We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2552 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #48 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I moved to this hotel from the Courtyard Waikiki Beach, wish I would have stayed here my whole stay. Wonderful hotel, very friendly staff. Great location. Very clean rooms, nice outside bar. I will be back here.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    722
    1,086
    485
    137
    63
See reviews for
598
940
104
267
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (581)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shamong, New Jersey
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

This is a huge hotel that takes up a whole block. It is not on the beach, but across the street from it. Our room had a view of the beach. We were only here for a couple of days prior to our cruise, but if I were staying longer in Waikiki, I would choose one of the nicer hotels that are directly on the beach. There are several that are really nice nice places to stay, like the Surfrider, Outrigger, and Halikaulani. I cannot say anything bad about the Marriott, it is just not the special experience you want in Waikiki.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We had a lovely time at this hotel because it was my husbands first time in Hawaii so it was almost ritualistic to stay in the hub of Waikiki and get this Hawaii thing! Personally I would have preferred to be further away from Waikiki and after 3 nights there my husband agreed. It was quite noisy and the traffic flow on the hotel lifts often meant long waits to get up or down the lifts. Waikiki beach is a disappointment after coming from our beautiful Sydney beaches but the weather and the relaxed atmosphere of this island just gets you in the end. The room was great, roomy and well serviced. Staff great, food ok and we wish we realised we had paid for the full breakfast not the Club breakfast as we missed out on what we paid for and no one explained this to us.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

We always stay here and it never disappoints. Great location, people and views. Ask for a high floor, its amazing to wake up and see the ocean. The restaurant, on the third floor near the pool, overlooking the beach is not to be missed.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We were in Waikiki for a week for a wedding. We booked this hotel after we arrived in Waikiki when our original hotel proved completely unsatisfactory. The move turned out perfect. Clean, updated, well staffed. They made us feel welcome. Situated directly across the street from the beach, it was easy to get some sun time in. Also convenient for tour pick-up points, either right at the hotel or across the street.Two pools, plenty of lounge chairs. Our room had a city view, not ocean but we looked down on the pool and the street beyond. Still beautiful with all the palm trees. Nice bar on the pool level with decent food, the Italian restaurant was overpriced (as is much in Hawaii) for what you got, avoid the buffet. There are so many restaurants and shopping in walking distance or a short trolley ride away anyhow. I've seen some people say they paid for Wi-Fi, however we were given a code to get free access. All in all, an excellent place to stay. Really well kept, attentive staff and convenient location. Would definitely book this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, MD
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

The 33 series of rooms are on the corner and have a window facing directly out towards the beach as well as a balcony facing the beach on another side. I was in 733 thanks to a welcome upgrade from their rewards program. The room and somewhat panoramic view really made this stay much more enjoyable.

I was here on business, but took the family with me. We did have breakfast every day at the Kuhio Grill downstairs. It is a large and delicious buffet with most everything you could want including delicious papaya. Normally, I wouldn't be able to afford this price for my family of five, but the $25 resort fee includes one free breakfast and my kids ate free with one paying adult due to Silver Elite status. So, we had a great breakfast for around $22 for all of us.

The beach across the street is easily accessed and has a protected swimming area that is nice for small kids (my youngest is 2.5 years). This kept the waves out at low tides and allowed a few waves in during high tide, but nothing that big.

Room Tip: The 33 series of rooms have a window on one side and balcony on the other!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Rock, Colorado
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

This hotel has a great location. It is convenient to restaurants, stores and the beach. It is NOT on the beach but it is just across the street from it. Very easy to get there.

We had two rooms, used points and then paid money to guarantee beach view rooms in the Kealohilani tower. Being a Platinum guest, we probably would have been upgraded but I wanted to make sure, so we paid to guarantee it. It was worth it. The view from our room was incredible.

Make sure you ask for the Kealohilani tower. The Kealohilani tower is closest to the beach and is the one to be in. It has the great ocean views. I can't see how you would get any ocean views in the Paokalani tower. The only reason to stay in the Paokalani tower would be to save money. Kealohilani tower has also been renovated.

They really know how to treat elites here - very nice upgraded room. The corner suites are awesome. They checked with me in advance by email for my room preferences.

They require you to pay a resort fee, but they give you a breakfast and drink coupon daily. If you use it, you get your money back and then some. It also includes a 25% discount in the restaurants. So, combined with all that meals were less expensive than we thought they would be on Waikiki.

Breakfast buffet was incredible and well worth the money. Especially after the 25% discount! The wait staff was very attentive. The lines to get in can get a little long, but they move fast. Even our teens wanted to get up to make the buffet each morning. That says it all!

There are two pools - one in each tower:
Kealohilani pool = bar area, no Jacuzzi, fewer kids
Paokalani pool = more kids, no bar, Jacuzzi, right next to fitness center

Some people don't like Waikiki, but I love it - tons of restaurants, shopping and things to do. It is not the quite laid back beach scene.

The crab and prime rib buffet was terrific! After the 25% discount it was very reasonably priced for all that you get. The prime rib was juicy and tender. The crab was snow crab - very sweet crab meat. Everything was cooked to perfection and the service was fantastic. No shortage of anything. They kept dumping out fresh crab constantly.

People say that it is expensive here, but I think it wasn't that bad considering. Just remember you are in Waikiki and at a resort. What do you expect? Use that 25% discount card at the Marriott and the meals become very reasonable.

We bought a bottle of wine that is $16 at home and it was $19 in the ABC store - I think $3 more in Hawaii is fair.

In room safe was very large and plenty of room to put laptops, tablets, cameras, video cameras etc in.

I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for the Kealohilani tower with a beach view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa

Address: 2552 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#17 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#31 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#40 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#40 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 1310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WAIKIKI BEACH MARRIOTT RESORT & SPA fronts the best stretch of Waikiki Beach. Conveniently located in the heart of Waikiki, the hotel offers 1,310 refurbished guest rooms and suites with private lanai providing spectacular views of world-famous Diamond Head and Waikiki Beach. Other amenities include Kuhio Beach Grill, featuring the best in Pacific Rim cuisine; Sansei Seafood Restaurant & Sushi Bar and d.k Steak House; Arancino di Mare Italian Restaurant; newly redesigned Moana Terrace, offering live Hawaiian entertainment nightly; Seattle’s Best Coffee; Paul Brown’s Spa Olakino * Salon; a surf school; two freshwater, heated swimming pools; 10-person whirlpool; new 3,000 sq. ft. 24-hour fitness center; business center with 24-hour Internet access; high-speed and wireless Internet access throughout the resort’s guest rooms and public spaces; shops and boutiques; and Hawaiian cultural activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waikiki Beach Marriott Hotel Honolulu
Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort And Spa
Marriott Waikiki Beach
Marriott Honolulu
Honolulu Marriott
Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.