We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place with plenty of experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2552 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #48 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Honolulu, Hawaii
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Nice place with plenty of experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

I stayed at the Waikiki Beach Marriott because of a rerouted flight and was pleasantly surprised. This property has been on the Honolulu beach for decades and is a very large, sprawling place. Rooms are 'standard' for Waikiki (circa 1970's) and their are plenty of choices for food and activities. It is in the heart of town, so if you like your windows open, you'll also get the sounds of the city and the nearby zoo (which has one very noisy lion). All in all, its a nice stay with friendly staff.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    725
    1,088
    485
    140
    63
See reviews for
601
941
105
268
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (585)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

My husband and I arrived here yesterday from a very long trip coming Hong Kong. My 2nd time to stay in this hotel was in 2005 to celebrate my mothers retirement so I was a little skeptical as to how the property Has aged or the service have changed over the years. Here's my take on this hotel and mind you we still have another 11 days to go. The check in process - we were greeted by Jantin a lovely man who made us feel at home, the room we booked via the Internet was a city view and like everyone else we were hoping for an upgrade however due to the high occupancy rate and its peak season (4 days before Christmas) there was not much availability but he was able to find us an ocean view room on Level 6 and gave us a discount on the upgrade fee. Note that this hotel will charge you a daily resort fee of 25USD which covers , daily Internet access, 60 minute international calls every day, free local calls, cultural and fitness lessons and Mai Tai cocktail vouchers. For us the value is okay, for others it may be seen as an unnecessary expense.
This room is away from the noisy Tiki Bar. The Room is clean, spacious living room, basic bathroom and toilet. Not a great deal of storage but okay for a short stay. Theres is no mini bar and the coffee and tea making facilities are minimal. We are going explore the gym and the restaurants in the next few days but I love this hotel for its location. It's within the Diamond Head of the street and right next to the beach and all amenities including a Catholic Church for the religious. First impressions positive!

Room Tip: Read people's feedback on different noise levels, you'll find them helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chania Town, Greece
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Good hotel, excellent location, nice facilities and good cleaning service. Enjoyed facilities and friendly, helpful staff. Our partial ocean view did have a nice view of the ocean and we enjoyed the balcony. Would recommend this hotel to others seeking good value. We paid for hotel through package deal along with the airfare and therefore paid a pretty reasonable rate; an additional "resort fee" of $25.00/day was added on (with our knowledge) that covered the cost of daily internet service, one free drink per room (not per person) and a newspaper. Did not feel this was great value.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado, USA
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We stayed for the Honolulu Marathon, and it was perfectly located for that, but most of the waikiki stuff is a couple of blocks west. The rooms are a little dated compared to other Marriotts we've been to, but it was a very comfortable stay. The hotel staff was very nice and polite.

Our biggest concern was the hotel across the street from us had a patio bar on the street that was constantly playing very loud music. With the way the two hotels were situated, the noise just kept reverberating, so it wasn't a very restful place to stay.

We wouldn't be against staying here again, but might look at other options as well.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

I don't have any major complaints about this Marriott. It was in a good location on Waikiki Beach and was walking distance to the beach, shops and restaurants, and Diamondhead. I know it was close to the Honolulu zoo because I could see elephants from my balcony. The pool was just okay. The deck surrounding it was big but the pool itself was nothing spectacular. The room was small but it was clean, standard Marriott decor. The parking was too expensive for the area. They did recognize me as a platinum member at the front desk which I did appreciate. I would recommend this hotel for travelers or vacationers.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Front desk was very friendly and helpful. The room was large and the bathroom ok and everything was clean. The hotel is located across from Waikiki beach on the lower end of the strip a nice location except for the transients camping on the sidewalk for a 3 or 4 block stretch.
I thought the parking was a bit high even for the area, $35 for valet and $32 for self park. We didn't use any of the other hotel facilities so can't really comment on the bars, restaurants, pools, exercise room or shops, although they all looked nice.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky, USA
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

I have stayed at a variety of hotels on the Waikiki strip. The Marriott is one of my favorites. It isn't especially romantic or unique, but it is located in a nice, quiet corner of Waikiki and is a great value for the price.

I spent a week at this hotel with a friend on a "girl's trip". We used Marriott points to pay for our stay, but the hotel treated us, in all respects, like we were paying full price. We had booked a partial ocean view room, but were upgraded free of charge. The room was airy and bright. It was smaller than most "standard" Marriott rooms, but had upgraded "Hawaiian" furnishings that gave it a unique charm. The bathroom was spacious and clean and there was plenty of closet space.

Although the hotel is really large, it feels compact. You never have to walk too far to get to an elevator. There are convenient shops and coffee located in the open-air lobby (including Honolulu Cookie Company- one of my faves!).

The Marriott is the last major hotel on the "strip" before you get to Diamond Head. Some people think that it is "too far away" from the main Waikiki action. I, however, prefer the quieter locale. The beach right across the street (literally steps away) is less crowded than the "Surfrider" area. Traffic is less congested (there is easy access to the highway if you go the back way) and it just has a more relaxed feel.


I would definitely go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa

Address: 2552 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#17 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#31 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#40 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#40 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 1310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WAIKIKI BEACH MARRIOTT RESORT & SPA fronts the best stretch of Waikiki Beach. Conveniently located in the heart of Waikiki, the hotel offers 1,310 refurbished guest rooms and suites with private lanai providing spectacular views of world-famous Diamond Head and Waikiki Beach. Other amenities include Kuhio Beach Grill, featuring the best in Pacific Rim cuisine; Sansei Seafood Restaurant & Sushi Bar and d.k Steak House; Arancino di Mare Italian Restaurant; newly redesigned Moana Terrace, offering live Hawaiian entertainment nightly; Seattle’s Best Coffee; Paul Brown’s Spa Olakino * Salon; a surf school; two freshwater, heated swimming pools; 10-person whirlpool; new 3,000 sq. ft. 24-hour fitness center; business center with 24-hour Internet access; high-speed and wireless Internet access throughout the resort’s guest rooms and public spaces; shops and boutiques; and Hawaiian cultural activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waikiki Beach Marriott Hotel Honolulu
Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort And Spa
Marriott Waikiki Beach
Marriott Honolulu
Honolulu Marriott
Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.