We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location & ammenities” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ilikai Hotel & Suites

Save Saved
You added Ilikai Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ilikai Hotel & Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1777 Ala Moana Boulevard, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 15%!
Ranked #16 of 82 hotels in Honolulu
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Location & ammenities”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed at the IIlikai apartments and had a great stay.. We were in room 427 and it was well priced and comfortable room . the view over the Marina is beautiful. all the mod cons with free WI FI and local phone calls ideal for making those tour bookings. would definitely recommend to a couple that don't have to be in the heart of Waikiki.. it is a 20 minute walk but you have bus/taxi at front door. the wife loved the close proximity to Ala Moana shopping centre .
A great place to stay and will be returning.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,330 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    607
    536
    131
    34
    22
See reviews for
445
527
68
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (435)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

My family of 5 just stayed at the Ilikai in a two bedroom suite. It was very clean and perfect for a family of 5. The location was great as we could walk to the Ala Moana Shopping Centre and took cab rides to the beachwalk restaurants and shops. They have a nice coffee store in the basement albeit expensive and the view is beautiful. To get to the beach it was about a 5 minute walk which at times seemed a little long in the 30 degree heat so we would just stay by the pool. There are no activities at this hotel and it is one of the quieter hotels. The concierge was not very helpful in recommending or making dinner reservations but did book a trip to Pear Harbour. It was a very nice hotel for the price which was much cheaper than the hotels closer to the beach walk.

Room Tip: Room 2544 had a round about balcony overlooking the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

This property has seen better days. Nice location and friendly staff - HOWEVER, this place is in need of a remodel. Rooms was both shabby and OVERPRICED!
Worn furnishings, stained wallpaper - photos on website were likely taken 10 years ago.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerHonolulu, General Manager at Ilikai Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Aloha,
We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed our location and friendly staff, and your concerns with rooms condition are being addressed, as we are currently undergoing a complete rooms remodeling that has received excellent feedback and should begin having available inventory by year-end.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEOUL
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

My family stayed for 7days in 2 different units on 24th floor. It was wonderful stay to our famaily.
We had great vacation illikai with excellent view ang good location and the staff was very kind. I I wolud like to express many thanks to Mz. Richelle who helped us with many things.
We love the illikai.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

The location of the Ilikai was great. It was on a bus route. It was an easy 5 minute walks to Ala Moana Shopping Centre for our groceries (Foodland prices were to be expected in a tourist area). We managed to take the bus back to the hotel with two 5 yo twins in tow and 2 big bags of groceries. The beach access was so easy. The lagoon was just outside the hotel - a short walk over an overpass. And we just headed to the pool area to hose off all the sand before we walked back into the hotel. And 'bathers' had a separate elevator.

From the Ilikai, we could walk to the heart of Waikiki. It was quite a walk, but the bus stop was right outside the building, so getting there was easy. Hang on to your bus transfers! One night, we walked all the way along the beach from the Hula Grill (Outrigger Waikiki) back to the Ilikai.

The idea of renting a condo was the best thing for our family. We wanted to have breakfasts and lunches in our unit to save some money. And my kids always preferred their usual stuff for breakfasts.

But this unit was not what we had expected. It was dirty!! A few days prior to our arrival, Waikiki Beach Rental had emailed us to check on what time we would be accessing the unit (there was no keys, just a 4- digit code to enter). Our flight arrived in Honolulu in the late evening. So we told them we should be in the unit by 11:00 pm. We understood that the normal check out time was 11:00 am. So this unit should be vacant and be available for professional cleaning all day (I stressed Professional cleaning). Since we arrived so late at night with very tired young kids, I didn't really go looking around to check out the unit. Just wanted to get the kids off the bed. I will come back to the 'bed' later. When I did have a chance to look around in the morning, this was what I found...

The kitchen had the basic that we had expected. But some of the dishes, cutleries, pots and pans were dirty. And the dishwasher was broken. A note was left on the counter to inform us not to use it and that the owner was informed of the situation. A couple of days later, some one (didn't really know who that was) came by to check out the dishwasher and said would return later to replace it and that we did not need to be there when they return to do so. Well, we were not happy with the idea that some strangers would be in the unit while we were not there and we did not want to waste our vacation time to sit and wait for them. Anyways, no one had ever came back to replace it. I had gotten used to hand washing everything.

I also made sure no open food packages around the counter as I had already killed two cockcroaches. I knew it was to be expected in old buildings but YUCK. Thank goodness my kids never saw them! Both times was in the dark bathroom. Not something I wanted to see. Yes, I know we were in a tropical place and that it was normal but the unit had cracks in some corners of the bathroom and the area under the sink was not pleasant.

The bathroom could definitely use some updates. There were not enough bath towels to go around. But that was why there was laundry facility down the hall. Bring your own soap. I brought samples from home. The photos on the website were pretty accurate. We knew it was out dated. When they are ready to update in the future, a bath tub with a hand held shower head would be nice. The kids would prefer a tub instead of just a shower.

The floors were still dirty from the previous guests. The area under the sofa and the dining table were so dusty and covered with food particles. On the memo left on the kitchen counter, it said if we wanted a cleaning done during our stay, the cost would be $ 50. What!!! I just got the vacuum out and just cleaned up myself.

The sofa bed was not acceptable. Good thing my twins are too little to care. The mattress was very bumpy. It would not laid flat. No adults would accept that. I swear that sofa bed was never replaced from day one.

There was one good point through all of this. The ocean view was great. We could see the luau on the roof top at the Hilton. It was on a few times. Can't remember which days of the week. We saw the fireworks from the Hilton instead. The other building in front of us blocks the view (and they could look into our unit). We had a few meals on the balcony. Just had to make sure the kids were not so close to the railings. A bit scary.

We didn't dealing with the hotel staff as this was a private condo rental. So I couldn't comment on them. Only that if you were to leave your bags with the bell staff after you have checked out, the cost was $1 per bag.

We only rented a car for one day and did the drive to the North Shore. But didn't realize that on Sundays, some places are not open. We had wanted to check out a few restaurants that were not within the Waikiki area, but they were closed. Too bad. But a must stop for shave ice at Matsumoto was so yummy. Tried the Green tea special. So good! As for the parking, the rental car (Enterprise) agency had hinted that the marina parking may not be safe therefore, parking at the parking lot (gated) at the Red Lobster would be better. If you want to prepaid, $7 would buy you 10 hours. And after that, I think it was $4 per half hour. So that option did not work for us. We ended up paying $20.

All in all, the vacation was good, just wish the stay in the actual room was nicer.

Room Tip: Pick the ocean view, it makes up for an average room. Check out the comments. I wish there were co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerHonolulu, General Manager at Ilikai Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Aloha,
Sorry to hear about your unpleasant experience through Waikiki Beach Rentals and the Condominium you stayed at within the Ilikai complex and hope you will consider other more full service options that our Ilikai Hotel operations provide.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Bit surprised that this room we got was nothing like the photos on website. Maybe we just happened to get a room in very dated floor? I regret not booking a four star hotel deal just $25 more, after parking fee $28( Valet Only)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerHonolulu, General Manager at Ilikai Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Aloha,
Am not certain whether you stayed in the Ilikai Hotel portion of the building or rented through another operator that manage units within the building. As the hotel operator, we manage both privately owned units, with each one having a unique décor, along with our hotel rooms that are consistent in décor, and would be the photos on our www.ilikaihotel.com website. On occasions when our customers are not satisfied with a particular room, we typically make every effort to accommodate in a more acceptable unit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

My family accompanied me to a conference in Honolulu. Many of my colleages stayed next door at the village. However, I wanted larger accomodations for my family so we could eat some in the condo and have more space. I could not have been more pleased with the Ilikai. Our 2 bedroom condo was very spacious. We chose the "mountain view" instead of the more expensive ocean view, but the view was still beautiful and we could still see the ocean outside the bedroom balcony. The check-in staff were very friendly. The onsite restaurant was not crowded, was reasonably priced for Wakiki, and the food was good. The hotel is convenient to the Hilton conference rooms and to the convention center. We would definitely stay here again. Recommend a high floor for the view, but be prepared for frequent stops in the elevator.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ilikai Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilikai Hotel & Suites

Address: 1777 Ala Moana Boulevard, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#14 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#17 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ilikai Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ilikai Hotel & Suites is a classic oceanfront hotel situated on the Ala Wai Yacht Marina at the edge of Waikiki and just a short stroll to Ala Moana Shopping Center and 2 blocks to the Hawaii Convention Center. Internationally-recognized as the famous opening shot of Hawaii Five-O with Jack Lord as Steve McGarrett standing on the penthouse balcony overlooking Waikiki Beach, the hotel is truly a Waikiki landmark. Each guest room and suite features extra spacious accommodations with a large lanai offering fabulous views. The hotel walkway from the lobby leads to the Duke Kahanamoku Lagoon and beach. With our hospitality fee for all stays beginning August 1, 2014, Ilikai Hotel & Suites allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Waikiki Shuttle (Complimentary Waikiki Shuttle Service), Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, Water in Lobby, and a Weekly Manager's Reception. You'll also enjoy the heated swimming pool, fitness room, coffee shop, rooftop restaurant and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, BookIt.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Ilikai Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilikai Hotel And Suites
Ilikai Hotel Hawaii
Ilikai Honolulu
Ilikai Hotel & Suites Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ilikai Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.