We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect one night” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Park Shore Waikiki

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Park Shore Waikiki to your Saves list
Park Shore Waikiki
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2586 Kalakaua Ave., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 15%!
Ranked #12 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Vermont
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“perfect one night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

We had a one night stay over on Waikiki after a week in Kauai. Stayed in the one bedroom suite. Our two teenage boys bunked in the living room on a roll away and sofa bed. (no charge for the roll away). Nicely appointed room (nice bathroom and shower as well), spacious, and great view of the ocean. Hotel staff was friendly and informative (A+ on every account). Can't remember the name, but the deli next door to the hotel serves healthy vegetarian and non vegetarian fare at a reasonable price. That was a huge bonus, as we often struggle to find fresh health food on the go. The Park Shore put a superb finishing touch on our first family vacation to Hawaii. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spauli, General Manager at Park Shore Waikiki, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Aloha ibfreshvt,

Thank you for taking the time to write a very nice review regarding your recent stay at Park Shore Waikiki. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the renovated 1-Bedroom Ocean Front Suite, our outstanding and friendly service professionals, and our newest restaurant Tucker & Bevvy. We are excited to hear that you will be returning again in the future, and we will ensure that you have another awesome stay with us.

Mahalo,

Scott Pauli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    195
    51
    7
    0
See reviews for
138
251
41
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Duncan, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

i went wanting a great view of the ocean from my room i got everything and more, the staff are great and helpful, the room is roomy and i got the best view of the ocean and diamond head from the balcony. when i checked out they stored my luggage and more than willing to call a cab for me. the lobby is beautiful and good location to at least one trolley stop lots of bus stops the beach and zoo

Room Tip: was very windy i was on the 11th floor, door blew open and ended up breaking the door to the fridge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spauli, General Manager at Park Shore Waikiki, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Aloha Bailey197401,

Thank you for taking the time to write a very nice review on your recent stay at Park Shore Waikiki. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the incredible views of the Pacific Ocean and Diamond Head from your renovated Ocean View room, our outstanding service professionals, and the great location that we offer. I hope that you are able to return again in the future, and we will ensure that you have another excellent stay with us.

Mahalo,

Scott Pauli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

We picked Park Shore because of its value and close proximity to the beach. Its location at the East end of the Waikiki strip turned out to be very convenient to get away to other parts of Oahu like Diamond Head, Koko Crater, Hanauma Bay, Kane'ohe, etc. The Waikiki strip is a traffic nightmare at times, so if you plan to explore beyond Waikiki, this could be the perfect hotel for you. Even if you plan to spend your entire trip in Waikiki, its still a decent choice.

Note: we were celebrating our 5th wedding anniversary and were given a "free upgrade" from a standard room to a partial ocean view (see photo).

PROS
- Steps away from Waikiki Beach (the "slightly" less busy end too!)
- Convenient location to 'escape' Waikiki to other parts of the island
- Wonderful "picnic food" shop (Tucker + Bevvy)
- Bar & Grill is one of the most popular nightlife spots on the Waikiki strip
- Surf School, ABC Store, Expedia expert, Starbucks all in lobby or adjacent
- FREE WI-FI (a must for all hotels I stay at)

CONS
- Small room (not a huge deal as we didn't spend much time there)
- Busy street corner, noisy on lanai or with door open
- Pool faces same busy street corner
- Wifi is a bit slow unless you pay for upgrade (its enough for email and browsing though, just don't try to download an iTunes movie in under 24 hours!)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spauli, General Manager at Park Shore Waikiki, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Aloha David R,

Thank you for taking the time to write a nice review on your recent stay at Park Shore Waikiki. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our incredible location with all of the nearby amenities and the value you received for your experience with us. we hope that you are able to return again in the future, and will ensure that you have another nice stay with us.

Mahalo,

Scott Pauli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Stayed here for 5 nights in April.

Booked two separate rooms (Junior Suite and a standard room for our two teenage daughters).

Both rooms were located on the 18th floor with the suite having a beautiful view out to Diamond Head.

Check in was very efficient thanks to Eric who went out of his way to provide information about the hotel and surrounding area.

The rooms were clean although the bed and pillows were on the firm side.

There was also no electric jug (kettle) in the room.

The pool is nice but we found the streamed music somewhat monotonous.

Overall this is a great hotel in close proximity to the beach and shuttle pick up/bus service.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a suite with a view over the beach and Diamond Head.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spauli, General Manager at Park Shore Waikiki, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Aloha Brent E,

Thank you for taking the time to write a nice review on your recent stay at Park Shore Waikiki. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the beautiful views from your Diamond Head Suite, our outstanding service professionals, and our excellent location. I will be sure to let Erik know about your positive feedback. It is much appreciated. We do offer hot water kettles for tea. They are available by calling the Front Desk, and we will have it delivered to your room for you. We hope that you are able to return again in the future, and we will ensure that you have another wonderful stay with us.

Mahalo,

Scott Pauli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Polk City, Iowa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We stayed at the Park Shore the first part of April and were so pleased with our stay. GREAT location, walk out the front door and across the street to the beach. Far enough away from the hustle and bustle of Waikiki but close enough to walk anywhere you need to go. Beach was far less crowded at this end! Valet service was great and fast, under 2 minutes each time to get the car. We stayed in room 1224 (ocean view), great corner room with views of the ocean and diamond head. Second floor from the top. Room service every day was nice. Free towels to use for the beach. The only downfall I would say is that the room is a touch small but for all we needed it for it was just fine! Will for sure stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 1224- corner room second floor from the top. Great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spauli, General Manager at Park Shore Waikiki, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Aloha Crystal_Rae16,

Thank you for taking the time to write a very nice review on your recent stay at Park Shore Waikiki. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the stunning views of the Pacific Ocean and Diamond Head from your renovated Ocean Front room, our great location, and our efficient and friendly service professionals. We are very excited that you will be returning again in the future, and we will ensure that you have another wonderful stay with us.

Mahalo,

Scott Pauli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopkins, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Perfect. I was tasked with finding a hotel for myself and several friends - a scary proposition considering the expectations of a Hawaiian vacation. But the Park Shore met them all!

I booked the Partial Ocean View room and got just that and more. I was in room 719 which is in the corner of the building facing the ocean. While my balcony looked directly at the balcony on the opposite side I still had a fantastic view of the ocean, pool and zoo. My friends were in 608 and they had a window (no balcony) that looked directly at the ocean and a balcony that looked directly at another building but when you sat on the balcony you could look between the buildings for a nice ocean view. I liked my room better!

Lobby is bright and open. Rooms are modern, clean and spacious. My room was a bit smaller than some but it was a fair trade off for the view. All rooms come with a coffee maker and mini fridge. Perfect for those yummy finds at the Kings Village Farmers Market days. There's also a communal microwave on the third floor and complimentary coffee and infused water in the lobby.

Speaking of lobby, the front desk people, Brian, Jessica, et al, were always helpful and friendly. They offered us the use of a hospitality room when we had to check out but still had time to hit the pool. Oh, the pool. Yes, small but we liked it that way. Calm, nice pool chairs and a great view of the beach. On Wednesday the Management had a "get to know you" party at 5:30pm at the pool. I didn't go but sat on my balcony watching it and it looked like fun!

There are two ABC's, one on each side of the hotel, along with a Starbucks and a great little sandwich shop. Tiki's is just up the street. The food at Tiki's is a bit pedestrian for my taste but the views can't be beat. We ordered the edamame here and it came floating in butter and garlic. Super yummy but not your traditional healthy treat!

The hotel is directly across the street from a beautiful stretch of Kuhio Beach. The hotel has a limited number of beach chairs and towels that you simply sign out for (complimentary) at the Bell Stand. I first went to the right side of the pier where the beach is protected by a rock wall. Schools of beautiful fish swim through here and it's the perfect place for children as there are no waves…just a beautiful sandy beach. A bit tame for my taste so I spent more time on the "surf" side of the pier.

The Hans Hedemann Surf School is located in the lobby of the Park Shore and they have a stand on the beach where you can rent snorkels, boogie boards, etc. Take the surf lessons! We also booked a tour at the Expedia Desk to visit the USS Arizona and were not disappointed.

Overall, I think the happy, friendly vibe, the location and the clean, updated rooms made this hotel more of an "experience" than just a stay.

Things to do while at the Park Shore:
* Walk up Kapahulu to the Corner Kitchen for some good grub and fantastic local music from 6:30pm - 8:30pm each night but Sunday.
* Shop for a vintage Hawaiian shirt at Bailey's on Kapahulu (one block north of Corner Kitchen)
* Eat malasadas at Leonard's Bakery. They come straight out of the kitchen, warm and ready to eat. Eat them immediately for a heavenly treat! (oh, come on, you're on vacation!)
* Hike Diamond Head (a 3 mile walk from the hotel). Views are unbelievable.
* Have an authentic plate lunch at Pioneer Saloon
* Eat breakfast or dinner at Goofy's. Eggs Benedict with pulled Hawaiian pork was to die for.
* Go to MarakameUdon for the best noodles EVER. You will have to wait in line, it goes fast and is worth the wait. Have the #5 and then have some of the tempura on the side. So delish!
* Shop at 88 Tees for some of the funkiest, fun t-shirts ever. Plus just the store itself is worth the visit.

I, and my friends, will make the Park Shore Waikiki our first choice for a hotel when we return to Waikiki. And we will return!

Room Tip: I was in 719 and is considered partial ocean view and was a great room. Smaller than most but with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spauli, General Manager at Park Shore Waikiki, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Aloha Jennifer W,

Thank you for taking the time to write a nice review regarding your recent stay at Park Shore Waikiki. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your renovated Partial Ocean View room, our excellent location with all of the nearby amenities, and our incredible service professionals. I will be sure to provide your positive feedback to Brian and Jessica. Your comments are very much appreciated. We are excited that you will be returning again in the future, and we will ensure that you have another pleasurable stay with us.

Mahalo,

Scott Pauli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eudlo, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We stayed here in mid April as a family group of three parties and had a very welcoming and supportive visit. We received early check-in on the morning of our arrival and were all on the same floor which made quickly seeing each other so easy. Our views were all different but equally gorgeous and being on the 10th Floor kept us away from any real noise below. We hired an SUV for the day to drive around the island and it was organized through the hotel - delivered to the door and dropped off in the same way so it made for a hassle free process especially as we had a young child with us. The child friendly beach right outside was perfect for us all and we enjoyed many days relaxing there too. The Honolulu Zoo is just across the way and a terrific little zoo which the family enjoyed. Tucker & Bevvy the downstairs cafe had great healthy wraps, sandwiches, fruit, yummy smoothies and especially catered for the gluten free needs we had for a child - a rare treat!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spauli, General Manager at Park Shore Waikiki, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Aloha Elsa2703,

Thank you for taking the time to write a nice review regarding your recent stay at Park Shore Waikiki. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the views of the Pacific Ocean from your renovated guest room, our new onsite Volvo Car Rental Program, and our fabulous location with all of the nearby amenities. We hope that you are able to return again in the future, and we will ensure that you have another excellent stay with us.

Mahalo,

Scott Pauli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Shore Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Shore Waikiki

Address: 2586 Kalakaua Ave., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#11 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#34 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Park Shore Waikiki 3.5*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the best views around, the renovated Park Shore Waikiki is perfectly located fronting world-famous Waikiki Beach and is situated between picturesque Diamond Head and the excitement of Waikiki. Accommodations feature breathtaking ocean and/or Diamond Head views with private lanais. The hotel's remarkable location is steps to the Honolulu Zoo, Kapiolani Park, Waikiki Shell and Waikiki Aquarium. You'll also enjoy having a mini-refrigerator and microwave in guestrooms for added convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Park Shore Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Shore Waikiki Honolulu
Park Shore Hotel Hawaii
Park Shore Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Shore Waikiki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.