We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Maile Sky Court

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Maile Sky Court to your Saves list
Maile Sky Court
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2058 Kuhio Ave., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #68 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Parker, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Not bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

When I stayed here, it was the cheapest available. Overall the hotel is not bad at all as long as you don't expect a 5 star hotel. The bar/restaurant downstairs is a good hangout and the staff is friendly. The hotel is about a 5 minute walk to Waikiki beach so the location is not that bad. There are shops and restaurants right outside the hotel, but like most of Waikiki, be aware of your surroundings when walking around at night.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaileSkyCourtHotel, Manager at Maile Sky Court, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Aloha TheJonB! Thank you for selecting our hotel during your visit to Waikiki. I'm glad we were able to provide you with affordable and satisfactory accommodations during your stay. Your comments and advice is greatly appreciated. We hope to see you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,035 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    351
    368
    118
    76
See reviews for
152
310
161
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This was value for money ocean view,close to everything beach,shops,bars,bus ride to Ala Moana Mall and Walmart and a walk to get to good food court in front of Sheraton Hotel.Even saw fireworks on Friday night sitting in our room.

Room Tip: Ocean view was good value for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaileSkyCourtHotel, Manager at Maile Sky Court, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Aloha Abey A! Thank you for spending time at the Maile Sky Court Hotel. I'm delighted that our hotel was a great value that met your expectations, especially since you had a special treat of watching the firework show from your room. We look forward to seeing you again on your next vacation all the way from New Zealand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilo, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Good location, SMALL rooms, AC is okay, SMALL Bathroom to match.. Housekeeping was hungry
and took some of our snacks. Front desk is pressurized and tense. Central location, three blocks
to International Marketplace, Post Office and a mellow Starbucks.
Jacuzzi and swimming pool is okay. impressive...they answer the " GUEST SERVICES " phone
on the first pick up. Check in and out lines are long. Nice touch...free Star Advertiser in lobby.
Part of the Wyndham chain Just don't bring a vehicle to park in their building. The attached restaurant is not impressive, you have to eat out a lot...no room service just a vending machine,with pop tarts and chips on second floor next to the ice machine. Waikiki is open sort of late. Room price is right for the location, make your reservation; but extensions cost big money, no sympathy in this department..

Room Tip: get on the highest floor you can, watch out the split elevators, you want to stay on the higher flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaileSkyCourtHotel, Manager at Maile Sky Court, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Aloha Jenny C! Thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you on your recent visit. Please accept our apology for any inconveniences that we may have caused. Your comments are greatly appreciated, as your feedback will assist us with improving the guest experience for future guests. Thank you also for your recommendation of preferred floors and elevators. This information will be useful to others.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I recently stayed at Maile Sky Court hotel. Hotel's location is fine and $100 a night was not bad for Honolulu. My problem was not with checking in, staffs, or the cleanliness of the room, but rather with AC in the room. It was so loud that I could not get any sleep at all. If I have to do it all over again, I would book a room at the Court Yard by Marriott down the street with only $38 more. I am now back to my home and still trying to recover from the sleepless night at the Maile.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaileSkyCourtHotel, Manager at Maile Sky Court, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Aloha Travelfreak169! Thank you for staying at the Maile Sky Court Hotel. We appreciate your feedback regarding the air conditioner unit in your room. Please accept my sincere apology for this great inconvenience. I am disappointed that you were unable to unwind and relax as one would expected while staying at a hotel and to hear that you are still recovering from the lack of sleep while at our hotel. As we look to future improvements, I hope you will allow us another opportunity to regain your patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver, Colorado, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Booked this place on Hotwire, cause i needed a room last minute, it was a great deal around $100, plus you gotta pay for parking $20/day. It is only a couple blocks from the hot spots in Waikiki, and close to the beach as well. The room was shockingly small, i shouldve known when i checked in there was busloads constantly dropping off Japanese tourists, literally, one after the next just unloading them like a cattle drive. I literally felt like i was in Japan, then I went to the room, and it was reminiscent of a capsule hotel! so tiny!, but being so tiny, it was actually kinda cute, pretty clean, the fridge was old and rusty and the tv was a la 1990 box set. Everything was manageable. Then i sat on the bed.... size twin. This place was made for tiny Japanese tourists. A freaking twin bed! wow, although it makes sense because anything bigger would literally take up the whole room, no joke. But on top of the fact that the bed was a size suitable for dogs or small children, it was so uncomfortable. Reminded me of the 'ol boy scout troop camp, i could feel the springs poking in all the wrong places. god it was a horrid night on that thing. Anyways the room worked fine for 1 night. Cant beat the location for this price, just use this hotel as a transition stay, or if your rolling solo, i DO NOT recommend using this as a family, or honeymoon place. spend the money and get something better to accommodate those situations.

Room Tip: solo or transition stay only!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaileSkyCourtHotel, Manager at Maile Sky Court, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Aloha Adam S! Mahalo for sharing your experience of your stay with us on TripAdvisor. I'm terribly disappointed that we failed to provide acceptable accommodations at the Maile Sky Court Hotel. Your feedback will be included, as we prepare for future improvements to our facilities and of our guest services. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west hollywood,ca
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I believe Aqua is now managing this hotel. It's 44 stories and has a great unobstructed view of the ocean. Although the rooms are small they are well decorated and clean. The staff is always nice and accommodating. On the fifth floor there is a swimming pool and Jacuzzi. Also a bar and beauty salon. On the first floor there is a open air lobby with free wi-fi, a business center, small convince store and a travel disk that can arrange tours and special attractions. THE BUS, the local public transit system stops across Kohio St if your head towards Diamond Head and a half block to the right in front of the Ambassador Hotel to go towards Downtown. Across the St. ands in front of the Gateway Hotel will take to Ala Moana Shopping Center and other attractions. If you possess a Handicapped Placard and are planning on renting a car there is amble parking on both streets along the sides of the hotel. Otherwise it's $18.00 per day which is less expensive than most hotels. I have stayed in this hotel for many years. It was originally managed by Outrigger both as a Outrigger and then as Ohana which was their inexpensive hotels are operated as. Castle Hotels managed it for about one year, and had a problem with check in. Castle tried to charge me an additional fee for the Ocean View room I already paid for. They also did this when I stayed at another of their properties. If it says Castle *******Hotel, avoid it.

Never have had a problem other than that one year. This hotel is inexpensive but well worth the price. It's not on the beach but a fabulous view can be reserved.

Room Tip: Pay the extra $5.00 to $10.00 and reserve a Ocean View Room, it's well worth it. Note: Partial...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaileSkyCourtHotel, Manager at Maile Sky Court, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Aloha whmike! Welcome back! Thank you for your continued support of the Maile Sky Court Hotel throughout these past years. It's always a pleasure to hear our guest's positive reviews of our hotel, especially from our return guests. Your detailed review and helpful ocean view tips/recommendation of our hotel is sure to assist other TripAdvisor visitors with booking their next hotel reservation. Hurry back and visit us soon! Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Took very long to get checked in. The room was average, nothing to write home about. Location is poor and parking in the hotel garage very expensive. $18.00 a day. Probably would not stay there again or recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Not much room to move around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Skoosh

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaileSkyCourtHotel, Manager at Maile Sky Court, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Aloha Mick11012! Thank you for taking the time to submit your review of our hotel. Your patronage to our hotel is greatly appreciated. I'm very sorry for the delay during the check in process. We are committed to taking necessary steps in improving our guest services, which we hope to have an opportunity to regain your valued patronage in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maile Sky Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maile Sky Court

Address: 2058 Kuhio Ave., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Maile Sky Court 2.5*
Number of rooms: 596
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Maile Sky Court is located on the western end of Waikiki. This 44-story hotel with commanding views of the Pacific Ocean, Koolau Mountains and Waikiki skyline is just 3 blocks to Waikiki Beach and 4 blocks to the Hawaii Convention Center. Conveniently located near shopping, dining and activities, this affordable hotel also features rooms with compact refrigerators, coffeemakers, stove-tops in studios and microwaves in deluxe rooms & suites. With the daily Convenience Fee, guests receive amenities including: Internet access, unlimited movies and playstation 3 games, local and toll-free phone calls, in-room coffee daily, in-room safe, daily newspaper, and Waikiki Shuttle service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Maile Sky Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maile Sky Court Hotel Honolulu
Castle Maile Sky Court Honolulu
Ohana Maile Sky Court
Castle Maile Sky Court Hotel
Maile Sky Court Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maile Sky Court, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.