We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not overly impressed!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2552 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #48 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Not overly impressed!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Stayed at this hotel 2 years ago and again just recently. This is a 4 star hotel on the fast-track to becoming a 3 star hotel. Service was spotty, prices were high. Water from the tap smelled like it was coming from a swamp. Carpets and rugs were dirty and worn, especially in common areas. Still a nice place to visit, but seeing the difference that two years make, I won't be going back. This hotel likely more suitable for the party crowd as it is located in an extremely noisy area at the end of Waikiki beach. Woke up every night to the sounds of vehicle back-up beepers and sirens. Lots of street people around here as well, camping on the sidewalks and the bushes on / near the beach. Probably much better / quieter places for a family vacation.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,747 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    792
    1,182
    546
    156
    71
See reviews for
665
1,029
111
301
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (667)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
324 reviews 324 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

I normally don't stay at a Marriott in Honolulu and since I this hotel was less than my normal hotel, and the fact that I am an Elite Member, I opted for this hotel. Big Mistake.

The rooms are OK, at best. I leave at 6 am while I am here for work and return at 5 pm or so and in that amount of time, the housekeeping staff didn't make up my room. They had 11 hours to make up my room and I had to return to my room unkept and I had complained. That day, I had a video conference and the housekeeping staff was making up my room during the video conference. Not acceptable.

The valet/parking service is awful. The local taxi company's come in and they block the entrance and exit of the hotel for those who elected to use the Valet service. The Valet's themselves complain about this but the management of the hotel seems to allow this. For me, this was a pain in the a .... OK neck.

I found the elevator cars messy and with lots of spills on the floor. As far as returning here, I guess I would have to say that I would opt for my normal hotel which I really like, but is a little more expensive, about another $20 per night. Point being take the more expensive hotel and leave this in your rear view mirror.

Lastly, I found the hotel rooms to be noisy to the outside. I could hear the trucks and buses from the outside. Again, something that I find to be unacceptable especially since I have to be up at 5:30 am for work.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

I stay in a lot of hotels ranging widely in quality, and I have learned the telltale signs of a badly run hotel. During my stay here, the hotel made many mistakes, all minor, but the number of mistakes and the repetition of the same ones tell me there is no attention to the quality of service customers deserve. In my case, they made the same mistake four times. Yes, it was a minor one, not even worth mentioning. The first time they fixed it. Then they made the same mistake again (and were told by me), and again and once again, at which time I just gave up. On top of that they charged me for something they assured me was free (but they did correct it). And finally, imagine asking for a restaurant recommendation and being told that outside of their restaurants and the Italian one next door, they were not aware of any restaurants nearby.

I usually prefer Hiltons and Hyatts. I haven't stayed in a Marriott in years and probably won't for awhile. In general, the hotel does need some renovation but it's tolerable. Of course, when you're the Marriott Waikiki, you're not going to have a shortage of customers, so they can do almost anything and not worry about it.

In short, they're coasting on their prime location and general Marriott reputation, but this hotel is far below the minimum standards you ought to get for even much less money.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

It's right across the street from Waikiki beach, so you have access to all of the Waikiki experience. You won't be in the executive lounge anytime soon, and it seems to lack the other usual Marriott amenities. Rooms will need renovating in a few years, and elevators are slow. Not a bad property

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Spent a couple of weeks at the Waikiki Beach Marriott. Have stayed at better hotels before and will not be staying with them ever again. The furniture (the couch was old and dirty); the bathtub grout needs to be replaced; very old plumbling; bathroom is very small and no where to hang your towels. Paper cups for 'complimentary' coffee and tea - hot coffee in paper cups - really?? Not up to the Marriott standard. Housekeeping staff was nice. No microwaves. No breakfast. The $25 (+ tax) per night resort fee is just deplorable and a cash grab, especially when the benefits were worthless to us. Would have preferred paying the $25 per day for breakfast. For 15 minutes, we continuously tried to call for a bell boy to get our luggage before checking out, there was no response. We eventually had to take our own luggage down. Will definitely not staying at this hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

My family and I were stopping though Honolulu to see the Pearl Harbor memorial and other sites in the area before moving on to our relaxing part of the vacation.

Our experience here was marginal,overall I will not stay here again.

My comments:
Resort Fee, I was able to have them remove the "resort fee" since I bought a rate with breakfast included, but I would have been very annoyed had they continued to push the 25$ a day fee. Be warned.

The lobby didn't keep fresh water or coffee available to their guests and I actually thought at this level of Marriott that was standard.

There is no concierge level for elite members, again a perk that I have had at most Marriott locations I have visited in large cities, and it seems a little cheap to me to not have this perk considering the rate that I was paying.

Finally, the wear and tear on the rooms. The rooms my parents and I were in seemed to be in rough shape, The bag stand broke when I put my bag on it, the carpet was worn, and the room just seemed tired. As did much of the hotel.

On the plus side the service was good and everyone was very helpful.
They put a small roll away in the room for my son, they were responsive at the valet desk and the car was always there when we called ahead, the team seems to work hard for the hotel yet the management seems to not worry about facilities.

The nice things about the hotel in terms of facilities/rooms were:
updated and modern workout room
Soft and comfortable bedding

I will not be staying here again, unless this hotel does some major upgrades, is more up front about their fees and actually takes care of the Marriott members that spend many nights in this brand.

Room Tip: None of the rooms face the ocean, there are ocean views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I have had a few pleasant stays at the Waikiki Beach Marriott over the last several years, most recently last year. But this trip I will not be staying with them, nor will I ever again. They started charging a $25 per night resort fee for free internet and scuba lessons. Gold and Platinum rewards members get free internet at all locations. A 30-minute scuba lesson is not worth the 7 days x $25/day for someone who is not remotely interested in scuba diving. I called the hotel to double check on this fee and was told "We charge everyone." End of story. The Hilton Waikiki behind the Marriot is great. No resort fee, no internet fee for gold or diamond members (plus free breakfast and evening snacks for gold/platinum in the executive lounge 7 days a week). I would recommend you sacrifice the location one long block from the beach, for all the benefits.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa

Address: 2552 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#17 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#31 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#39 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#40 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 1310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WAIKIKI BEACH MARRIOTT RESORT & SPA fronts the best stretch of Waikiki Beach. Conveniently located in the heart of Waikiki, the hotel offers 1,310 refurbished guest rooms and suites with private lanai providing spectacular views of world-famous Diamond Head and Waikiki Beach. Other amenities include Kuhio Beach Grill, featuring the best in Pacific Rim cuisine; Sansei Seafood Restaurant & Sushi Bar and d.k Steak House; Arancino di Mare Italian Restaurant; newly redesigned Moana Terrace, offering live Hawaiian entertainment nightly; Seattle’s Best Coffee; Paul Brown’s Spa Olakino * Salon; a surf school; two freshwater, heated swimming pools; 10-person whirlpool; new 3,000 sq. ft. 24-hour fitness center; business center with 24-hour Internet access; high-speed and wireless Internet access throughout the resort’s guest rooms and public spaces; shops and boutiques; and Hawaiian cultural activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Marriott, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort And Spa
Waikiki Beach Marriott Hotel Honolulu
Marriott Waikiki Beach
Marriott Honolulu
Honolulu Marriott
Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.