We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location, reasonable price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2552 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Nightly Credit
Ranked #48 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Fullerton, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, reasonable price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

This hotel is very nice, but of course if you get a low rate, you will occupy a low floor in the rear tower and not have ocean view. But you are right on Waikiki Beach with wonderful morning walks and just a short stroll from excellent restaurants (Azure!) and shopping opportunities. The hotel is huge and completely open. If a tsunami swept through it, arguably it would stay intact. We were there during a tsunami warning and were evacuated to higher ground. It all was very civilized and unhurried. The two in-house restaurants are super. We enjoyed both, the sushi place twice! Best perk, if you ask me: A Harley-Davidson store and rental is right there in the building! We rented a Heritage Softail for two days and had a blast cruising Oahu. I was there for a conference, but tacked on a few days before and after for a mini vacation.

Room Tip: You get what you pay for. If you get a severely discounted room, don't expect ocean view, as I s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    701
    1,033
    454
    130
    57
See reviews for
575
891
96
251
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (536)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
LaSalle, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is an upscale place newer furnishings and decor. We stayed in a two bedroom place and the area around the hotel was small but nice pool and just walk out the front door of the place and you are right on the street for shopping ,restaurants and just a short walk to the beach. This is not a place to just hang out and relax. Get out walk the beach and enjoy the area. There were 6 of us, 3 married couples and with the two baths and three beds lots of room. We didn't use the kitchen ate out for dinner. It was a great location close to many area sites and attractions,could see Diamond Head down the beach. Check it out good place to stay before moving on to another island.Aloha!

Room Tip: Any room would be good. Our room overlooked the pool area so. One could see people sitting outside b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I love the location, the marriott itself is good, clean, very friendly staff, pool area is clean and nice. Beware of resort fee, and expensive parking, also, the Kuhio Grill buffet is just OK, you can do better another spots out on the main drag.
Net/ net, I've stayed in much nicer marriotts around the country, but none with a much better location!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breckenridge, Colorado
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed here the end of April 2013 when we were re-directed at the end of a 3 week trip through China, Hong Kong, and Hawaii. Having stayed at over 8 hotels across the Pacific, this was by far the worst of the lot.
Upon arrival, the bell men were all standing around their desk chatting and after we arrived at the front desk to check in they decided to approach us to help with the bags. Why did we need their help then? Just to get a tip I'm sure - not to really help us. When we checked out, we needed to check our bags for a few hours - and again, the larger woman at the desk when we arrived back to pick up our bags was busy on her cell phone, was irritated for being interrupted and sauntered over to the closet like we were really bothering her.
The young man at check-in was totally rude and wouldn't even listen when I started to explain our situation for our reservation. He just said, I don't need to hear that - just give me your ID. I handed him my ID and of course he couldn't find the reservation because it was a special situation (was using my Marriott points for the room and had spoken to a rep on the phone so I knew it wasn't in his system). He realized the information wasn't in his system and - now irritated because it wasn't a standard situation - and was just SO unpleasant and generally hated his job. What kind of person is that to place at the front desk of a major hotel?? We asked for a non-smoking room with a king sized bed and you would have thought we were requesting something REALLY exceptional with the way he responded - practically rolled his eyes at us. He then informed us that we owed a $25 "resort fee" that included internet access (which I was told was included in the room rate on the phone), and a "Free Mai Tai" which was closed when we got there (we never took adantage of that - plus it was ONE free mai tai and there were two of us). Then there was this whole list of other "benefits" for the resort fee that included using the pool, the weight room and the like - pretty standard for a $189 a night room in a beach resort I would think! Again - if it were presented differently by the front desk clerk, we really didn't have an issue with it but the guy was so creepy about it, we felt like we were just an irritation to the staff there.
The room . . . the view was at another hotel and was lousy. That is what it is but the shower and tub was the dirtiest we had on our whole trip, with lousy water pressure, and random hairs from other people, and the smell of mold and mustiness. The carpet was really disgusting, I didn't even want to take my shoes off.
The pool was up on the 3rd or 4th floor and was in the shade, small and basic. Granted this hotel is across the street from the beach BUT if you are expecting to enjoy the pool in conjunction with the beach, I would look long and hard at this hotel before booking it.
The last issue we had was the layout of the shops in relation to the walk to the main drag/street and the beach. Each time we went downstairs to go out of the hotel, we were forced to walk past both the Marriott timeshare desk (they were actually not too bothersome) but also some carts with sales people selling cosmetics very aggressively - and I just felt like I wanted to run out and not deal with them every single time I walked by. They were foreign and VERY pushy (nice but seriously - I had NO interest in buying their over-priced cosmetics!) and I really hated that component of the hotel. I just wanted to get out and get a cup of coffee!
The information in the hotel was also missing related to what was around for food, coffee, activities, etc. - only those things the hotel owned where they would make money. It just felt like they were not about us enjoying our vacation - but about them making the most amount of money with the least effort.
I went into the spa to book some services, and it was very over-priced ($85+ for a bikini wax for example). I pay less than 1/3 of that at home - AND they add 18% gratuity automatically to each service - so you don't even have that flexibility to determine your tip based on service quality. I went elsewhere on the island.
Seriously - find another hotel that will treat you well and has GOOD rooms for the price.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sundance, Utah
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

This is a tired hotel that needs a new managerial review. The food at the restaurants is mediocre at best. (They couldn't even get the Hawaiian pineapple right as it was mostly core.) You should eat somewhere else on Waikiki. We had to stay there for a convention but the association decided they would not rebook. If you have to stay here, make sure it is on the higher floors as the garbage gets picked up at 6:00am every day. They do charge for both wired and wireless access. This is just not up to the usually high Marriott standards, especially for a resort.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Marriott is a nice hotel across from Waikiki beach not on it to be clear. ABC store downstairs and also home to sensei one of the best Japanese fusion restaurants. Go on sun and Monday to get 50 off but be prepared to line ip as locals and tourists go.
Got upgraded to partial ocean view room. The room was spacious bathroom a little dated and we overlooked the Aston hotel pool that had live music that was pretty good except when you wanted to sleep.

Room Tip: Ocean view is worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at the beginning of a 10-day Oahu trip, our first visit to this island. We ordinarily stay in condos in Hawaii, but wanted to have the Waikiki experience. We chose this hotel because it is close to the quieter end of Waikiki Beach and because of a good review on the website "Oahu Revealed". We requested a high floor (for view and quiet) in the Keohilani Tower when we booked 4 months ago.

We arrived at 1pm from the airport, hoping to check in early. The man at the reception desk was very welcoming and told us he could do a "pre-check-in" for an ocean view room with balcony on the 24th floor, as per our request. He said he could check us in at about 2 pm or, if he was busy, any of the other personnel could check us in then.

When we returned at 2 pm, he was busy, so we got a female employee. She told us the room was not ready yet, but she could give us a room on the 7th floor. We said we'd wait for the room we had already pre-checked in for. She said to come back at 3 pm.

When we returned at 3, we got the same female employee. She left us waiting for several minutes again, (to see if the room was ready?) When she came back she told us the room on the 24th floor was still not ready, but she could give us a room on the 11th floor. She said the Marriott guarantees check-in at 3 pm but employees aren't supposed to do a pre-check in for a particular room. She gave us a choice of waiting even longer for the room on the 24th floor, or taking the room on the 11th floor. We were pretty travel-weary by then, so we caved and took the room on the 11th floor.

The room was probably exactly the same, but we were disappointed that we didn't get the room we were initially promised. Not sure the 24th floor room would have ever been "ready". Room 1104 was a standard hotel room, small bathroom, good shower pressure, plenty of outlets for tech. The balcony was spacious, had decent furniture and a nice view of Waikiki looking southwest. We appreciated having the mini-fridge for the wine we bought in the ABC store downstairs. There was a lot of street noise to be expected in a big city, and we had no way to know if a room on a higher floor would have been quieter.

Had lunch and dinner at the Moana Grill. The service was good, food was average, but the evening live entertainment was fun. Next afternoon we enjoyed nachos and the free mai tais by the pool--great service from the bar. The only shaded areas by the pool are cabana-tents that are roped off for rental. For the $25 resort fee, we expected a bigger, nicer pool and some shade umbrellas!!

We enjoyed our dinner at the Italian restaurant Arancino in the hotel.

Overall, we had a pleasant stay at this hotel, but it wasn't awesome enough that we would recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa

Address: 2552 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#17 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#32 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#32 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#41 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 1310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WAIKIKI BEACH MARRIOTT RESORT & SPA fronts the best stretch of Waikiki Beach. Conveniently located in the heart of Waikiki, the hotel offers 1,310 refurbished guest rooms and suites with private lanai providing spectacular views of world-famous Diamond Head and Waikiki Beach. Other amenities include Kuhio Beach Grill, featuring the best in Pacific Rim cuisine; Sansei Seafood Restaurant & Sushi Bar and d.k Steak House; Arancino di Mare Italian Restaurant; newly redesigned Moana Terrace, offering live Hawaiian entertainment nightly; Seattle’s Best Coffee; Paul Brown’s Spa Olakino * Salon; a surf school; two freshwater, heated swimming pools; 10-person whirlpool; new 3,000 sq. ft. 24-hour fitness center; business center with 24-hour Internet access; high-speed and wireless Internet access throughout the resort’s guest rooms and public spaces; shops and boutiques; and Hawaiian cultural activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Otel, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort And Spa
Waikiki Beach Marriott Hotel Honolulu
Marriott Waikiki Beach
Marriott Honolulu
Honolulu Marriott
Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;