We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value per dollar spent” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Maile Sky Court

Save Saved
You added Maile Sky Court to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Maile Sky Court
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2058 Kuhio Ave., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #66 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Renton
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best value per dollar spent”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

Yes, it is showing its age but the Maile Sky Court is still a great value. Best budget hotel jacuzzi in Waikiki. Aqua is working hard to make this a great place to stay.

Room Tip: The higher level rooms will put you further from the Waikiki street noice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaileSkyCourtHotel, Manager at Maile Sky Court, responded to this review, April 21, 2012
On behalf of Aqua Hotels and Resorts, we thank you for staying at the Maile Sky Court Hotel. We are pleased that we were able to offer clean and affordable accommodations during your recent visit to Waikiki. Please come and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

946 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    325
    332
    105
    67
See reviews for
141
289
140
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

I just stayed six nights at the Maile Sky Court with my girlfriend and all I have to say is Hey, its a cheaper hotel and you get what you pay for. All my gf and I wanted was a comfortable and less pricey place to sleep downtown, and we got it, for everyone complaining about the little things, the rooms were smaller but still comfortable, decent tv, bed was nice, windows maybe a little dirty but the view is still fantastic, and everyday the rooms were cleaned with fresh towels. It wasn't perfect, but its a simple place and I wouldn't have a problem staying there again.

However, my only complaint is the parking is $18/day which for budget travelers like my girlfriend and I, we were unaware of the cost of parking so it was sort of a surprise and although that doesnt seem like much per 24hr period, for budget travelers like my gf and I, it really did cut in deep to our overall vacation budget.
I believe the parking rates need to be revised, more options please.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaileSkyCourtHotel, Manager at Maile Sky Court, responded to this review, April 18, 2012
Mahalo for posting your review on TripAdvisor. We appreciate the time taken to share your experience and hope your information will assist others with their future visit to Waikiki. Please accept my apologies for the $18.00 parking fee. We will look into your suggestions regarding our parking fees. Thank you again for your patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

We stayed here on a recent trip to Honolulu. Mainly booked it based on price. (Package deal from Pleasant Holidays.) Yes, the hotel probably could use some renovation, but our room was roomy and clean. The outside windows certainly need to be washed, however. The bathroom was a bit cramped but also very clean. For as much time as we spent in our room, the Maile Sky Court was a great value! I also liked the location ... on the edge of the action ... but certainly within walking distance of everything Waikiki has to offer. The staff is super nice and very helpful. Be sure to bring your cell phone as local calls are spendy :)

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaileSkyCourtHotel, Manager at Maile Sky Court, responded to this review, April 13, 2012
Thank you for selecting the Maile Sky Court Hotel for your accommodations. We are happy to know that you were able to enjoy your stay at our facilities, along with the sights and sounds of Waikiki by booking a package through Pleasant Holidays. We hope you will be able to visit us on future trips.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cable Bay New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

Stayed here for 12 days recently as part of a flight/hotel package deal with some extra days added...Internet:.. maybe they should consider free wifi in rooms... would make the proposition of staying a lot more appealing,,
Parking:... excessive at 18.00 per night... could be less for patrons of the hotel and more for casual overnight parking.. The Good side... I asked for an upgrade and was politely given a corner room with a kitchenette with great sea and city views... much appreciated thanks..... the outside windows need to be washed... they were dirty enough to make looking out very difficult... rooms were dated but adequate and clean... We only use our room to sleep in and watch a bit of news on TV, a few nightcaps before retiring for the next day... Would I stay here again..... maybe ...but then again....:}

Room Tip: Get one as high up as possible... the road noise can easily be heard on the lower floors All night l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaileSkyCourtHotel, Manager at Maile Sky Court, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
Aloha! Mahalo for choosing the Maile Sky Court Hotel on your recent visit to Waikiki and for providing your feedback about our facilities. We appreciate your patronage and hope we will have the opportunity to serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pahoa, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

When I got out of the elevator the whole 15th floor smelled terrible! My room had a wheelchair accessible shower and the floor of the whole bathroom stayed wet. I had to use all but one towel to squeegee the floor to stop from slipping. After only 1 night stay, upon checking out I was accused of causing water damage to a wall that had so clearly been repaired many times. I raised my voice is disbelief and the security guard not only told me to "shut up" but threatened to hit me. I hat to "shut up" just to get my cash deposit back.
I live on the Big Island and left Honolulu feeling awful!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaileSkyCourtHotel, Manager at Maile Sky Court, responded to this review, March 31, 2012
Thank you very much for letting us know about your experience. I am very disappointed to hear that you left Honolulu feeling awful. I understand that the actions of our staff made you feel frustrated and uncomfortable. To prevent future occurrences such as yours, I am hoping you will be able to contact me directly to discuss further. Please accept my apology for not being able to provide a positive experience during your stay at the Maile Sky Court Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

I wish I saw the reviews below before I booked here.. Out of my 6 day reservation I stayed only one night (just because I was tired). The only good thing about the hotel was the view from my room, and the front desk was nice. Everything else was very disappointing and this is the first time I have ever had to change hotels (and I travel for work). The bed is old and hard, the sheets are thin and worthless and very outdated and uncomfortable...I felt like I was laying on a plastic tablecloth. The pillows are cheap and thin. When I turned the faucet on for some water it leaked into a huge puddle below the sink...and since we mentioned the sink.. it has nasty water stains. I tried to save the work company credit card a couple bucks by staying at this (cheaper) hotel but ended up having to pay the extra money for the basics anyways. This hotel really needs a lot of TLC. Don't go the cheap route.. and don't stay here! We warned you!

Room Tip: Pick a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaileSkyCourtHotel, Manager at Maile Sky Court, responded to this review, March 27, 2012
On behalf of the Maile Sky Court Hotel, thank you for your review of our facilities. We are disappointed and embarrassed to learn that your experience was less than satisfactory. Please accept our sincere apologies for having to locate alternative accommodations during your visit to Waikiki, as we understand how this was frustrating for you. We appreciate your feedback and we are committed to taking necessary steps to minimize these inconveniences in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

First off, let me state that I'm not super picky about hotels. I travel a lot, and I'm used to budget stays (including dirty old hostels on backpacking trips). This hotel was below even my standards.

This is not a 2.5 star hotel. The walls and surfaces are dirty, the rooms are small, the beds are concave (literally, you could see a parabola shape), the hotel staff is not courteous, and it is no where near the quality I was expecting.Shortly after we entered the room, a loud drilling noise came through the walls to the point where we could not talk. For the first time in my life, I took a loss and checked out of this hotel after an hour.

As I said before, my standards are not high, and this is the first time in 5 years that I have felt that I needed to write a negative review. My expectations were not met in any way. The extra money for a better hotel would be totally worth it.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaileSkyCourtHotel, Manager at Maile Sky Court, responded to this review, March 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to bring your experience to our attention. We are sorry for failing to meet your expectations and for any inconveniences endured. We truly value your patronage and appreciate your honest feedback. We look forward to taking the necessary steps to minimize these inconveniences in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maile Sky Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maile Sky Court

Address: 2058 Kuhio Ave., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Maile Sky Court 2.5*
Number of rooms: 596
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Maile Sky Court is located on the western end of Waikiki. This 44-story hotel with commanding views of the Pacific Ocean, Koolau Mountains and Waikiki skyline is just 3 blocks to Waikiki Beach and 4 blocks to the Hawaii Convention Center. Conveniently located near shopping, dining and activities, this affordable hotel also features rooms with compact refrigerators, coffeemakers, stove-tops in studios and microwaves in deluxe rooms & suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, BookIt.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Maile Sky Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maile Sky Court Hotel Honolulu
Castle Maile Sky Court Honolulu
Ohana Maile Sky Court
Castle Maile Sky Court Hotel
Maile Sky Court Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maile Sky Court, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.