We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2552 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #47 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Port Clinton, Ohio
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Outstanding place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Merriott from July 28th to August 5th and we both could not be more pleased with the accomodations and hospitality the Merriott gave us during our stay. We arrived on Saturday morning at 7 am and thought we would try to check-in. Our room wasn't ready but they gave us a room to shower and rest from our trip. Once the room was ready they called the room we were in and told us we could now get into our room and would have our luggage taken to our room. Because our return flight was at 11 pm the following Saturday they allowed us a late check out for $99 more and allowed us to stay in the room until we were ready to leave for the airport. Great view of Waikiki Beach and the most beautiful sunsets we had ever seen. This place embraced the whole Hawaiian culture of kindness and hospitality and we will be back.

Room Tip: Spend a few more bucks to upgrade to an Ocean View. Every morning we watched the sunrise drinking o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    721
    1,073
    474
    134
    62
See reviews for
594
925
101
265
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (571)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
243 reviews 243 reviews
132 hotel reviews
Reviews in 135 cities Reviews in 135 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Booked an oceanfront "oversized" room according to the description. Ended up on the 16th floor with a beautiful view of Waikiki Beach. Large room with a minifrig and no microwave. Great balcony, large enough for both of us to comfortably sit and enjoy the great views. The bathroom was tiny and the carpet entering the room was worn. The rest of the room was fine. Several places to eat on the property and for the most part enjoyed them. The seafood buffet was a surprise considering the previous reviews. While I agree the food is not great there are two things that make it worthwhile--1. the snow crab legs were perfectly steamed and constantly available and 2. the smoked marlin. Easy to make a great meal out of both. The frustrations in addition to the tiny bathroom included lousy internet service. For $70 a week you can utilize two devices so if you have two smart phones, an ipad and a laptop it would be double. Then, the internet does not function properly and boots you off without warning with a loss of work. Very frustrating especially due to the expense. Parking is available valet or self-parking for $32 a day. Self-parking ends up top level and you will be quite dizzy before you reach the top coming in or the bottom going out. Hertz and valet gets the bottom levels. The pool is on the third floor and outdoor with no shade unless you pay $25 a day for a cabana. With today's focus on preventing skin cancer that was a real disappointment. The beach is ok but very crowded and across the street. Most beaches in this area are across the street or further from your hotel. Westin and Hilton Hawaian Village are truly beachfront. I would stay in the Marriott again if in this area despite the frustrations.

Room Tip: You must book K Tower oceanfront away from Diamond Head to get a great view and a level of 10 or hig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, OR
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

After seeing mixed reviews on this property I felt it was going to be a hit or miss stay. I am pleased to say that it was a hit! My husband is a Marriott Elite Member which usually means he/we receive a guaranteed room upgrade which we did on this trip as well from a standard room to a city view junior suite with ample room for the two of us, two balconies each complete with 2 chairs and a small table and a city/partial ocean view. The two pools both located on the 3rd floor were on the small side with limited sunning areas so I would highly recommend staking your chair claim no later than 10A to assure yourself a sunny spot. The pool bar staff were one of the best we have had the pleasure of using during a vacation. The customer service was OUTSTANDING from the time we arrived to the time we departed and that goes comment applies to the front desk, maid service, and especially the pool bar staff!
There were some reviews that made mention that due to the properties close proximity to Kapiolani Park that the homeless people seemed to be an issue, I beg to differ. We were up walking early each morning and returning fairly late each night and had no hassles or problems of any sort with regards to that situation. The property has a great location a bit on the outskirts, but still close enough to walk to dining, shopping, or nightlife and truth be told unless you plan on doing alot of siteseeing there is no need for a car. Oh and for the Starbucks junkies, there is one located just a couple blocks away.
Over all I would highly recommend this property and if our travels should bring us back to Waikiki in the future, we would definitely stay here again.

Mahalo Waikiki Beach Marriott!!

Room Tip: Request a room in the tower closes to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterville, ME
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

I stayed here for four nights, and would in general give it about a 3.5. As an MR elite member I was given a corner room with two views. Unfortunately because of all the skyscrapers around it I could only get a glimpse of Diamond Head or Waikiki Beach. The front desk staff was fine, but the nicest people in the hotel were the staff, both housekeeping and the restaurants. The restaurants in this hotel are fabulous, and they deserve a 5. But the room was small, only had minimal toiletries, no bathrobe, etc. The bigger problem was that it was not that clean. On the surface yes, but if you happened to be sitting on the floor unpacking, not so good. Deep cleaning of the carpets (or even corner cleaning) obviously hasn't been done in a long time, and the floors of the bathroom were the same.

The two pools in the towers are nice, but quite small. I would definitely stay on another island if I go again.

Room Tip: Ask for a very high room. Despite my high elite status, I was given a room on the 15th floor. There...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva2009
Top Contributor
223 reviews 223 reviews
99 hotel reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Staying for a few days, a great point is the fitness. Great equipment. The (very small) pools are basically full of chlor and thus little useful. Rooms are equipped as marriotts used to be equipped 20 years ago. Wi fi in the room BUT only to be used with one tool at a time. Tough if both want to use an smartphone or iPad...
Carefully about the rooms: there are two tower s... Request the one closer to the beach if not your view will be very disappointing .
Staff in general lacks service and interest of well being of guest.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms if you really want a view. At least above 8th floor if not you have all the noise for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Korea
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

I stayed for four days in July 2012 with spouse and 4yr old.
- Good location: located near one end of main strip (quieter end), within short walking distance of heart of main strip
- Close to beach: only thing between hotel entrance and Waikiki beach is one street (3 car lanes). beach is VERY close, this is basically a beachfront hotel. beach in front hotel seemed much nicer than the ones in front of Sheraton Waikiki. cost for renting beach chair & umbrella on beach (not run by Marriott) was pretty high so if you can do without, save the money
- Decent rooms: no real complaints about the room, has all the basics. bathroom is slightly small but not an issue.
- Pool: 2 pool areas located on 3rd floor of hotel, not large enough for people to do laps (I don't think you can find large pools anywhere else in Waikiki anyways) but large enough for just wading around, didn't feel crowded at all (even though no one checks for non-guests)
- Car rental and parking: Hertz located within hotel and parking was within same tower as my room so very convenient. (Word of advice about Hertz though: they close at 3pm and they only had 1 person there so hard to reach them by phone)
- Shops/food: Convenience store located on 1st floor, decent mix of shops and restaurants within hotel, lots of shops/restaurants right outside on main strip
- Atmosphere: Definitely more relaxed than hotels like Sheraton Waikiki (maybe it was because there are less people in the hotel?), relatively quieter too
- Pricing: Don't think the price was that different from hotels located more centrally on Waikiki beach but it may be because I booked late. Not that I'm complaining about the pricing but if the pricing was cheaper than centrally located hotels, I think it would be great value.

Overall, I was pretty satisfied with the hotel because it had almost everything I needed. Not luxurious but we didn't spend that much time in the room or hotel anyways so wasn't important for us.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agoura Hills, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

I used my Marriott points for an overnight layover at the Waikiki Beach Marriott after a long flight from Manila. I had to pay an extra $125 to get upgraded to an ocean view room, however. (Last year when I had an overnight layover at the Hilton, I got an oceanfront room at no extra charge and with zero cost since I used my points).

The check-in lady at the Marriott was quite pleasant and checked us in with no problems. Parking costs $30 though, which is higher than the Hilton Hawaiian Village's $24. The parking garage was not as good as the Hilton's - the corners were actually unsafe.

The fitness room had new equipment and the machines had screens where you can watch shows while exercising.

The breakfast buffet was just OK, compared to the breakfast buffet at the Peninsula Hotel in Manila the day before, which was fantastic. The Marriott's was no big deal - just an ordinary breakfast.

The room was OK but it was smaller than Hilton rooms. The bathroom was also smaller than Hilton bathrooms. The bed was very comfortable.

Overall an O.K. stay. No complaints - but I would rate the Hilton just a tad higher.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa

Address: 2552 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#17 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#32 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#37 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#38 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 1310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WAIKIKI BEACH MARRIOTT RESORT & SPA fronts the best stretch of Waikiki Beach. Conveniently located in the heart of Waikiki, the hotel offers 1,310 refurbished guest rooms and suites with private lanai providing spectacular views of world-famous Diamond Head and Waikiki Beach. Other amenities include Kuhio Beach Grill, featuring the best in Pacific Rim cuisine; Sansei Seafood Restaurant & Sushi Bar and d.k Steak House; Arancino di Mare Italian Restaurant; newly redesigned Moana Terrace, offering live Hawaiian entertainment nightly; Seattle’s Best Coffee; Paul Brown’s Spa Olakino * Salon; a surf school; two freshwater, heated swimming pools; 10-person whirlpool; new 3,000 sq. ft. 24-hour fitness center; business center with 24-hour Internet access; high-speed and wireless Internet access throughout the resort’s guest rooms and public spaces; shops and boutiques; and Hawaiian cultural activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Marriott, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort And Spa
Waikiki Beach Marriott Hotel Honolulu
Marriott Waikiki Beach
Marriott Honolulu
Honolulu Marriott
Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.