We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home away from home” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Park Shore Waikiki

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Park Shore Waikiki to your Saves list
Park Shore Waikiki
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2586 Kalakaua Ave., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 20%!
Ranked #12 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence 2014
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A home away from home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

The staff of frontdesk are friendly and their services so quick & adiquate. Our 14th floor Diamondhead Suite has a GREAT view of mountain, park and ocean. But 15th or higher would have a whole view of mountain. The bathroom is a bit small but very clean and functional. There was no bottle opener so I bought it at a ABC store by $5.5. Wifi service was not gotten through somehow by my Smartphone. But no problem because I rented a mobile wifi router. Newly opened store Tacker & Bevvy picnic food is strongly recommendable to lovers of natural foods. They made a freash juice by a latest slow juicer. Overall, a stay at this hotel fullfilled our wish to feel natural refreshment of Hawaii.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spauli, General Manager at Park Shore Waikiki, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Aloha NobooHeSah,

Thank you for taking the time to write a nice review regarding your recent stay at Park Shore Waikiki. I am glad that you enjoyed the fabulous views from your Diamond Head Suite. We have just added bottle openers to each guest room, and will not be an issue for your return visit. I am not sure why your smart phone did not connect to the wireless internet system, We normally do not have a problem with this, and I apologize for that. We look forward to your return visit, and will ensure that you have a flawless stay with us.

Mahalo,

Scott Pauli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    242
    67
    8
    2
See reviews for
161
318
44
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Park Shore for four nights in mid September. When we originally booked this hotel we wanted a location away from the hustle and bustle of Waikiki. We found that this hotel located at the end of the strip was perfect for us. We did not want to spend our vacation shopping on the strip and rented a car to get around the island. We were able to jump in the car and head out exploring with minimal traffic to and from the hotel.

A few words about the staff. We have stayed at five star hotels that did not provide the level of customer service that we received from the staff at Park Shore. The front desk was helpful, professional, kind and courteous. They asked how we were enjoying our stay, made recommendations and provided directions when they saw us trying to navigate a map. The valet service was fantastic, I am a smoker and I always kid my husband when we valet park that I have plenty of time to smoke because it will take forever to get the car anyway, but this was not the case at the Park Shore. These guys were on it! We waited an average of 2-3 minutes to get our car EVERY time. The cost of Parking was $22 a day but after driving all over Oahu, I can tell you that cost is a bargain. We parked at the Sheraton Waikiki one night for a catamaran cruise we were taking and it cost $20 for 4.5 hours! The housekeeping staff was exceptional. Everything was clean and replenished daily and always without interrupting us. The one suggestion I would make here is that in the room there is a card saying if you hang up your towels you will reuse them, if they are on the floor they will be replaced. I expected the same type of notice in regards to bed linens, but did not find one. I don't need my bed linens changed everyday and would like to see that option as well. They have an activities desk in the lobby (this might be expedia) and they were very helpful booking us last minute tickets to the Paradise Cove luau. The Luau did not have any front row seating left, but the activities director requested they bump us up if they had a cancellation. When we got there we were seated in the front row! Fantastic! I give kudos to this team for helping to making our stay wonderful. I work in the property management industry (managing apartment communities) and if anyone of the staff members at the Park Shore wanted a job on the mainland they could call me!

Room Tip: We had a corner unit and had two large windows!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spauli, General Manager at Park Shore Waikiki, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Aloha pirate_looks_at_30,

Thank you for taking the time to write a very nice review on your recent stay at Park Shore Waikiki. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our great location and the outstanding service professionals. It seems the Towel Card is missing in your room, and we will need to replace it. We do offer this on the towel rack for each room. Our standard Housekeeping service for changing sheets is every third day, but we will change sheets daily based upon request. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future, and will ensure that you have another wonderful stay with us.

Mahalo,

Scott Pauli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, Seoul, South Korea
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel about a year and a half ago and it was awesome. This time around everything was great too, but we had a bit of a mix up with our booking. We reserved an oceanfront room (probably one of the best rooms on the strip for the price) and got a suite instead. The suite was VERY nice, but not an ocean front view. When we called the front desk to ask for a downgrade back to our original booking we got put in a corner room which, while still technically ocean front, was facing diamond head. Still haf an absolutely awesome view, but it wasn't as great as our room last year.

Still, if you want a nice hotel for a good price, Park Shore is a safe choice!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
spauli, General Manager at Park Shore Waikiki, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Aloha John R,

Thank you for taking the time to write a nice review regarding your recent stay at Park Shore Waikiki. I am sorry that we were not able to have an Ocean Front room in our Shore Tower. The Park Tower Ocean Front rooms do offer incredible views as well. Please let us know in advance that you would like to have your room in the Shore Tower, and we will do our best to accomodate you. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future, and will ensure that you have another great stay with us.

Mahalo,

Scott Pauli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We stayed here as a part of our honeymoon to Hawaii in April 2013. This hotel is value for money when it comes to location, clean rooms and friendly staff. If you choose Park Shore you are not expecting a standard as some of the more premium hotels but the hotel delivers very well in its segment. Location wise its right there close to Waikiki with close proximity to Diamond head and the more "relaxed" eastern part of the famous beach. I would reccomend Park Shore to everyone that needs a clean and nice place to stay but does not want to spend to much money to be on Waikiki.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spauli, General Manager at Park Shore Waikiki, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Aloha bigasstraveler,

Thank you for taking the time to write a nice review regarding your last with us last April. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our incredible location, the clean and comfortable rooms, and our excellent and friendly service professionals. We appreciate you recommending our property and look forward to having you stay with us again. We will ensure that you have another memorable stay with us.

Mahalo,

Scott Pauli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsboro, Oregon
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We booked two nights (Sept. 6 & 7) in a 'Standard Room, Ocean View' with the preference of a king bed through hotels.com for about $250/nt including taxes. The front desk initially put us in a king room on the 10th floor but it was too close to the wing facing the ocean. We couldn't see diamond head and the room/lanai was just feet away from a room/lanai on the other wing.

We went down to the front desk and asked to be moved makai (closer to the ocean) and they gave us keys to a king room on the 8th floor that had an amazing view of diamond head and felt more private. We moved our bags to the new room and dropped off the keys to the first room. Both people who helped us at the front desk were very helpful.

The room was very clean and comfortable. The bed and pillows were not too firm or soft for us. All linens were decent quality. I found the electronic thermostat easy to use and it automatically shut off when the sliding glass door was open.

We used the valet and they were all very friendly. We were told to just show up at the valet stand when needing our car. No call prior necessary and they were very quick all three times we needed our car. Make sure to give them an idea how long it will be before you need your car if you can to speed up the process.

It was nice to have the lemon water and pog in the lobby. There's a simple sign-out sheet for beach towels at the front desk. People sometimes leave boogie boards and floats near the elevator when checking out.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms makai (closer to the ocean) are more private and have a better view of diamond head...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spauli, General Manager at Park Shore Waikiki, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Aloha shaka_rick,

Thank you for taking the time to write a very nice review regarding your recent stay at Park Shore Waikiki. I am glad that we found you the Ocean View room that you enjoyed, and that you found our service professionals to be very friendly and helpful. We look forward to your return visit, and will ensure that you have another outstanding stay with us.

Mahalo,

Scott Pauli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Centro, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Park Shore for our honeymoon. Upon check-in we were told that we had been upgraded from Ocean front view to ocean and Diamond Head view. When we got to the room we discovered it was a handicap accessible room, no bath tub, wheelchair accessible shower. Room was very small and I was terribly disappointed. My husband suggested we call the desk and ask for a different room. They wete, thankfully, very accomodating. They moved us to a lovely room on the 17th floor. We had a view of the ocean and Diamond Head. The pool at the hotel was treat! We ate a couple of times at Lulu's which is on the 2nd floor and the food was great. The location of the hotel is awesome. Right across the street from the zoo, right around the corner from Starbucks, and right across the street from Waikiki. Great hotel!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spauli, General Manager at Park Shore Waikiki, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Aloha Ledeana H,

Thank you for taking the time to write a very nice review regarding your recent stay at Park Shore Waikiki. I am sorry about the first room that was assisgned to you, but glad to hear that we have fixed that right away. I am happy that you did enjoy the views from your 2nd room, our great location, and the Pool Deck. Lulus Waikiki does a great job and it is nice to hear the postive comments on your experience with them. We look forward to having you return again in the future, especially for an anniversary celebration. We will ensure that you have another excellent stay with us.

Mahalo,

Scott Pauli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We booked an ocean front room for our 10yr wedding anniversary during the first week of September. We had a late check in and were very tired from the flight. To our surprise the lady working front desk knew it was our anniversary and upgraded us to a suite! It was large, clean and very comfortable, we didn't realize how spectacular the view would be until the sunrise that morning. It was breathtaking! Our room was 1811 and we highly recommend booking this suite. You have unobstructed views of Diamond Head and Waikiki Beach! So calming and relaxing! Lovely to sleep with the balcony open to hear the ocean waves. The service at the Park Shore is fabulous, everyone is very helpful and always happy! I've been fortunate to have been to Hawaii several times before but this was my first time at the Park Shore and can honestly say it was the best hotel with great service that I have experienced there. Everything was perfect and so very memorable. We will defiantly be back!

Room Tip: It you can request a room on the top floors of either building. The suite 1811 is beautiful!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spauli, General Manager at Park Shore Waikiki, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Aloha Attagrl_007,

Thank you for taking the time to write a very nice review regarding your recent stay at Park Shore Waikiki. I am glad that you chose our property for your 10th anniversary, and happy to hear that you enjoyed your upgraded Diamond Head Suite, and the beautiful views that it offers. Thank you for the positive comments regarding our incredible service professionals. We look forward to having you stay with again in the future, and will ensure that you have another wonderful stay with us.

Mahalo,

Scott Pauli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Shore Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Shore Waikiki

Address: 2586 Kalakaua Ave., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#10 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Park Shore Waikiki 3.5*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the best views around, the renovated Park Shore Waikiki is perfectly located fronting world-famous Waikiki Beach and is situated between picturesque Diamond Head and the excitement of Waikiki. Accommodations feature breathtaking ocean and/or Diamond Head views with private lanais. The hotel's remarkable location is steps to the Honolulu Zoo, Kapiolani Park, Waikiki Shell and Waikiki Aquarium. You'll also enjoy having a mini-refrigerator and microwave in guestrooms for added convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Park Shore Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Shore Waikiki Honolulu
Park Shore Hotel Hawaii
Park Shore Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Shore Waikiki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.