We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is 90%!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Park Shore Waikiki

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Park Shore Waikiki to your Saves list
Park Shore Waikiki
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2586 Kalakaua Ave., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 15%!
Ranked #11 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Seattle
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Location is 90%!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Best location in Waikiki. It has been updated since we were there, but we Loved it even with the old furnishings and carpet--because it is the last skyscraper on the King's Beach. It has the Best View: the best beach in Waikiki is right across the street, the Honolulu Zoo is across the other, with an awesome view of The Pacific Ocean, Diamond Head, and the local Mountains.

Make sure you get the Diamond head side, and not the dumpster side (we got that first, and I cried in the shower the first night). Lulu's surfer Bar & grill is downstairs, Starbuck's, an ABC store; and restaurants and shops galore within a few short blocks away. The International Market is ten minutes walk away. The Aquarium is a 7 min drive away. And it is not to far to drive to Hanama bay for awesome snorkeling ( or just cross the street with Snorkle Bob gear (about ten blocks to rent by the week; including prescription mask which I could see through better than my own glasses---and experience some of the best snorkeling in the world.
Eat at Lulu's (with 1/2 off coupon); Shorebird for buffet breakfast (look for coupons); the best Buffet dinner EVER is right next door at the Marriott .

I was there in 2008 with a second honeymoon, and it was one of the greatest highlights of our lives!!

Very helpful Concierge when we were there and I had a problem with my room.

Room Tip: Ask for the Diamond head side : the Best view on the Island!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spauli, General Manager at Park Shore Waikiki, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Aloha Lisa W,

Thank you for taking the time to write a nice review on your recent stay at Park Shore Waikiki. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our incredible location with the views overlooking Diamond Head and Waikiki Beach, the nearby amenities that are available for shopping and dining, and our excellent Concierge department. We appreciate that this was your return visit, and look forward to having you stay with us many more times. We will ensure that you have another great experience with us.

Mahalo,

Scott Pauli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    190
    50
    6
    0
See reviews for
132
242
40
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nailsea
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

My wife and I stayed here as a celebration of our 40th Wedding Anniversary and we couldn't have chosen a better hotel. Everything was just right for us, especially the view of the Pacific and Diamond Head. Lulu's for breakfast was spot on and every member of staff was courteous and friendly. Just the right location for access to the beach and a nice walk into the heart of Waikiki. I would recommend this hotel to anyone - if you are looking and can't make your mind up....stay here!

Room Tip: Sea View rooms are worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spauli, General Manager at Park Shore Waikiki, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Aloha AlstravelsNailsee,

Thank you for taking the time to write a very nice review regarding your recent stay at Park Shore Waikiki. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our spectacular location just across the street to Waikiki Beach, the gorgeous views from your renovated room of Diamond Head and the Pacific Ocean, and our courtesous and friendly service professionals. We appreciate your recommendation and hope that you can return again in the future. We will ensure that you have another wonderful stay with us.

Mahalo,

Scott Pauli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We started our vacation at the Park Shore before moving to the Hilton. I was pleasantly surprised since I knew nothing about the hotel. The staff was very nice and helped us out with anything we needed. The location was great right next to the Zoo with views of Diamond Head and the beach right across the street.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spauli, General Manager at Park Shore Waikiki, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Aloha Jeff_Ham15,

Thank you for taking the time to write a nice review on your stay in August 2013 at Park Shore Waikiki. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed our incredible location with the views of Diamond Head and the Honolulu Zoo, and our very friendly and helpful service professionals. We hope that you are able to return again in the future, and we will ensure that you have another great stay with us.

Mahalo,

Scott Pauli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We found rooms to be on small side because we had been travelling for several weeks so it was the three of us along with 5 large bags. We were moved to handicapped room which was bigger for us and all of our stuff. Beautiful view, right above pool. Beach right across the street. Lovely for families. Towels and beach chairs available at front desk. Lulu's on 2nd floor... Great breakfast. Starbucks, ABC store for snacks, necessities, and souvenirs. Great burgers behind hotel at Teddy's. The best food all made to order. Long lines, but worth it and they work hard to serve people quickly.
Hotel in quieter area.. Locals do hang around, but police try to keep things peaceful.
For great tours...see the travel coordinator in lobby.
Enjoy your stay... If not happy with size of room see if they can help you find something that best suits your needs.

Room Tip: The higher up the quieter it is and the better the scenery. Rooms on small side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spauli, General Manager at Park Shore Waikiki, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Aloha mum2little1,

Thank you for taking the time to write a very nice review regarding your recent stay at Park Shore Waikiki. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the larger ADA room that we were able to move you to, and all of the nearby restaurants and amenities that are offered. We look forward to your return visit in the future, and we will ensure that you have another excellent stay with us.

Mahalo,

Scott Pauli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bismarck, North Dakota
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

This hotel is outstanding, spacious rooms, comfortable beds and a staff that is second to none. You walk out of the hotel, cross the street and you are on the beach. Obviously on Waikiki you are near numerous restaurants and bars, and anything else you might be looking for. The Honolulu Zoo is also across the street. I hope I can stay at this hotel again soon.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spauli, General Manager at Park Shore Waikiki, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Aloha SteveDoha,

Thank you for taking the time to write a very nice review regarding your recent stay at Park Shore Waikiki. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our excellent location across from Waikiki Beach, your spacious guest room, and our awesome service professionals. We are excited that you will be returning again in the future, and we will ensure that you have another wonderful stay with us.

Mahalo,

Scott Pauli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Coming from the hectic life of Las Vegas, this hotel's location was a perfect getaway for our family, my son was right in picking Park shore, yes there is some road noise but then this is the kinda last hotel on the northern side of the strip, so on your balcony not only the ocean view wen joyed but the perfect view for Diamond head and State Park which is next to the Honolulu zoo. It's a great walking distance to restaurants and shopping area. Downstairs in the lobby, I enrolled my 17 yr old son to their 2 hours Surfing lesson for a good reasonable price & he had the best time of his life according to him. I know he did, coz I've watch him the whole time he was surfing with the rest of the group. We upgraded to 12 th floor from the 5th floor, the sound of the ocean waves were music to my ears and the singing birds are my alarm clock in the morning. Starbucks is right outside 12 steps from the hotel lobby, the Lulu's restaurant above the Starbucks has reasonable price menu.
We've asked for towels and chair for the beach each time, sometimes we go 2-3 times a go and return it afterwards. We decided to rent car on our 3rd day after we explore the strip by walking around, yes the valet fee is $25.00/day but we go in and out of the hotel 2-3x a day, parking then is not a problem when we had someone parking our car for us, beside we got a good deal of $26.00/ day @ Alamo car rental.

Overall, we are definitely coming back to Park shore hotel in our next Trip to Hawaii.

Room Tip: Pick 7th floor and up for great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spauli, General Manager at Park Shore Waikiki, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Aloha Marissa T,

Thank you for taking the time to write a very nice review on your recent stay at Park Shore Waikiki. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our great location across from the Queen Kapiolani Park, Honolulu Zoo, and Waikiki Beach, the gorgeous views from your renovated Ocean View room, and our incredible location with all of the nearby restaurants and shopping. We are delighted that you will be returning again in the future, and we will ensure that you have another outstanding stay with us.

Mahalo,

Scott Pauli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Top Contributor
215 reviews 215 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We'd expected two queen beds. The manager explained that a standard room is a room without a beach view and with two double beds or a king. While some staff smiled through clenched teeth, some were great, like Violet, who was extremely helpful

BIG PROBLEM with the shuttle service that the Park Shore Waikiki referred guests to in the welcome email. Speedi shuttle is more expensive than a taxi if there are more than two riders. Our ride to the hotel included an expert and knowledgeable trainer who knew her way around Waikiki and attempted to guide the driver on his first run. We are unsure why Speedi shuttle does not assign new drivers to shadow competent drivers and learn where the hotels are prior to driving. The trip to the hotel was a nightmare. Furthermore, having let ourselves be talked into a round trip payment at a slight reduction, before even boarding the shuttle, we were dismayed that their credit card machine did not function and we had to use cash. This left no way to get out of the return trip.

People walk in and out of the open and breezy lobby, tracking sand and water, and spilling their Starbucks or Tucker and Bevvy purchases on the carpets. It is to the hotel staff's credit that they keep the carpets as clean and dry as they do.

The Park Shore location is ten steps from Starbucks, Tucker and Bevvy, two ABC stores, the beach, Lulu's, and a block from Tiki at the Westin.Public buses and shuttles are no more than a block. The gentle beach across the street from the hotel is excellent for small children.

We would definitely stay here again (and arrive by taxi or public bus, NOT Speedi shuttle).

Room Tip: Speak directly to the hotel to get an accurate description of your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spauli, General Manager at Park Shore Waikiki, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Aloha LuViPortland,

Thank you for taking the time to write a nice review regarding your recent stay at Park Shore Waikiki. I am very sorry to hear that the shuttle service that was provided did not meet your expectations. I will be following up with Speedi Shuttle regarding your comments. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our spectacular location across from Waikiki Beach and all of the nearby amenities that we offer. I am glad that you do plan to return again in the future, and do recommend reserving a room in the Partial Ocean View, Poolside, Ocean View, or Ocean Front categories, which offer incredible views of the Pacific Ocean and Diamond Head. We will ensure that you have another great stay with us.

Mahalo,

Scott Pauli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Shore Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Shore Waikiki

Address: 2586 Kalakaua Ave., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#11 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#33 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Park Shore Waikiki 3.5*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the best views around, the renovated Park Shore Waikiki is perfectly located fronting world-famous Waikiki Beach and is situated between picturesque Diamond Head and the excitement of Waikiki. Accommodations feature breathtaking ocean and/or Diamond Head views with private lanais. The hotel's remarkable location is steps to the Honolulu Zoo, Kapiolani Park, Waikiki Shell and Waikiki Aquarium. You'll also enjoy having a mini-refrigerator and microwave in guestrooms for added convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Park Shore Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Shore Waikiki Honolulu
Park Shore Hotel Hawaii
Park Shore Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Shore Waikiki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.