We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel. Staff was so friendly!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ilikai Hotel & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ilikai Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Ilikai Hotel & Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1777 Ala Moana Boulevard, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 15%!
Ranked #20 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel. Staff was so friendly!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

I went to Oahu for 4 full days on a mini vacation. The hotel started my vacation off beautifully. The hotel was very nice, and the gentleman at the front desk upgraded us to an Ocean view room for free! He was so nice! Our view was facing towards Diamond head and the Hilton Lagoon, but we could see all of Waikiki beach and ocean area too. It was so pretty. Our room was huge! Soft bed, and I like the big tub separate from the shower. I was nervous about the hotel because of some of the reviews I read, but I thought the breakfast was great, you get a discount if you don't get the continental breakfast, and the regular menu food was very good, especially the macadamia nut pancakes. It is a little far from "the action" BUT it is nice because at night you don't get a lot of noise from the parties, and it is equal distance walking to the big mall there and to the restaurant and shopping area in the opposite direction. My only gripe is there aren't really any close restaurants that aren't a chain, but with downtown Waikiki such a close walk away, it didn't bother us too much. Another thing is checkout is at noon, and the day we left our flight wasn't until 9PM. They were nice enough to not only hold our bags, but allow us to shower and freshen up before our flight! I thought that was above and beyond. I would stay here again on my next visits to Hawaii.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    639
    570
    138
    37
    26
See reviews for
472
553
68
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (462)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
MN
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

Fabulous location just off Waikiki. Staff to a person (except pool lady) went out of their way to provide every service. Clean and updated...a real value! Loved our stay there!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2010

We used our Hotel room as a day's rest area before catching a red eye home. We are so Sorry we didn't book more days.
Our room - Mountain View, was huge. Floor to Ceiling windows overlooking the balcony, king size? bed with down? cover (it was comfortable & roomy!). Free Internet access (Not WiFi) from a large desk/table, Two closets, a walk-in shower separate from the Bathtub, & Coffee, etc, Fridge, wall mounted flat screen TV etc. Plus the usual dresser & Chair.
It is situated near Waikiki with a Bus Stop right out Front. ABC, McDonald's, Subway & a coffee shop across the street (this, in addition, to the usual Tourist shops).
There is a charge for parking should you have a Rental. (Alamo office is across the street as well)
This is a Grand Dame resort that because of care & maintenance shows its' age gracefully. We hope to return! Oh, & finally, we got a deep discout by booking more than 60 days in advance. Go for it!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

Our room was spacious and open with a great view of the marina, ocean and sunsets. The exterior of the hotel is not beautiful but the lobby is very nice and the rooms are excellent. We switched to a suite halfway through our stay which had two bedrooms and two baths with a living/dining area and kitchenette. It was on the corner so we had had two balconies as well. It faced the Hilton Village but there was still a nice view of the ocean although the sunset was obscured. The pool is small but serviceable and the restaurant on the ground floor was average at best. This hotel is at the North end of Waikiki Beach next to the Hilton Village and everything in Waikiki is within walking distance. The Concierge was friendly and very helpful. We rented a car from the Concierge and picked it up across the street. There are ABC stores close by that have groceries, sunscreen, wine and pretty much everything you need and the amount of shopping you can do within a half mile radius is mind-boggling. This hotel is not directly on the beach but access is not a problem.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2010

Location was okay for walking around to shopping but the Hilton next door is very noisy at night as they have their Lua on the parkade roof ? Hotel rooms are very dated but large and clean.
The pool is a smaller size with no cocktails allowed so it is kinda boring.The pool side cafe is expensive and not that good.The roof top dining room is definately something from the original Hawaii 5 0. I would not stay again as I have stayed in better hotels with more to offer in Waikiki.

Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crosswicks, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2010

I have always looked at picturesof hotels only to be disappointed when the rooms or hotel never looks like the picture. In September my sister and I arrived at this hotel in the early evening, the staff was friendly and very helpful and our check inwas quick and easy. We had booked an Ocean view room, imagine our amazement when we were taken to a room which had the view you see in the ads. We had an excellent view of the ocean and the lagoon. Our room was large and clean, It was quiet. The lanai was large and spacious. We had breakfast down stairs near the bar. The waffles were very good. We were within walking distance to shopping and the bus stop was right outside the hotel door. Everything was convienent. We enjoyed our stay in Waikiki and would recommend this hotel to anyone going to Oahu.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2010

The condos at the Ilikai Hotel and Suites in Honolulu combined convenient location with style and comfort and made my Honolulu trip amazing. The bus and ABC stores are handy, and getting around Waikiki easy. The property is well cared for and the staff friendly. I highly recommend these condos, and plan to return next year.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ilikai Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilikai Hotel & Suites

Address: 1777 Ala Moana Boulevard, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#16 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#32 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ilikai Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ilikai Hotel & Suites is a classic oceanfront hotel situated on the Ala Wai Yacht Marina at the edge of Waikiki and just a short stroll to Ala Moana Shopping Center and 2 blocks to the Hawaii Convention Center. Internationally-recognized as the famous opening shot of Hawaii Five-O with Jack Lord as Steve McGarrett standing on the penthouse balcony overlooking Waikiki Beach, the hotel is truly a Waikiki landmark. Each guest room and suite features extra spacious accommodations with a large lanai offering fabulous views. The hotel walkway from the lobby leads to the Duke Kahanamoku Lagoon and beach. With our hospitality fee for all stays beginning August 1, 2014, Ilikai Hotel & Suites allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Waikiki Shuttle (Complimentary Waikiki Shuttle Service), Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, Water in Lobby, and a Weekly Manager's Reception. You'll also enjoy the heated swimming pool, fitness room, coffee shop, rooftop restaurant and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ilikai Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilikai Hotel And Suites
Ilikai Hotel Hawaii
Ilikai Honolulu
Ilikai Hotel & Suites Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ilikai Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.