We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, staff and hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Park Shore Waikiki

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Park Shore Waikiki to your Saves list
Park Shore Waikiki
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2586 Kalakaua Ave., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 15%!
Ranked #11 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Fort McMurray, Alberta, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great location, staff and hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Keeping it short and simple.. I think.
We stayed here from Feb. 21 to the 28 2014. Got a package deal with Westjet (love this airline too.) We always check the reviews on tripadvisor first. This hotel got really great reviews so we deceided to stay here. We stayed in room 1517 which at first seemed a little underwhelming when we first got in. We soon warmed up to it though.. and I should explain by underwhelmed, I mean it seemed small. The room itself was clean, had a safe, fridge and the other standard amenities. Loved, loved, loved the views. If we were one floor down in same room we would have only been able to see beach as it is in a corner.. Could see Diamond Head and the beach from our room.
This hotel is literally across the street from the beach. The hotel was clean, lobby clean and bright. Staff were friendly, helpful and talkative. Liked having the free coffee, juice and water down in the lobby everyday.
We used towels and beach chairs from hotel too. Nice.
On last day we stored our suitcases in a locked room in lobby and were able to use a hospitality suite free of charge as we were a late check out that evening. (Could still go to beach all day etc. then get changed for flight later that night.
Price is a little high but not out of line with other hotels at peak season.
We would recommend this hotel and it has now become our new favourite on Waikiki.
Oh ya, we did eat at Tucker and Bevy a couple times. It is kind of a deli. Great sandwiches and smoothies for a reasonable price.
*Tried several times to add photo on tripadvisor but for some reason it won't let me.

Room Tip: We splurged and paid a little more for an ocean view. Glad we did as we had a view of the Crater an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spauli, General Manager at Park Shore Waikiki, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Aloha Peter A,

Thank you for taking the time to write a very nice review regarding your recent stay at Park Shore Waikiki. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your newly renovated Ocean View room, our incredible location with all of the amenities that are provided, and our very warm and friendly service professionals. We hope that you are able to return again in the future, and we will ensure that you have another wonderful stay with us.

Mahalo,

Scott Pauli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    196
    51
    7
    0
See reviews for
138
255
41
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

My spouse and I stayed at the Park Shore for 4 nights on early March; I had researched hotels quite a bit online and we were delighted with our stay. We had an oceanfront king room; I had sent en email request for a Diamond Head view. We ended up with a corner room with the lanai facing Diamond Head, and the beach off the side of the lanai. There was also another large window facing the beach directly. The simple contemporary style was very attractive. The bed, ventilation, climate control and shower were all excellent. The only minor complaint was that there wasn't any place to put your stuff in the bathroom- another shelf would have been welcome. The location of the hotel was ideal for us- overlooking the beach and park, and out of the fray of the busier part of Waikiki. Others have commented on the homeless problem; no one bothered us and I did not think it was any worse than in other big cities that I have visited. If we are lucky enough to return to Oahu, I would gladly stay at the Park Shore again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spauli, General Manager at Park Shore Waikiki, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Aloha uuperiwinkle,

Thank you for taking the time to write a very nice review regarding your recent stay at Park Shore Waikiki. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your newly renovated Ocean Front room and our superb location overlooking Waikiki Beach and the Queen Kapiolani Park. I am delighted that you will be returning again in the future, and we will ensure that you have another outstanding stay with us.

Mahalo,

Scott Pauli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

The front desk service was fantastic. The valet and bellhop service was also very good. The hotel is older but it has been updated and we had no issues. The pool was clean and very useable.
As some people have mentioned there are a lot of homeless people outside on this end of the strip. They are not aggressive but they are there. I dont think that they are really anything to be concerned about.
The door slamming issue also still exists but it wasnt that bad. We had a 6 month old with us and she never once woke up from a door slam.
I think that the hotel was very good value for Waikiki. The price point is definitly not cheap but its Waikiki afterall and there simply are no cheap hotels. The location across from the beach was fantastic and there was plenty to eat within a few blocks.
Overall I would rate it at great and we had a great visit.

Room Tip: The rooms are not huge. For us with a 6 month old and all that goes along with that (stroller, etc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spauli, General Manager at Park Shore Waikiki, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Aloha Tosh N,

Thank you for taking the time to write a very nice review on your recent stay at Park Shore Waikiki. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our fantastic service professionals, our incredible location, and our fun Pool Deck. We hope that you are able to return again in the future, and we will ensure that you have another wonderful stay with us.

Mahalo,

Scott Pauli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

We stayed at the Park Shore for 4 nights on our way back to Australia. The hotel is located at the very end of the Waikiki strip which makes for stunning views of the ocean and Diamond Head, we could even see the flamingos and elephants in the zoo from our room (which was an ocean front). The walk into Waikiki is short, we also walked to the Ala Moana mall on the other side of 'town'. The hotel itself is nice enough, more like a nice motel for hotel prices. We were on the 10th floor and the traffic noise at the intersection (bus announcements etc) seemed loud and continued late into the night. Room service timing was below average: our room wasn't made up until around 4 pm each day however the overall cleanliness of the room was good.

Room Tip: I'd recommend a higher level to try and cut out traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spauli, General Manager at Park Shore Waikiki, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Aloha Nadia B,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at Park Shore Waikiki. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the stunning views from your Ocean Front room and our ideal location near the Park and Zoo. I am sorry to hear that your room was cleaned in the afternoom each day. For our guests who would like early Housekeeping Service, please contact our Guest Services Department to arrange for a specific service time and we will honor it for you each day. We hope that you are able to return again in the future, and we will ensure that you have another great stay with us.

Mahalo,

Scott Pauli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Park Shore hotel for 9 days in March 2014 and would definately stay there again The service from reception was excellent. We had 3 minor problems which were attended to and fixed within 5 minutes on each occasion(radio,safe and kettle)Our room had spectacular views (9th floor) of ocean and Diamond head.Room was not large but adequate for our needs. We had twin queen beds.I am claustrophobic and the least time spent in elevators the better. Elevators were quick and no problems.Situated away from the main Waikiki area it was ideal for our needs..On the Monday evening the noise from the night club below was the only negative I found. Excellent value for money.
Ray,Rye. Australia

Room Tip: Corner rooms have the best views, we were located on 9th floor. However on Monday night the noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spauli, General Manager at Park Shore Waikiki, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Aloha 42pal,

Thank you for taking the time to write a nice review regarding your recent stay at Park Shore Waikiki. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the spectacular views from your Ocean View room, our incredible location, and our outstanding service professionals. We hope that you will be able to return again in the future. We will ensure that you have another memorable stay with us.

Mahalo,

Scott Pauli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

After a 10 hour flight from Australia, we took a taxi to our hotel and it was a relieved to finally arrived and shown our room straight away.We stayed at Park Shore hotel with my husband & 3 teenage children for 11 days in February 2014. We booked two bedroom in level 15 as we just decided to go to Hawaii at the last minute and we couldn't find a hotel anywhere that could accomodate a family of 5. We found the hotel really good and handy to everything as we did a lot of activities, we got picked up from either right infront of our hotel or just around the corner at the other hotels. We didn't hire a car because we didn't need to. The hotel is so close to everything, my children went to the beach almost everyday if we weren't out all day. The hotel was very clean & comfortable for the price we paid. Bed sheets changed and room cleaned every day by a lovely lady that look after level 15. The front desk were very helpful even the guys in the front desk the Concierge were very helpful, always willing to help us. There is a very nice restaurant in level 2 at the hotel,we had dinner there a couple of times. The pool area is ok, they put on a free happy hour every Wednesday afternoon at the pool side when we were there. You can catch the best sunset from the pool side, just make sure you have your camera with you. I took some beautiful pictures of the Sunset from there. I would reccomend this hotel to anyone as its very cheap, clean & closer to everything. We will stay at Park Shore Waikiki again for sure if we go to Honolulu again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spauli, General Manager at Park Shore Waikiki, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Aloha Tammy H,

Thank you for taking the time to write a nice review on your recent stay at Park Shore Waikiki. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your newly renovated Diamond Head Suite, our awesome location across the street from Waikiki Beach, and our very friendly and helpful service professionals. We are delighted that you will return again while you are in Waikiki, and we will ensure that you have another excellent stay with us.

Mahalo,

Scott Pauli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

I stayed there for a few days with my mother. Although she didn't seem to like the hotel (she's a grumpy woman) I found it ok and I thought it was beyond average so I'm going to give this a four star. The location is great, right on the waikiki and a few minutes walk from the Center and everything else.
The Cons: $25 parking fee and each time you come back, tipping is quasi-necessary or else the people get unhappy. The reception was always busy and that was really annoying.

I do like how they let us borrow free towels and how they have a good japanese restaurant on the first floor. Very reasonably priced, too.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spauli, General Manager at Park Shore Waikiki, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Aloha kiyeran,

Thank you for taking the time to write a nice review on your recent stay at Park Shore Waikiki. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our incredible location and our excellent Japanese Restaurant located in the Lobby. We hope that you are able to return again in the future, and we will ensure that you have another nice stay with us.

Mahalo,

Scott Pauli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Shore Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Shore Waikiki

Address: 2586 Kalakaua Ave., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#11 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#34 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Park Shore Waikiki 3.5*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the best views around, the renovated Park Shore Waikiki is perfectly located fronting world-famous Waikiki Beach and is situated between picturesque Diamond Head and the excitement of Waikiki. Accommodations feature breathtaking ocean and/or Diamond Head views with private lanais. The hotel's remarkable location is steps to the Honolulu Zoo, Kapiolani Park, Waikiki Shell and Waikiki Aquarium. You'll also enjoy having a mini-refrigerator and microwave in guestrooms for added convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Park Shore Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Shore Waikiki Honolulu
Park Shore Hotel Hawaii
Park Shore Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Shore Waikiki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.