We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Park Shore Waikiki

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Park Shore Waikiki to your Saves list
Park Shore Waikiki
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2586 Kalakaua Ave., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 15%!
Ranked #11 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We took our vacation the end of Nov. This is a great place to stay. The front desk People are awesome and very accommodating. This was our 5th year stay at this hotel, I wouldn't want to stay anywhere else. A lot more quieter across the road is the beach.

Room Tip: Try to get into a ocean view or ocean front room, Great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    195
    51
    7
    0
See reviews for
138
252
41
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Secaucus, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We really enjoyed our stay at this gem of a hotel. The staff was very professional and courteous. Our suite was very roomy and comfortable, and had an amazing view of diamond head and a partial view of the beach.

They provide towels and beach chairs. Since we had a late flight, they allowed us to stay a few extra hours after checkout for an additional $10, which I though was a great deal. The rooms were well kept and clean. The location is ideal. The beach across the street has a seawall which makes it great for families with little ones. It's right across from the Honolulu zoo and a short drive from diamond head. It's away from the crowds, and the noise, but also a very short walk from the shops and restaurants.

Oh the premises, it's Lulu's cafe, which we thought was wonderful, and had more than a few meals there. The food is very good and it's inexpensive. The Japanese restaurant on the first floor is pricier, but had very authentic Japanese cuisine.

I did a lot of research prior to booking this hotel and I can honestly say it's one of the best values in Waikiki. We ended up staying at the Marriott, which is one block down from the Park Shore, after our flight back home got canceled. I am a Marriott rewards member, but I am glad that we chose the Park Shore for our stay, as our experience at the Marriott did not compare.

The Park Shore exceeded my expectations. I would highly recommend it and if I ever go back to Honolulu, I know where I'll be staying.

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor room to avoid any traffic noise from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My wife and I and our 2yo were looking for a quiet hotel that is away from all the hustle and bustle and decided on Park Shore Waikiki.

We arrived at 8am and the (smiley) staffs were super accommodating and provided us with a room upon our arrival (instead of waiting till the usual check-in time of 3pm (mind you, we were travelling during non-peak season I might add). Lucky for us, every single one of the staff were really nice, super helpful and always wear a smile (this is before tipping!) - some even remembered us by name, how good is that?!

The size of the room is on the small scale (esp if you compare it against those in Asia) but adequate for the 2.5 of us. The large King size bed occupied most of the floor space and the wardrobe was small enough to fit our 2x suitcases. The large TV with good cables selection kept us occupied during down time and the bathroom (with jet like shower head) was simply great. The room was clean and simple yet impeccable. Just a word of warning, if you are one of those who likes to sleep-in, try and find a room away from cleaner's amenities (ours was right next to it) as they start work early and there's not much soundproofing between rooms. Having said that, the cleaners were really nice and wears a big smile like everyone else.

We didn't spend all that much time at the hotel pool as the beach is just a skip and hop from the front door of the hotel. The hotel provides free access to beach towels which is a welcoming touch, oh and free internet too (but don't expect super fast down/up-load)! There are plenty of simple, no-frills eatery and small shops around the hotel (e.g. Tucker & Bevvy, ABC Store, Starbucks, Lu Lu's, Jamba Juice, etc).

Location of the hotel is perfect for us as we wanted somewhere away from the crowd - it is at the pointy end of the strip (literally) and across the road from the zoo (awesome zoo I might add). It's a bit of walk to the crowd centre (say, to Cheesecake Factory) but not difficult.

All in all, we had an awesome stay and if there's two things we really have to pick on - 1) book a room away from cleaner's amenities and 2) the hotel scale is inaccurate (our luggage weighted at 29lb at the hotel vs. 26lb at the airport... we could have shopped more! lol)

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the Cleaner's amenities if you are one of those who likes to sleep-in
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove Village, Illinois
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This is the last hotel on the strip and it probably always will be, since the zoo is next door. The disadvantage of the location is that there are less places within a short walk. The big advantage is that it is less crowded. The beach is the best of both worlds. To the right of the hotel, the beach is protected by a breakwater, so the waves are calmer and there are almost no coral reefs to accidentally kick. On the left is the raw ocean, with all the excitement of the massive waves, but with much more coral.
All the staff was very helpful.
Even the guy pushing the laundry basket went out of his way to press the elevator button.
We kept in contact during our delayed flight and they kept our specially reserved room available for us.
The hotel is big enough to have the standard amenities, but it is small enough where the desk and valet staff knew us after just two days.
Bed – very comfortable – 4 pillows on the bed
Desk to set up a laptop
Due to the layout of the hotel, you can ‘accidentally’ see into other people’s rooms if they happen to leave their curtains open. The rooms nearest the center of the hotel (closer to the inside of the ‘L’ shape) are more vulnerable. The ones at the far end of the wings are harder to see into.
Bathroom had all the needed items including a blow dryer. A really great shower head with consistent water pressure all the time.
Hint #1 – Rooms ending in 24 have a great view facing Waikiki Beach and a side window with a beautiful unobstructed view of Diamond Head. None of the rooms have a full 180 degree view of the beach due to the layout of the hotel. But what view you have is awesome.
Hint #2 – You can save a few bucks by parking in the zoo next door. Check out that option before you check in to the hotel

Room Tip: Rooms ending in 24 have a great view facing Waikiki Beach and a side window with a beautiful unobstr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fortaleza
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Coudn't have found a better accomodation. Right in front of the beach, with beautiful Diamond Head view, and far from the late night noisy area of waikiki.
Everything is walking distance, there are several breakfast options at the doorstep.
Great service, but not too fancy, will make you feel welcome. The room was quite confortable and had everything we needed.
I got a great deal on hotwire, but wouldn't change it even I had a lot more money to spend.
The internet is free, but slow.

Room Tip: The corner rooms have more windows. Ask for a sea view room, they might give you free upgrade. Or a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George, Canada
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My husband and I had the opportunity to stay at the Park Shore Waikiki earlier this month. We loved everything about our stay at the hotel.

When we booked our reservation, we had booked a room with a King bed. Unfortunately when we arrived late at night, they didn't have a room with a king bed and we were put into a room with double beds but the front desk agent immediately indicated that they were going to move us the following day. When we showed up the next morning to let them know we had packed up our stuff so we could move into our new room, the staff at the front desk immediately knew the situation and made the necessary arrangements and they did so with a smile.

While both rooms were a little cozy, they were definitely comfortable. My husband and I have different preferences when it comes to beds and pillows and were pleasantly surprised that we both were very comfortable with the beds and pillows.

The housekeeping staff did a great job always making sure our room was clean and fully stocked with the necessary toiletries and towels. The front desk and bell desk staff were always helpful with providing information and providing beach towels when we wanted them.

The location of this property was great! We liked that the hotel was not in the midst of the hustle and bustle of the strip but was accessible to anything we wanted to do. While not right on the beach, it is right across road from the beach which makes the location very convenient for those that like to spend time in the sun and water. The property also has a nice pool on the third floor for those that don't want to deal with the sand.

We really appreciated the hospitality suite that the hotel offers so that we could clean up before we left to catch our late night flight back home. Being able to shower after being out all day long before the long trip home was a nice touch.

While it didn't matter to us because we weren't spending much time in the room, there are some rooms that don't have much a view or look into the hotel next door.

Scott and David and all of their staff were always welcoming and ready to assist with any questions or requests with a smile.

Mahalo for making our trip so memorable. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My husband and I enjoyed are stay at Park Shore the location was perfect the staff is amazing the cost was great.The room was a little small but it was clean with nice decor. I highly recommend Park Shore!

Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Shore Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Shore Waikiki

Address: 2586 Kalakaua Ave., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#11 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#34 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Park Shore Waikiki 3.5*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the best views around, the renovated Park Shore Waikiki is perfectly located fronting world-famous Waikiki Beach and is situated between picturesque Diamond Head and the excitement of Waikiki. Accommodations feature breathtaking ocean and/or Diamond Head views with private lanais. The hotel's remarkable location is steps to the Honolulu Zoo, Kapiolani Park, Waikiki Shell and Waikiki Aquarium. You'll also enjoy having a mini-refrigerator and microwave in guestrooms for added convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Park Shore Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Shore Waikiki Honolulu
Park Shore Hotel Hawaii
Park Shore Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Shore Waikiki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.