We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On the Beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2552 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #48 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Hartford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“On the Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stayed at the Waikiki Beach Marriot pre- and post cruise. Pre-cruise, because of a glitch we were upgraded to the "K" tower with a room with a view of both Waikiki Beach and Diamond Head. The room was large and nicely furnished. The hotel has enough rerstaurants and shops to satisfy everyone and every budget. The post cruise room was in the "P" tower and had less space, older furnishing and a musty smell. There was a balcony as well with a view of Diamond Head and ther hotels across the street. What we couldn't understand was that you could hear street noises at all times from both rooms. One was on the 5th floor, the other 25th!!! One would think that hotels would have sound proofed windows.
The hotel is almost at the end of the beach strip, but is not so far that you cannot walk to the "action". Tours companies pick up at the back entrance to the hotel or across the street at the Aston Wakiki Beach. It was convenient and adequate because when you come down to it, you don't go to Hawaii to sit in your hotel room!

Room Tip: Stay in the "K" Tower. The rooms are newer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    711
    1,046
    463
    130
    58
See reviews for
585
899
101
257
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (548)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

stayed for 12 nights here last november - a fantastic hotel with terrific rooms and infrastructure. friendly and helpful staff and a great location - as schwarzenneger (Is that how u spell it??) says I'LL BE Back! for sure

Room Tip: if u want to maximise the sun on your balcony ask for a gable front room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The room, and furnishings had obviously seen better times. But the room was still generally clean by western standards.
It's right on Kalakua Ave. so it has the Waikiki beachfront at its doorsteps.
Dining choices outside the hotel are aplenty.

Room Tip: A beach view or pool view room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed ten nights .Spacious, clean rooms and very comfortable beds.Fabulous amenities. The lobby area was very beautiful and the hotel is steps from the beach.I would return here again for the right price.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel one night in Dec. and one night in Jan on stopovers headed to the Far East. As you expect from the location that this is a resort hotel and is very large with large pool and many amenities resort related. As most resorts due in this area they will charge you a $26 "Resort Fee" which is not included in your quoted rate. Since I normally only stay one night and depart early in the morning the hotel kindly waives the resort fee when asked as I do not have time to use the recreational facilities. The tower rooms a very nice and comfortable with a terrific view. When in Waikiki I always stay at this location unless I a here for a few days the I stay out at Ko Olina resort. The Sansei Sushi restaurant is fantastic with a wide selection of sushi and seafood. Hotel staff is always very friendly and helpful. Wireless Internet is available in the rooms however varies with different sections of the hotel.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mpls, Minnesota
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The hotel is centrally located within walking distance to various restaurants and shopping. Right across the street from Waikiki beach. Two reasons I don't rate it excellent as I usually do with other Marriotts. We had a "city view" which was the parking lot and neighboring highrises. Also, we were charged $25 per day in addition to what we had prepaid via MLT. It was for a daily paper (we received it 1/2 days) Internet (did use it), fax, and various other "business perks" of which we used zero. The rooms (huge) and hotel were clean and there is a lovely lobby which we appreciated as we had a long layover. Staff is wonderful. Nice coffee shop and the morning brunch was top notch!

Room Tip: Beware of "City view" - ask what the "view" is... or ask to see the room first...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

The Marriott Waikiki is in need of major renovations, the floral carpet from the 90's to the furniture and decor! its all from a different era, although not dirty in anyway the beds are usual comfortable marriott style, everything has a motel feel to it! and at $330 I expected more, we only had one night so really didnt experience any of the shopping stores or breakfast.
The staff are friendly as expected but unless there is no other choice I wouldnt pay these rates to stay here again.....

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa

Address: 2552 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#17 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#31 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#34 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#38 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 1310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WAIKIKI BEACH MARRIOTT RESORT & SPA fronts the best stretch of Waikiki Beach. Conveniently located in the heart of Waikiki, the hotel offers 1,310 refurbished guest rooms and suites with private lanai providing spectacular views of world-famous Diamond Head and Waikiki Beach. Other amenities include Kuhio Beach Grill, featuring the best in Pacific Rim cuisine; Sansei Seafood Restaurant & Sushi Bar and d.k Steak House; Arancino di Mare Italian Restaurant; newly redesigned Moana Terrace, offering live Hawaiian entertainment nightly; Seattle’s Best Coffee; Paul Brown’s Spa Olakino * Salon; a surf school; two freshwater, heated swimming pools; 10-person whirlpool; new 3,000 sq. ft. 24-hour fitness center; business center with 24-hour Internet access; high-speed and wireless Internet access throughout the resort’s guest rooms and public spaces; shops and boutiques; and Hawaiian cultural activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Marriott, Despegar.com, Priceline, Otel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort And Spa
Waikiki Beach Marriott Hotel Honolulu
Marriott Waikiki Beach
Marriott Honolulu
Honolulu Marriott
Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.