breakfast, etc, at their "resort" hotels (though many do). Bottom line, given the room costs and great service (with direct comparisons to other Oahu Marriott properties), this is one resort fee I'm not complaining about (just don't downgrade service or activities!).
Please keep up the great service!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calcium, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Beautiful hotel! Love the plants, pools and trees growing in the outdoor areas in the middle of the hotel courtyards! Rooftop pool and lounge with a great view of Waikiki Beach. Right across from Waikiki. Nice restaurant, good food. A lot of walking since it is actually 2 towers connected by a shopping mall.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

Stated just the one night before joining a cruise. Good position if you enjoy the hustle & bustle of Waikiki Beach. There was a huge queue to check in but luckily as Marriott Elite members we joined the much shorter line. Be prepared for plenty of walking as the hotel is basically 2 towers joined by a shopping mall . 2 disappointingly small pools. Rooms were also quite compact . Best part of the stay was a meal at the hotel's sushi restaurant. Have to concur with other reviewers - the resort fee is a rip off.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa

Address: 2552 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#29 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#32 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#32 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#44 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WAIKIKI BEACH MARRIOTT RESORT & SPA fronts the best stretch of Waikiki Beach. Conveniently located in the heart of Waikiki, the hotel offers 1,310 refurbished guest rooms and suites with private lanai providing spectacular views of world-famous Diamond Head and Waikiki Beach. Other amenities include Kuhio Beach Grill, featuring the best in Pacific Rim cuisine; Sansei Seafood Restaurant & Sushi Bar and d.k Steak House; Arancino di Mare Italian Restaurant; newly redesigned Moana Terrace, offering live Hawaiian entertainment nightly; Seattle’s Best Coffee; Paul Brown’s Spa Olakino * Salon; a surf school; two freshwater, heated swimming pools; 10-person whirlpool; new 3,000 sq. ft. 24-hour fitness center; business center with 24-hour Internet access; high-speed and wireless Internet access throughout the resort’s guest rooms and public spaces; shops and boutiques; and Hawaiian cultural activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Tingo, Orbitz, Marriott, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waikiki Beach Marriott Hotel Honolulu
Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort And Spa
Marriott Waikiki Beach
Marriott Honolulu
Honolulu Marriott
Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.