We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2552 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Nightly Credit
Ranked #49 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Stayed there twice in 2012. Last time was in December. I had a nice room, it is in a good location on the Waikiki strip close to everything. The hotel is a bit dated though. the bathroom could use a bit of renovation and the carpet needs changing. The room was clean and the bed comfortable, the staff very helpful.
Would stay here again.

Room Tip: compare rates through direct booking and places lik expedia etc. Try to get parking and internet inc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    696
    1,023
    452
    128
    57
See reviews for
570
883
96
250
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (530)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

As a family, we simply love the Marriott chain. The staff led by Glenn are extremely friendly, from the bell boys and the valet to the reception and the management were always willing and able to help make out needs realistic. The family room is simply huge, the beds were very comfy and the view of the water from the balcony was simply sensational. We love it and will return to this property. Simply brilliant. 10 out of 10

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed here 1 day/night and used rewards points.... I would not pay full price to stay here again. This hotel is not as clean and updated as some of the other Marriott Hotels I have stayed at. The staff at the valet service was very friendly, efficient and helpful, as was registration. Just off the elevator to our room smelled like sour milk, and our room smelled too, although it appeared clean. We called for extra towels to our room and never received them. The pool is small, work out area was nice, location near the beach and action was convenient.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I stayed at the Marriott for a business trip as it is a preferred hotel for my company. The lobby area is clean but this hotel isn't as much a part of the heart of Waikiki shopping and restaurants.
The room décor was a bit dated and were pretty worn down. The room I was assigned must have shared a wall with the elevator as my room shook each time the elevator came and went.

This wasn't an issue for me since I was staying for business but the hotel is not on the beach as others have noted. You need to cross a busy street to get to the closest beach. If you are traveling on business, it is a decent place to stay but I would not recommend for holiday.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I have stayed twice at this lovely hotel. Once in 2008 & once again in 2012. I highly enjoyed my stay here both times & if I were to go back to O'ahu, I would stay here again.

The staff are very friendly & accommodating. I can tell that their goal is to make sure their guests feel comfortable & are enjoying their time here.

Both times, I stayed in a hotel room facing the beach on a high floor. I believe that is the way to go. They offer street views & Diamond Head views at varying prices but you can't beat waking up to the view of Waikiki Beach. It's just breathtaking. I would sometimes leave my balcony door open overnight just to listen to the waves.

I believe they offer two pools; one on each side of the hotel. The one closest to the beach is the one we used. It's not very big but it felt super clean & it looked great. We also frequented the Moana Terrace bar right by the pool. A little on the expensive side but they had great food & drinks.

Parking at this hotel is expensive... I believe it's close to $30 a day. So, we just parked one block (not even a whole block) away. That particular parking garage offered $12 a day parking or around $70 for a week worth. Can't beat that right near the beach.

I highly recommend considering this resort if you are planning on staying RIGHT on the beach & able to splurge a little bit!

Room Tip: High floor & beach view is the way to go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Wonderful spa therapy at this hotel with water therapy , unique one. We loved it and thanks for care taken. It gave us complete relaxation before our last - long flight from Oahu - Honolulu to LA and then via Frankfurt to Mumbai - Pune . a loooong 43 hrs in all. We could enjoy because of this spa therapy taken prior.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Was in the hotel for business work for five days from 04 March to 08 Mar 2013. Neat, well located, well maintained hotel located right in heart of Waikiki beach. Very helpful staff and prompt service. Would surely stay when visiting next.

Room Tip: When staying in rear tower try to take rooms facing EAST. Good view with sun light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa

Address: 2552 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#30 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#32 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#41 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#49 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WAIKIKI BEACH MARRIOTT RESORT & SPA fronts the best stretch of Waikiki Beach. Conveniently located in the heart of Waikiki, the hotel offers 1,310 refurbished guest rooms and suites with private lanai providing spectacular views of world-famous Diamond Head and Waikiki Beach. Other amenities include Kuhio Beach Grill, featuring the best in Pacific Rim cuisine; Sansei Seafood Restaurant & Sushi Bar and d.k Steak House; Arancino di Mare Italian Restaurant; newly redesigned Moana Terrace, offering live Hawaiian entertainment nightly; Seattle’s Best Coffee; Paul Brown’s Spa Olakino * Salon; a surf school; two freshwater, heated swimming pools; 10-person whirlpool; new 3,000 sq. ft. 24-hour fitness center; business center with 24-hour Internet access; high-speed and wireless Internet access throughout the resort’s guest rooms and public spaces; shops and boutiques; and Hawaiian cultural activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Otel, Odigeo, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort And Spa
Waikiki Beach Marriott Hotel Honolulu
Marriott Waikiki Beach
Marriott Honolulu
Honolulu Marriott
Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.