We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The room and service was incredible. A+.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ilikai Hotel & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ilikai Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Ilikai Hotel & Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1777 Ala Moana Boulevard, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 15%!
Ranked #20 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Gulfport, MS
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The room and service was incredible. A+.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2010

I initially chose the Ilikai Hotel for its historical significance, having seen it on Hawaii 5-0 as a youngster. Upon arrival, we were met with friendly, cheerful service from both the valet service and again at the check-in desk. The room itself was awesome, much more spacious than some others I have booked in Waikiki. The balcony offered incredible views of the mountains and the strip in Waikiki, though in retrospect, I should have taken the ocean view. Even with the very minor remodeling going on at the ground floor, the Ilikai offers a look at what a luxury hotel should look like. The Ilikai wears its age well. All of my future visits will be booked at the Ilikai. Thanks for a great hotel experience.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    636
    569
    138
    37
    26
See reviews for
470
552
68
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (462)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
BabyBoomer56
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2010

Arrived the day of the Chilean tsunami warning. Found hotel well staffed despite government warning residents to stay home. How is that for dedication! Front desk always accommodating and extended our check out a few hours due to late flight departure. Housekeeping filled our every needs. Location is excellent for going east into Waikiki and west to Ala Moana, or stroll to the beach. The Bus stop is just outside property front. I travel to Oahu four times a year and this was my first at the Ilikai. Baby Boomer from Seattle

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Stephens
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2010

As my wife said it takes time to find a good hairdresser, once found you tend to follow them as you know them and trust them to give you great service, confidence, and also care that you are happy with their service.
They give you peace of mind that you will be treated with respect. I have used the same mechanic for years for the same reasons.
When traveling, we always want our vacations to be great and memorable whether it's just for a break or for a special occasion.
So when we came across Mr. Terry Dowsett the General Manager of the Aqua resort at the Park Shore Hotel, and now at the Ilikai Hotel, we have decided to follow Mr. Dowsett and Ms Leonor Wong as they and all his teams from our own personnel experience to give you great peace of mind that your vacation at the Ilikai Hotel will be an experience to remember for a long time for good reasons.
We have found that all the staff including porters, front desk pool attendants, concierge, housekeeping,, activities manager and security, are all very friendly and informative and attuned to
insuring that our needs were being met.
We have stayed on 18 occasions in Honolulu at various hotels over the years. However, since we have met Mr. Dowsett, due to his excellent professional service which is reflected in all his team members, we now only travel and stay at the Aqua resort where he is located as we know that we will receive great service and have a great vacation.
Since April 2009 my wife and I have been back to Honolulu 5 times and staying for at least 1 month at a time. It is a place where my wife and I just love traveling to, and this year 2010 my wife, and I have spoken to Mr. Dowsett to arrange for an apartment at the Ilikai for a 3 month stay.
Besides the fact that we know we will receive good service at the Ilikai Hotel, it is also located in a great position with great views , of the ocean and the Mountains, and is very close to the Lagoon, which is great for couples and family's as well as the beach, yacht club, Marina, transport, Hire Cars, Museum, cafe's, restaurants, and near the Ala Mona Shopping center where you can pick up The Bus to go anywhere on the Island, and a short walk to the main Waikiki area.
Besides these nearby amenities, in the Ilikai itself has a day spa, hair salon, convenient store, clothing store, business center and mail service, as well as a soon to open a coffee shop. The whole Hotel is wheelchair friendly as well as the pool area where they have a life chair for disable people.

We highly recommend the Ilikai Hotel as a great place to stay where under the Management of the Aqua Resorts Mr. Terry Dowsett, Leonor Wong and all the Team, we know from personnel experience you will have a great vacation.

Mahalo
Pauline & Jim Outridge
Australia

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2010

The people were so warm and welcoming. The accommodations were nothing less than perfect, the food was the best we've ever had. Altogether, the most memorable trip of our lives. Well worth the money!

Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2010

My husband and I did not enjoy our time at the Ilikai one bit. The pool was far too small for the number of guests, and the hours were silly. We enjoy an evening swim, but this pool closed at 7. It's an eclectic group of people that stay there, from hospital patients to apartment renters. The hotel looks like it was once a nice place to stay...but really has gone to seed now I'm afraid. The patio door had no screen so we could not keep it open for some fresh air. The air-conditioner was LOUD and the fridge did not work too well. We killed a couple of cockroaches in our room...I do realize that they are plentiful in Hawaii...but yuck all the same.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2010

We stayed here three days prior to an island cruise. From the moment we arrived, the entire staff welcomed us warmly and made each day comfortable and wonderful. They embodied the true "aloha spirit". The hotel is situated right at the beginning of Waikii Beach , near a large shopping center, convenient to the airport and cruise port. It was perfect. The restaurant . The Top of the I", offers a spectacular view of Waiklii and Diamond Head. we couldn't have asked for a better stay. We saw moments of responsiveness to guests needs among the other guests that showed that the hotel does its' very best to exceed person's expectations. They did that for us and we thank them!!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park, Il
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2010

The Ilikai Waikiki Hotel & Suites offers the best of all worlds. Located on Ala Moana Boulevard, this hotel's breathtaking views from every wing include Diamond Head, Waikiki Beach, the Ali Wai Boat Harbor, and the Pacific Ocean. Walk to Ala Moana Shopping Center for shopping and dining of all varieties, or the restaurants and shops along Kalakua Avenue.
There is a lagoon offering calmer waters for kids between the hotel and the beach. On Friday evenings a fireworks show draws a family crowd to the lagoon, and there is a sailboat regatta out of the harbor.
One can find boating and skiing lessons and rentals, sunset and dinner ocean cruises, whale sightings during the season, and just spectacular communal sunset viewing.
Remarkably, despite the close proximity to whatever activities one might desire, the hotel's location on the Northwest end of Waikiki Beach offers a decidedly more relaxed atmosphere than say, one of the hotels located along Kalakua Avenue.
Having stayed at other properties, including some also managed by Aqua, on the other end, I was pleasantly surprised by the peaceful sense of calm and ease at this end of the beach.
We stayed in a Sunset View room, and that name did not do justice to the beauty of the sunsets we viewed on the ocean's horizon, out beyond the boat harbor and Ala Moana Beach and park.
The room included a sleeper sofa in addition to the king-sized bed, and a kitchenette with a full refrigerator, electric range, sink, and a breakfast buffet eating space. The spacious lanai was comfortably furnished with a table and chairs for outside dining as well as for simply taking in the view.
The airy lobby, tastefully decorated in island decor including blossoming plants, is fronted by aquatic sculpture and waterfall-studded stairs that also feature an elevator and escalator for luggage and the like. The other side of the lobby leads to the Canoes restaurant and bar, and an open-air patio. The restaurant offered a buffet-style breakfast and lunch, along with evening cocktails, but was planned to offer a dinner menu in the near future. Beyond the restaurant is a promenade that includes many indigenous trees and plants, and a walkway along Holomoana Street with seating for enjoying the view, that leads past the hotel pool down to the aforementioned lagoon.
The hotel pool is open during daylight hours, has an attendant and is very family-friendly. Our four-year old son made many fast friends, young and not-so, in his many hours splashing about in that pool.
The hotel staff is uniformly friendly and helpful. Managed by the inimitable Terry Dowsett, there was also Leonor Wong, who offered assistance when Terry was otherwise occupied, and Angela Padigos, the Asst. Director of Housekeeping, through whom all information and assistance flowed. Try as we might, we were unable to discover a need that these three were unable to offer sure assistance. They set the tone for the professional and personable service offered by the rest of the staff throughout the hotel's environs.
Sarrento's Top of The "I" restaurant, on the top floor of the hotel, offers fine Italian cuisine -with, as they say, a Mediterranean flair, and a full complement of fine wines to accompany the meal. The several private dining spaces all offer a grand view. The view competes admirably with the menu for best reason to visit this cozy space, but the fare would be compelling at any location high or low. Additionally, Thursday evenings are currently featuring live jazz music -in the main bar and dining area.
The combination of remarkable service by an outstanding staff, spectacular views, location-location-location, wonderfully relaxing atmosphere, and singular appointments and amenities make the Ilikai Hotel and Suites a definite return destination for me, and I cannot wait to make my way back there - and you will agree...

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ilikai Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilikai Hotel & Suites

Address: 1777 Ala Moana Boulevard, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#16 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#32 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ilikai Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ilikai Hotel & Suites is a classic oceanfront hotel situated on the Ala Wai Yacht Marina at the edge of Waikiki and just a short stroll to Ala Moana Shopping Center and 2 blocks to the Hawaii Convention Center. Internationally-recognized as the famous opening shot of Hawaii Five-O with Jack Lord as Steve McGarrett standing on the penthouse balcony overlooking Waikiki Beach, the hotel is truly a Waikiki landmark. Each guest room and suite features extra spacious accommodations with a large lanai offering fabulous views. The hotel walkway from the lobby leads to the Duke Kahanamoku Lagoon and beach. With our hospitality fee for all stays beginning August 1, 2014, Ilikai Hotel & Suites allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Waikiki Shuttle (Complimentary Waikiki Shuttle Service), Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, Water in Lobby, and a Weekly Manager's Reception. You'll also enjoy the heated swimming pool, fitness room, coffee shop, rooftop restaurant and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ilikai Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilikai Hotel And Suites
Ilikai Hotel Hawaii
Ilikai Honolulu
Ilikai Hotel & Suites Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ilikai Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.