We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good night's sleep” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2552 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #48 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
London, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A good night's sleep”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

This hotel is located just off the beach. We had a partial ocean view from our balcony. The king bed was so comfortable - we managed to get a good night's sleep for the 4 days we stayed here. There is free WIFI in the lobby. The breakfast buffet was really good - eggs, bacon, sausage, a potato dish, fresh vegetables and fruit, baked goods, even rice, miso soup, and pickles for those who enjoy Japanese food. The bathroom sink area was open to the room and the toilet and bath were behind a pocket door - seemed a little cramped in there! The Waikiki strip was extremely busy on Sunday night - be sure to reserve at table at the popular eateries or you'll be walking for a while until you find someplace that doesn't have a long line-up. If you want to get to the Ala Moana Mall or shop further down the strip, catch a trolley just around the corner at the Aston Waikiki hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    722
    1,086
    485
    137
    63
See reviews for
598
940
104
267
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (581)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed 8 nights at Marriott Waikiki. We requested room change because of loud family next door. Room we moved to was dirty and had cracked sink. Housekeeping forgot to clean our room once and didn't provide toilet paper another day. We've stayed multiple times in Marriott Waikiki and Kaui and have never been offered us a free room upgrade nor care to help if we have problem with room. Will not return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Hotel is showing its age. Could use new carpet, etc. Nice location right across from the beach. Pools are basic but had plenty of open chairs. Service was standard, but nothing over and above. Our room was on the 24th floor which had a nice view of Diamond Head. Although it was a deluxe ocean view room, you could only see the ocean if you were right at the window or out on the balcony. Bed faced away from the ocean which kinda defeats the purpose in my book.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dübendorf, Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Me and my wife stayed here in September 2012.
We got a room on the 22nd floor with a great view of Diamond Head and a side view of the ocean. Consider we had booked a "partly ocean view", this view exceeded my expectations.

The hotel itself feels a bit old, and the room could do with a bit of refurbishing, but it was clean and the balcony was nice (unless you suffer from high-anxiety).

The big advantage with this hotel is the location; directly on Waikiki Beach. You have a great selection of restaurants and night-life within walking distance, and if you want to go to Downtown Honolulu, Diamond Head or the Ala Moana mall, the buses stop just around the corner.
We never had breakfast in the hotel; there are lots of alternatives nearby (e.g. Eggs and Things). For dinner I highly recommend the Sansei Seafood Restaurant in the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Everything you would expect of a Marriott. VERY Small pool though for the number of rooms. But, hey, Waikiki beach is literally across the street. "Chain" coffee shops at the lobby. Wolfgung Pack rest/pizzeria at the hotel across the street. ABC store (7-11 type convenience store) right in front.

Make sure you try the Spam Sushi at the independently owned sushi place in front of the hotel. Also go to the Aloha Bowl Flea market for souvenirs on the weekends, much cheaper than the Waikiki tourist trap souvenir stores. The Chinese restaurant at the ground floor/basement of the Hyatt, walking distance from the hotel, has excellent dimsum. Jackie Chan actually eats there!!!

Rent a car if that is possible as the drive, Island loop around Oahu is a must. We actually saw turtles laying eggs, in the middle of the day, in the North Shore Area. Skip the Luaus as they are definitely TOO touristry. Spend your money somewhere else.

The swim-with-dolphins experience at the Kahala Mandarin Oriental is also a must if traveling with kids. Kahala, on the eastern end of Diamond head BTW is the Beverly Hills equivalent of Hawaii.

I would definitely stay at this Marriott again as it is very convenient to everything.

Tip: If you do go to the Arizona Memorial, first buy your tickets, then go to the Aloha Bowl, if it's a weekend, for the flea market, while waiting for your allotted time to take the tour. Also buy snorkelling gear to take with you instead of renting, i.e. Hanauma bay etc etc.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Disappointing, I expected much better. Front desk are efficient but not friendly. Not offered help with bags. Room staff fabulous, friendly and helpful. The best rooms are above the bar which is noisy.

Room Tip: Be firm on your room choice. We booked top of the tree deluxe ocean view and had to fight to not hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exton, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

I read alot of reviews before booking this hotel and wound up with absolutely no complaints. We stayed for 9 nights and found that we did not want anything that was not at the facility.
We usually are satisfied with just a clean room and comfortable bed and are not used to alot of ammenities. For people that want all the bells and whistles, this is probably not your place. The bed was the most comfortable bed we ever had at a hotel which is very important. The bathroom was small but we did not feel we needed anything different. No complaints with the staff or maid service. Only had one issue with drunk rowdy guys in the next room on Saturday night and went to the front desk to make them aware of the situation and by the time I walked back up to my room security was already there and that was the last time we heard anything from that room.
We stayed in room 429 in the K-tower. Could hear the music from the bar when on the balcony(lanai), but that ends at 9:30pm. This room has a view of the courtyard which is nice because you are set back from the street noise which we never heard.
Moana Terrace and Kuhio Grill are just o.k., but you do not lack choices of restaurants in Waikiki.
Fitness center is updated and very nice.
Lounges around smallish pool are a relaxing spot to get lunch service and chill out.
The Kuhio Beach across the street has a seawall so the area is like a lake and excellent for little kids.
Some reviews are bad on the wi-fi and parking. We found the wi-fi was free in the public areas although sometimes slow. If you park literally across the street at the Banyan the parking is only $12/24hrs. It is also nice that it is at the end of Waikiki so you can access H1 expressway without having to deal with the downtown area.
Overall we were extremely happy with all aspects of this property and look forward to returning in 2013

Room Tip: room 429 was well isolated from outside distractions. I think if you go higher you might get more ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa

Address: 2552 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#17 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#31 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#40 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#40 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 1310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WAIKIKI BEACH MARRIOTT RESORT & SPA fronts the best stretch of Waikiki Beach. Conveniently located in the heart of Waikiki, the hotel offers 1,310 refurbished guest rooms and suites with private lanai providing spectacular views of world-famous Diamond Head and Waikiki Beach. Other amenities include Kuhio Beach Grill, featuring the best in Pacific Rim cuisine; Sansei Seafood Restaurant & Sushi Bar and d.k Steak House; Arancino di Mare Italian Restaurant; newly redesigned Moana Terrace, offering live Hawaiian entertainment nightly; Seattle’s Best Coffee; Paul Brown’s Spa Olakino * Salon; a surf school; two freshwater, heated swimming pools; 10-person whirlpool; new 3,000 sq. ft. 24-hour fitness center; business center with 24-hour Internet access; high-speed and wireless Internet access throughout the resort’s guest rooms and public spaces; shops and boutiques; and Hawaiian cultural activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waikiki Beach Marriott Hotel Honolulu
Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort And Spa
Marriott Waikiki Beach
Marriott Honolulu
Honolulu Marriott
Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.