We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, newly renovated rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Park Shore Waikiki

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Park Shore Waikiki to your Saves list
Park Shore Waikiki
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2586 Kalakaua Ave., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 15%!
Ranked #11 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Arendal, Norway
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great location, newly renovated rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Stayed for one week in January for vacation with my mom. We had booked a two double bed room with city view, and we got one on the 8th floor. View is limited by the neighbor hotel, but if you lean out a little bit from the balcony, you can actually see the ocean and beach as well.

Reasonably priced as well, and the location is absolutely amazing. Just a few steps, literally, from Waikiki Beach and the Pacific Ocean.
Pool is on the 3rd floor, can get a little bit noisy from the traffic nearby, but didn't bother me too much.

The rooms are newly renovated and where very clean. No complaints there. The only thing is that I felt the room was a little small, with limited space to put bags and suitcases. There are no chairs in the room, you have to sit on the bed to watch TV. But hey, you don't spend too much time in the room while on vacation in Hawaii?!?? ;)

Tip: Wednesdays they have Managers reception, with drinks and snacks in the pool area. Very nice to meet the general manager and have a little chat with him about the hotel and our vacation. Genuine guy who really took pride in the newly renovated rooms!

We were very pleased with our stay, and would definitely come back next time we're in Honolulu.

Room Tip: High floor is probably better. Though the cheapest are the ones facing northeast, i.e towards the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spauli, General Manager at Park Shore Waikiki, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Aloha Cecilie556,

Thank you for taking the time to write a nice review regarding your recent stay at Park Shore Waikiki. I am glad that you enjoyed your newly renovated Hotel Room, our superior location, and, meeting you at our manager's reception. We are happy that you will be returning again in the future, and we will ensure that you have another wonderful stay with us.

Mahalo,

Scott Pauli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    195
    51
    7
    0
See reviews for
138
252
41
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

Other reviewers have said it all. This place is the best! We had an oceanfront, corner room, that not only overlooked the beach, but Diamond Head to our left. Just breathtaking at sunset. The staff is EXTREMELY friendly and accommodating, and the location perfect with everything you need within steps or minutes. A BIG thank-you to the front desk manager, David. We appreciate everything you did for us!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spauli, General Manager at Park Shore Waikiki, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Aloha antonmed,

Thank you for taking the time to write a very nice review on your recent stay at Park Shore Waikiki. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed our great location, the fabulous views of the Pacific Ocean from your Ocean Front room, and our incredible service professionals. I will be sure to let David know of your positive comments about him. We hope that you are able to return again in the future. We will ensure that you have another awesome stay with us.

Mahalo,

Scott Pauli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Excellent location far from the hustle and bustle of Honolulu/Waikiki but in a good way. Staff was excellent and friendly and on par with far more expensive hotels. The value is great and it worth paying a bit more for a suite (Diamond Head view) since they come with microwave, fridge, toaster, plates, etc... and can ease the pain of eating out all the time.

Room, pool and lobby were spotless. I would not hesitate to go back.

Room Tip: Higher is better (view and noise) and choose a suite if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spauli, General Manager at Park Shore Waikiki, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Aloha Jean_FrancoisUsa,

Thank you for taking the time to write a very nice review regarding your recent stay at Park Shore Waikiki. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our superior location, the outstanding service professionals, and the incredible views from your diamond Head Suite. We are excited that you will be returning again in the future, and we will ensure that you have another great stay with us.

Mahalo,

Scott Pauli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

This hotel is convenient to the beach and has lots of amenities around it.
The "City View" hotels are not "city view" however, but rather you have a view of the hotel across the back lane, or in our case, being on the fourth floor, the parking structure of that hotel plus a large metal shed.
We had requested a king bed room and none was available the first night. We were told one would be available the next night on a higher floor. After moving our things into storage for the day, we got the king bed room, but on the same floor. We had booked this hotel as part of a package and I believe that the less desirable rooms are allocated to those packages and the better rooms reserved for independent travellers.
Hotel staff were friendly and helpful.
This is a budget hotel, so you basically get what you pay for.

Room Tip: If you can, avoid the "city view" rooms unless you get a much higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spauli, General Manager at Park Shore Waikiki, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Aloha DanWin53,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at Park Shore Waikiki. I am not clear on why your description of our standard Hotel Room was described as a City View Room. We describe this category as "Hotel Room" on our web sites and our 3rd party web sites. If you can let me know who had described the Hotel Room as City View, then I will follow up with them to ensure that there is no further misunderstandings. I do reccommend the view categories of Partial Ocean View, Ocean View, and Ocean Front. You will certainly change your mind that we are a budget property. We hope that you decide to give us another chance in the future and we will ensure that you have a better experience next time.

Mahalo,

Scott Pauli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colby, Wisconsin
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Wonderful time. Everyone was so friendly and helpful! The housekeeper was so sweet! We had an awesome time! Loved the shower! The bed was so comfy! Everything was great! Thank you for such a great experience!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spauli, General Manager at Park Shore Waikiki, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Aloha Jennifer F,

Thank you for taking the time to write a very nice review regarding your recent stay at Park Shore Waikiki. I am glad that you enjoyed our incredible and friendly service professionals and your newly renovated guest room. We hope that you are able to return again in the future. We will ensure that you have another great stay with us.

Mahalo,

Scott Pauli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

This is a great hotel for all of the above reasons! It's a great location and our room was clean and comfortable and we had a great view (for being a "partial view"!) I will definately return to Park Shore Hotel! The staff was most helpful and courteous! Looking forward to my next visit! Aloha and mahalo!

Room Tip: I was amazed at how quiet this hotel is and I think that any view is a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spauli, General Manager at Park Shore Waikiki, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Aloha Orchidlady14,

Thank you for taking the time to write a very nice review regarding your recent stay at Park Shore Waikiki. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our incredible location, our friendly and helpful service professionals, and your newly renovated Partial Ocean View room. We are delighted that you will be returning again in the future, and will ensure that you have another wonderful stay with us.


Mahalo,

Scott Pauli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

This hotel is located at the end of the Waikiki strip. It's close to everything. The only downfall is there are not many healthy eating options nearby. We were there for 9 days. Tucker and bevy next door is nice but expensive for the amount of food. Lulu's has a great breakfast but it's a very large portion. Maybe order to go and split at the beach! You know this hotel is in the right spot when the locals have their crossfit meetings on the beach out front. The staff is very nice and will even help print the bus routes! Definitely take the bus while moving around honolulu. The locals are hilarious and it's so cheap. Definitely, rent a car and drive to North Shore as it's so beautiful on Sunset Beach and Pipeline (Ekahi Beach). Taking the bus to Kailua (eastern side of the island) will take 1 hour but it's our favorite beach. Have a lava flow, enjoy hula music/dancers at Tiki's on Thursday night (next to the hotel). Split a hamburger and garlic fries at Teddy's burgers next door and you can bring your own beer/wine. It even says it on the menu board. I wish we had brought a car phone charger while driving around the island as we needed navigation and the ability to take photos. Have a great time! Definitely stay at this hotel!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spauli, General Manager at Park Shore Waikiki, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Aloha RtravelINC,

Thank you for taking the time to write a very nice review on your recent stay at Park Shore Waikiki. I am glad that you enjoyed our incredible location, our outstanding service professionals, and the many exciting nearby amenities near the property. Tucker & Bevvy is a great option for a healthy breakfast, lunch, or light dinner. There is also Starbucks on property, Subway, and Wolfgang Puck Express next door. Your recommendation is very much appreciated. We hope that you are able to return again in the future, and will ensure that you have another excellent stay with us.

Mahalo,

Scott Pauli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Shore Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Shore Waikiki

Address: 2586 Kalakaua Ave., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#11 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#34 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Park Shore Waikiki 3.5*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the best views around, the renovated Park Shore Waikiki is perfectly located fronting world-famous Waikiki Beach and is situated between picturesque Diamond Head and the excitement of Waikiki. Accommodations feature breathtaking ocean and/or Diamond Head views with private lanais. The hotel's remarkable location is steps to the Honolulu Zoo, Kapiolani Park, Waikiki Shell and Waikiki Aquarium. You'll also enjoy having a mini-refrigerator and microwave in guestrooms for added convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Park Shore Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Shore Waikiki Honolulu
Park Shore Hotel Hawaii
Park Shore Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Shore Waikiki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.