We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Park Shore Waikiki” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Park Shore Waikiki

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Park Shore Waikiki to your Saves list
Park Shore Waikiki
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2586 Kalakaua Ave., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 15%!
Ranked #11 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Park Shore Waikiki”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Park Shore hotel for 9 days in March 2014 and would definately stay there again The service from reception was excellent. We had 3 minor problems which were attended to and fixed within 5 minutes on each occasion(radio,safe and kettle)Our room had spectacular views (9th floor) of ocean and Diamond head.Room was not large but adequate for our needs. We had twin queen beds.I am claustrophobic and the least time spent in elevators the better. Elevators were quick and no problems.Situated away from the main Waikiki area it was ideal for our needs..On the Monday evening the noise from the night club below was the only negative I found. Excellent value for money.
Ray,Rye. Australia

Room Tip: Corner rooms have the best views, we were located on 9th floor. However on Monday night the noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spauli, General Manager at Park Shore Waikiki, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Aloha 42pal,

Thank you for taking the time to write a nice review regarding your recent stay at Park Shore Waikiki. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the spectacular views from your Ocean View room, our incredible location, and our outstanding service professionals. We hope that you will be able to return again in the future. We will ensure that you have another memorable stay with us.

Mahalo,

Scott Pauli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    196
    51
    8
    0
See reviews for
139
256
41
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

After a 10 hour flight from Australia, we took a taxi to our hotel and it was a relieved to finally arrived and shown our room straight away.We stayed at Park Shore hotel with my husband & 3 teenage children for 11 days in February 2014. We booked two bedroom in level 15 as we just decided to go to Hawaii at the last minute and we couldn't find a hotel anywhere that could accomodate a family of 5. We found the hotel really good and handy to everything as we did a lot of activities, we got picked up from either right infront of our hotel or just around the corner at the other hotels. We didn't hire a car because we didn't need to. The hotel is so close to everything, my children went to the beach almost everyday if we weren't out all day. The hotel was very clean & comfortable for the price we paid. Bed sheets changed and room cleaned every day by a lovely lady that look after level 15. The front desk were very helpful even the guys in the front desk the Concierge were very helpful, always willing to help us. There is a very nice restaurant in level 2 at the hotel,we had dinner there a couple of times. The pool area is ok, they put on a free happy hour every Wednesday afternoon at the pool side when we were there. You can catch the best sunset from the pool side, just make sure you have your camera with you. I took some beautiful pictures of the Sunset from there. I would reccomend this hotel to anyone as its very cheap, clean & closer to everything. We will stay at Park Shore Waikiki again for sure if we go to Honolulu again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spauli, General Manager at Park Shore Waikiki, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Aloha Tammy H,

Thank you for taking the time to write a nice review on your recent stay at Park Shore Waikiki. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your newly renovated Diamond Head Suite, our awesome location across the street from Waikiki Beach, and our very friendly and helpful service professionals. We are delighted that you will return again while you are in Waikiki, and we will ensure that you have another excellent stay with us.

Mahalo,

Scott Pauli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

I stayed there for a few days with my mother. Although she didn't seem to like the hotel (she's a grumpy woman) I found it ok and I thought it was beyond average so I'm going to give this a four star. The location is great, right on the waikiki and a few minutes walk from the Center and everything else.
The Cons: $25 parking fee and each time you come back, tipping is quasi-necessary or else the people get unhappy. The reception was always busy and that was really annoying.

I do like how they let us borrow free towels and how they have a good japanese restaurant on the first floor. Very reasonably priced, too.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spauli, General Manager at Park Shore Waikiki, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Aloha kiyeran,

Thank you for taking the time to write a nice review on your recent stay at Park Shore Waikiki. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our incredible location and our excellent Japanese Restaurant located in the Lobby. We hope that you are able to return again in the future, and we will ensure that you have another nice stay with us.

Mahalo,

Scott Pauli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavern, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

We have stayed at the Park Shore Waikiki hotel for 2 weeks, this being our last day, coming all the way from Norway. It was totally worth it, we loved our stay.

• Room looks nice and it's definitely big enough for two.
• Bed is very comfy. There's some noise from the street, but we slept like babies :)
• The fridge was empty, so we filled it with drinks and cheesecake.
• It's really clean here and they keep it clean for the entire stay.
• Location of the hotel is perfect, easy walk across the street to enjoy the beach.
• Shops, restaurants and bus stops are also nearby.
• The view from our room is amazing, we're going to miss it!

Also from the day we arrived the service has been great because if there was any problems or questions, they would always help!

Thanks to everyone at Park Shore Waikiki for making our stay the best.

We hope to come back some day.

Mahalo! :)

Room Tip: We would recommend to get a room with Oceanfront/Diamond Head view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spauli, General Manager at Park Shore Waikiki, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Aloha Dag Jacob H,

Thank you for taking the time to write a very nice review regarding your recent stay at Park Shore Waikiki. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed our awesome location, your renovated guest Room, our fabulous location with all of the nearby amenities. We look forward to your return visit in the future, and will ensure that you have another outstanding stay with us.

Mahalo,

Scott Pauli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the Park Shore for 2 days following a guided tour before flying home to Australia. What a great position. I went to the Zoo, across the road to the beach, and saw a beautiful sunset. My biggest thrill was walking around to the ice machine and seeing an amazing view of Diamond Head. Room was small but comfortable except for the too thin pillows, and I loved the shower head in the bathroom. If i ever return to Waikiki I would stay at the Park Shore.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spauli, General Manager at Park Shore Waikiki, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Aloha Cove35,

Thank you for taking the time to write a very nice review regarding your recent stay at Park Shore Waikiki. I am happy that you enjoyed our great location, and your newly renovated Hotel Room. We hope that you are able to return again in the future. We will ensure that you have another spectacular stay with us.

Mahalo,

Scott Pauli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

If I was going to stay in Waikiki again, I'd stay here. The location is perfect. At the end of the main strip of high-rises with a fantastic view of Diamond Head.

There were really only two downsides that I can think of. Even though we were on the 16th floor, noise somehow carried quite well, enough that we decided to use a white noise app on our iPhones. This included noise from the restaurant/bar on the 2nd floor, as well as just general street noise from buses & garbage trucks. The other issue was a lack of counter space in the bathroom for two people.

I may not have looked close enough, but I was surprised we ended up with a mini fridge in the room that was not a mini bar. The balcony view from the ocean front room and the location made up for any other shortcomings.

Room Tip: Our ocean front room was a corner unit with a balcony facing Diamond Head, and an additional window...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spauli, General Manager at Park Shore Waikiki, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Aloha jaydfwtx,

Thank you for takingt he time to write a nice review regarding your recent stay at Park Shore Waikiki. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed our perfect location and the stunning views from your Ocean Front room. We hope that you are able to return again in the future, and we will ensure that you have another great stay with us.

Mahalo,

Scott Pauli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Just in front of the zoo, it was an excellent and not that expensive alternative. You still can walk all over Waikiki attractions. The hotel was comfortable, bedding, shower, etc.
Service really good. Valet parking available. We had a partial ocean view, from the balcony we got excellent pictures of the sunset and of our main view that was Diamond Head. Excellent!! We were very pleased with the location, service, and comfort.
Totally recommend this hotel. If you want to hit the beach it is just in front of the street. There are plenty of alternatives to get a snack or a good meal around.
The only downside, and it is not a hotel problem is that just around the corner there were some characters (people) that stayed all night out and one of the nights was a bit noisy.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spauli, General Manager at Park Shore Waikiki, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Aloha landscapechaser,

Thank you for taking the time to write a very nice review regarding your recent stay at Park Shore Waikiki. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our incredible location, your newly renovated Partial Ocean View room, and our outstanding service professionals. We appreciate your recommendation of our property, and hope that you are able to return again in the future. we will ensure that you have another wonderful stay with us.

Mahalo,

Scott Pauli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Shore Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Shore Waikiki

Address: 2586 Kalakaua Ave., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#11 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#34 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Park Shore Waikiki 3.5*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the best views around, the renovated Park Shore Waikiki is perfectly located fronting world-famous Waikiki Beach and is situated between picturesque Diamond Head and the excitement of Waikiki. Accommodations feature breathtaking ocean and/or Diamond Head views with private lanais. The hotel's remarkable location is steps to the Honolulu Zoo, Kapiolani Park, Waikiki Shell and Waikiki Aquarium. You'll also enjoy having a mini-refrigerator and microwave in guestrooms for added convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Park Shore Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Shore Waikiki Honolulu
Park Shore Hotel Hawaii
Park Shore Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Shore Waikiki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.