We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice staff, beautiful location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2552 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double Rewards Points!
Ranked #46 of 83 Hotels in Honolulu
Nashville
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Nice staff, beautiful location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I recently stayed here for a business trip and in hindsight, have somewhat mixed feelings about my stay:

Check-in/staff: It took us 45 minutes to check-in, and it is not clear why it took so long (there were only a few people in line ahead of us). The staff member at the desk was very helpful when we finally were able to check in (and even looked into getting a room upgrade for us, which was nice) but standing in line this long to check-in to a hotel (after a very long flight) was pretty miserable. Throughout the week, we continually noticed long check-in lines at the front desk, so it appears this might be a recurring pattern/problem. Nonetheless, every staff member we interacted with was courteous and helpful, including the bell hops and concierge.

Gym/pool: The hotel has an excellent gym facility that includes an entire weight machine circuit, free weights up to 50 lbs, barbells, an ab station, and plenty of cardio equipment. This was one of the nicest aspects of the hotel. The two hotel pools and hot tub were also nice, although they were relatively small and thus would fill up quickly in the afternoons.

Restaurants: We visited the outdoor bar/grill several times, which was conveniently located next to one of the pools. The food was decent, the service was excellent, and the view of Waikiki beach was spectacular. We also ate at the other restaurant that housed the breakfast buffet - the service was always stellar and the food was acceptable/decent, but I will say we noticed long lines in the mornings starting around 8am or so.

Location: Obviously this hotel is in an excellent location, with Waikiki beach and plenty of shopping within walking distance.

Room: The rooms were decent, albeit a bit worn, and with small bathrooms. We did notice that none of the HD channels on the television worked. This was not a big deal because we spent very little time in our room, but that might be an issue for others.

Spa: I know the spa is independent owned/operated, so I did not take the following into account in my rating of the hotel. I submitted an online reservation request for a massage at the spa several weeks prior to my trip. I never received a confirmation of that reservation, but thought nothing of it until I arrived and saw that the spa was closed (perhaps for renovations?). It seems very unprofessional that the spa did not have an automatic email response system set up (at the very least) informing potential customers that they would be closed and therefore unable to accept reservations.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms in Kealohilani tower will have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,974 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    853
    1,275
    604
    166
    76
See reviews for
744
1,112
115
327
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (751)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

I will not go into the room size, the parking cost, or the resort fee. Plenty of others have already done that in their reviews. I would like to put this into my perspective, from having traveled to Hawaii for vacation for the last 6-years as a family of 4 with to school aged kids. We have hit the major 4 islands, with this summer traveling for a week to Kauai, a week to Maui and 3 days to Waikiki and our stay here at the Marriott. Our previous stays in Waikiki include the Hilton Hawaiian Village, the Royal Hawaiian and now the Marriott Waikiki. First, this hotel is NOT on the beach. It is across the street from a very public beach with lots of homeless people out at all hours. This is not ideal. The hotel rates are in line with other hotels in Waikiki yet they really do not have the same beach experience as others, so I personally would stay at the Surf Rider, the regular Sheraton, or the Pink Palace again (I did not give them good reviews before but it might be time for a second chance). So again, nothing special about this hotel and its location is probably the worst of all the "beachfront" hotels in Waikiki in my opinion. You can find better for a similar price.

That said, where this hotel shines is in the service. I'm not sure what they are giving the staff, but in all areas they were extremely pleasant and friendly. Actually, they beat out every single hotel we have stayed at in Hawaii, from the Royal Hawaiian to the Waldorf Astoria Grand Wailea in Maui...both which are known for their service. They should takes notes from these folks at the Marriott. Really.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
destin
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stay here every year. Lots to do inside the hotel, great atmosphere, nice rooms, great pools and shops. Expensive parking, but everywhere is expensive. Crab leg buffet is good too. The ocean view rooms in the Kealohilani tower are the best and have the best views.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We have been staying at this hotel annually for the last 6 yrs, and it keeps getting better. First impressions 6yrs ago was not good (felt small, dated, indifferent/jaded front desk, business hotel not resort-y; was probably expecting too much "aloha"). We have now sampled many of the hotels in Hawaii, and this is definitely the best value in Oahu (and better amenities and service than the JW Ihilani).
The rooms are not huge, but I've since learned that I need to set aside "resort" expectations vs city space constraints. Definitely not smaller than any other Waikiki hotel. Great location - at edge of Waikiki so not surrounded by hubbub, with other side by park, zoo, aquarium. Also across street from both beach w waves (body surfers) and a calm breakwater area with sandy bottoms. (Because of location, can also get spectacular views of Diamond Head so don't despair if u dont a ocean view). Location good for finding street parking for those wanting to avoid garage fees.
Moana Terrace is great for sunset casual dining with light music. Uncrowded and great value especially for elite members who get 25% off. Servers at Kuhio Grill breakfast buffet all super friendly. (One hostess even heated up our grocery meal one day. I regret not getting her name.)
BEST PART really is the service. Special thanks to STEPHEN CHIN who helped our party of three rooms check in with upgrades even tho our reservations were a mess (ins and outs, multiple confirmation numbers, etc). Yes, pools are smaller but excellent service there too and affordable cabana rentals ($25 a day). My favorite part of service was HOUSEKEEPING - multiple visits a day that kept clean, dry towels in the room. I also never had to feel like I needed to rush out in the morning to get my room cleaned. Loved that (my kids really sleep in and don't like to leave in mornings.). Also daily cleanings of balcony (never black soled feet or sand tracked back in.)
I'm not a fan of resort fees in general - feel they should either be optional or built into room price. We are also Marriott Platinum members, so kinda agree with previous poster about how these services are usually included. That said, I do appreciate that Waikiki Beach Marriott has increased their resort activities from previous years, and even acknowledge that it is not Marriott corporate policy to necessarily offer breakfast, etc, at their "resort" hotels (though many do). Bottom line, given the room costs and great service (with direct comparisons to other Oahu Marriott properties), this is one resort fee I'm not complaining about (just don't downgrade service or activities!).
Please keep up the great service!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calcium, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Beautiful hotel! Love the plants, pools and trees growing in the outdoor areas in the middle of the hotel courtyards! Rooftop pool and lounge with a great view of Waikiki Beach. Right across from Waikiki. Nice restaurant, good food. A lot of walking since it is actually 2 towers connected by a shopping mall.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
65 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

Stated just the one night before joining a cruise. Good position if you enjoy the hustle & bustle of Waikiki Beach. There was a huge queue to check in but luckily as Marriott Elite members we joined the much shorter line. Be prepared for plenty of walking as the hotel is basically 2 towers joined by a shopping mall . 2 disappointingly small pools. Rooms were also quite compact . Best part of the stay was a meal at the hotel's sushi restaurant. Have to concur with other reviewers - the resort fee is a rip off.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benton City, Washington
Level Contributor
121 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

If you want Waikiki, this is a perfect location. You can walk to everything and the beach is right there. It is a nice property and we had an "upgraded room" so it was spacious if not a bit dated. I really disliked that the only bathroom light lights up the entire room if you need to use it in the middle of the night - there is no separate switch for just the toilet area. The beach is right across the street which I found much nicer than the hotels farther down the way which were right on the beach. You could choose your spot on the beach without having to purchase a cabana or umbrella (which are certainly available if you want them). It seemed a bit less crowded than those right on the beach places. The resort fee is an annoyance. It supposedly covers your breakfast and Internet - which if you are a gold or platinum Marriott member is FREE at every other Marriott. So you are paying $25 a day for a 6 ounce Mai Tai if you even make it to the pool deck to get it. And the resort fee is per room, not per person... So if you stay 3 days you get three tickets. If you are there alone I guess that's okay but it makes you purchase food and beverages if you are there with someone else or your family. My husband inquired about this at the front desk, was promised an answer from management and they never even got back to him.

Pack your own towels as you won't want to take their pool towels to the beach at $25 each if they are not returned. The ABC store in the lobby sells some cute ones for about $12 and you will have a souvenir if you choose not to pack your own. We bought the little grass mats also sold there for $3 each instead of towels and left them there when we were finished. They will only last about a week with daily use.

Kudos to Ms. Wong at the front office who handled our room upgrade, Wendy who gave us a slightly late checkout on a 100% occupancy day, and Rosane in the Kuhio Grill who went the extra mile just because she was doing her job well. The food is good and if you're an elite member you get 25% off full priced menu items. If the hotel is not booked and you have a late flight out (ours was 9pm) ask for the half day if you can get it. It runs about $99. If the hotel is sold out, they will check your bags and give you access to a common room with a shower so you can get that one more day at the beach. Leave extra time to clean up if you do this... There is only one shower and lots of folks are accessing it.

The spa was closed so no information on that except that if you are interested in spa treatments, call ahead of time to make sure it isn't being fixed!

Room Tip: The K tower is in the front of the property, closest to the beach. We had an ocean view room and it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#22 of 83 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 stars 2,892 reviews
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Shore Waikiki
#14 of 83 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 761 reviews
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa

Address: 2552 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#17 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#32 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#40 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#42 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 1310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WAIKIKI BEACH MARRIOTT RESORT & SPA fronts the best stretch of Waikiki Beach. Conveniently located in the heart of Waikiki, the hotel offers 1,310 refurbished guest rooms and suites with private lanai providing spectacular views of world-famous Diamond Head and Waikiki Beach. Other amenities include Kuhio Beach Grill, featuring the best in Pacific Rim cuisine; Sansei Seafood Restaurant & Sushi Bar and d.k Steak House; Arancino di Mare Italian Restaurant; newly redesigned Moana Terrace, offering live Hawaiian entertainment nightly; Seattle’s Best Coffee; Paul Brown’s Spa Olakino * Salon; a surf school; two freshwater, heated swimming pools; 10-person whirlpool; new 3,000 sq. ft. 24-hour fitness center; business center with 24-hour Internet access; high-speed and wireless Internet access throughout the resort’s guest rooms and public spaces; shops and boutiques; and Hawaiian cultural activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waikiki Beach Marriott Hotel Honolulu
Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort And Spa
Marriott Waikiki Beach
Marriott Honolulu
Honolulu Marriott
Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.