We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and spacious room and bathroom” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ilikai Hotel & Suites

Save Saved
You added Ilikai Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ilikai Hotel & Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1777 Ala Moana Boulevard, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 15%!
Ranked #16 of 82 hotels in Honolulu
california
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Comfortable and spacious room and bathroom”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2009

Room was huge, ice cold air conditioner. My family and I stayed there for a week, very comfy bed and tons of pillows. Shower was detachable and had strong water pressure which is very important to get sand out especially. I was able to enjoy a relaxing bath every evening in the separate big tub. All in all, I would stay again at this hotel, it was very close to the beach, parking at the marina was only .25 cents an hour, we only spent about 3 to 4 $ a day for parking! Staff was great. Breakfast is served late at 7 am but the vouchers are not dated so you can get tomorrow's breakfast today and put it in your fridge if you want. There was even a microwave in the room. Two big closets. TV needs to be updated though. Elevator was super fast. There was some construction going on downstairs but did not bother us.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,321 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    603
    533
    130
    34
    21
See reviews for
441
521
68
75
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (430)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edgewood,NM
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2009

The room was great with a kitchen area. It was near the beach and stores and nice places. The view from the balcony was great and all of the staff members were the best.

Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2009

Iliaki is perfectly positioned - right on the beach, five minutes from Ala Moana shopping Mall, ABC shops next door and across the road. We have stayed four times , each time for a month or two. Sometimes family joins us. The apartments we have chosen have all been comfortable By booking directly we obtained far better value for money than anywhere else in Honolulu. Though the ground floor area is still very quiet due to new management, there are so many shopping opportunities nearby, that the transition in ownership is not detrimental - in fact it provided opportunities to find lovely units at low cost.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2009

Well - in talking to the staff - this hotel was the first highrise in the Pacific and it looks like it hasn't been updated since - some of the photos on the site - like the restaurant - are from somewhere else I'm sure. This place has a great location and if you are just looking for a clean place to lie your head then this is the place for you. The staff was awesome. The tennis courts and the pool were both closed when we were there and in such a state of disrepair we wouldn't have used them anyway. The restaurant upstairs "Sargento's" is very expensive - the food was great but again the atmosphere was very dated. This place needs a make over big time.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Nova Scotia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2009

Booked a Condo that had been upgraded. Had a partial ocean view and the rate was fabulous compared to hotels for same standard. Met others staying at the hotel and they booked a room directly with the hotel and previewed what room they wanted. Their suite was not upgraded but they got a reduced rate. Right beside the Hilton Hawaiin village. Good beach access and a (quiet) pool. The building is outdated from outside and carpet in the hallways but clean. Vallet parking is expensive but you can park in the beach front lot behind the hotel for less per day.

Bob from Hlifax, N.S.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
long beach, ca
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2009

This is the third year that i have stayed at the Ilikai hotel. I just want to say that I love this hotel. To anybody traveling with a family or a group of friends, i highly recomend this hotel. First, the hotel rooms are big! In the past years we stayed in a room with two queen beds, livingroom area with a pull out sofa, ocean view, lanai (balcony) and a kitchenette. I think the rooms are about 600 sq feet. Having a kitchennette was a big plus, when you are travelling, eating out starts getting expensive (for me i don't need to eat three big meals a day which could run 10-20 dollars per person a meal). We used the kitchette to make breakfast, and sandwiches for the road. The lanai are awesome, we would make our own simple breakfast and sit on the lanai and watch the waves crash. Every friday the hilton has an awesome firework show that you can watch from your lanai.

The hotel is at the beginning of the waikiki hotel strip, it sits between the hilton village and Hawaii Prince Hotel. The location is perfect for people who dont want too much foot traffic, but is still walking distance to restaurants, malls, etc. The hotel is ocean front, the beach is steps away from the hotel. "Steps away" means that the beach is not directly in front of the hotel, you will have to walk just a little. The hotel is located near the marina where people park their boats, so there is a parking area that you have to walk past to get to the beach.

The staff at the Ilikai were awesome, they were very helpful, and kind. Housekeeping cleaned the mess we made. Rooms were clean, beds were comfy with feather beds and feather blankets. The staff did anything they could to make our stay comfortable.

I would suggest If you go to Oahu, definately rent a car to the north shore area and go to waimea, monoa falls, sharks cove, sunset beach. Waikiki beach area is packed with tourist, try and see different parts of the island. I have been to hawaii 6 times and haven't seen everything.

I will say there are some cons for some people... (which are not a priority to me but i do have to be honest in my review, because everytime i travel i come onto this website to see what others think.. ) The pool area is really small, but why be in the pool if the ocean is steps away. There is no room service, or restaurant IN the hotel (except the italian restaurant on the top floors for fine dining). But there is numerous restaurants across the street..mc donalds, red lobster, outback.

Rates here are awesome, i was shopping around to see how much hotels are in the area. The rates here start between 117 to 150 a night, and they have a special where you stay three nights you get one for free.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ilikai Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilikai Hotel & Suites

Address: 1777 Ala Moana Boulevard, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#15 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#16 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ilikai Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ilikai Hotel & Suites is a classic oceanfront hotel situated on the Ala Wai Yacht Marina at the edge of Waikiki and just a short stroll to AlaMoana Shopping Center and 2 blocks to the Hawaii Convention Center. Internationally-recognized as the famous opening shot of Hawaii Five-O with Jack Lord as Steve McGarrett standing on the penthouse balcony overlooking Waikiki Beach, the hotel is truly a Waikiki landmark. Each guest room and suite features extra spacious accommodations with a large 120 sq. ft. lanai offering fabulous views. The hotel walkway from the lobby leads to the Duke Kahanamoku Lagoon and beach. Amenities include a heated swimming pool, fitness room, coffee shop, rooftop restaurant and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, BookIt.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Ilikai Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilikai Hotel And Suites
Ilikai Hotel Hawaii
Ilikai Honolulu
Ilikai Hotel & Suites Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ilikai Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.